See other Killarney properties

Killarney Railway Hostel

Fair Hill, Co. Kerry, Killarney, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 76% from 15 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very dirty place and to expensive for the conditions they offer.
  • 51%
  • 27 May 2014 Bruno Portugal
  • Very quick walk from train/bus station. Easy walk to downtown. Friendly knowledgeable staff. Clean and quiet hostel.
  • 94%
  • 22 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • great location, met some nice people
  • 80%
  • 13 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I stayed many times at the hostel & have always enjoyed previous stays. Maybe this was just a bad experience (which happens) although I must say I felt v.uncomfortable when 1 particular guest kept tormenting me for money as he was drinking vodka with others in the dining room. He caused a nuisance and sounded local and may be a long term resident. If left go unchecked I've no doubt that you will lose return guests/repeat business from people like me unless he is warned to behave or be evicted!
  • 57%
  • 08 Mar 2014 Anonymous Ireland
  • Room Kangaroo - very cold in winter. Had to sleep in a coat.
  • 86%
  • 03 Jan 2014 Anonymous Estonia
  • I definitely got more than my money's worth - I bought a private double bed, and ended up with a large double bed, a twin bed by the window, and our own shower. The hostel even provided towels! Breakfast was what you'd expect - some toast, tea, and coffee, but everyone at the desk was nice, and the location was perfect. We found a gorgeous park and spent the day perusing all the shops - I will be staying here again.
  • 97%
  • 29 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Most folk that stay at the hostel & drink alcohol on the premises (or handle drink outside by the picnic tables provided) are generally fine however; it can be hard to sleep when some guests who cannot consume drink responsibly thus causing major inconvenience towards other hostel guests by shouting & roaring and making a general nuisance of themselves in the very early hours of the morning. I feel sorry for Night Security when things really get out of hand due to a drunk: Guest/Couple/Group.
  • 83%
  • 21 Jul 2013 Anonymous Ireland
  • kitchen used to be a bit better equipped but still a nice place for a stop over in killarney.
  • 77%
  • 20 Jul 2013 Sabine Germany
  • We just stayed for 1 night. The hostel is near to the train and bus station and also to the city center. It is a big hostel and not very personal. The Wifi was turned off at 10pm. But all for all it was ok.
  • 71%
  • 15 Jul 2013 Anonymous Switzerland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »