See other Seoul properties

Kimchee Sinchon Guesthouse

503-19, Changcheon-dong, Seodaemun-gu, Seoul, South Korea, Distance from city centre: 4.4km

Rating: 85% from 17 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • There are signs everywhere warning about making noise after 10.00 p.m., but you can hear people yelling at all hours of the night and day. I woke to the sounds of very loud guests inside and outside of the hostel. I stayed there three nights and could hear people at midnight, 2.00 a.m., 5.00 a.m., etc.. I was also disappointed in the size of the room. For 40,000 w/night, I could have stayed in a much nicer/bigger motel room or in an apartment from airbnb. Staff were nice, but not the facility
  • 57%
  • 02 May 2015 Alexander Canada
  • Great place! Free internet, dart game, PCs, body wash and shampoo in the showers. There is soap (not to be underestimated), it is clean and the staff are friendly. Location is quite good and the area is great. There is a friendly dog that comes by sometimes.
  • 91%
  • 11 Apr 2015 Annemarie Germany
  • Good place to stay.
  • 77%
  • 10 Feb 2015 Mirna Ruby Mexico
  • I had a lot of fun staying at Kimchee because they have a lot of awesome staff. Whenever I had questions, KyoungHo Kim would always help me. Also, this guesthouse's location is very close to many restaurants, bars, etc.
  • 100%
  • 08 Dec 2014 Logan USA
  • The staff named Martin is really friendly. .. gonna come back in this hostel..
  • 100%
  • 26 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Kimchee Sinchon Guesthouse is accommodating for budget travelers. The staff is helpful and for those that do not know Korean well, their English is very good. Thank you Martin! It is located in a very convenient area near Hongik University station, so it is a good area for younger people to explore, drink, and party. You can use the train to go to many interesting places around Seoul. Good and cheap food is just a walk away. There are also opportunities to save money at this guesthouse.
  • 97%
  • 14 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I spent a month in this wonderfully friendly and fun hostel. The manager and staff members were so helpful and welcoming. They really made my stay a special one. One staff member in particular, Isabel, was always so warm and kind. I will definitely be back. Thanks guys! :)
  • 100%
  • 11 Oct 2014 Anonymous
  • The hostel is hidden behind the main street so it can be hard to find. We were about 30 mins early but the lady at the front was nice and let us check in when another worker wouldn't let us. Being located in between Sinchon and Hongdae is a plus. The subway is a 5 min walk. Martin and Moon were helpful in answering questions and welcoming us! The rooms smelled and the bathrooms were dirty until it gets cleaned which isnt the hostel's fault, but the people who are dirty. Ok value for the $$
  • 66%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The staff at the hostel were seriously amazing! Hwan, Shermaine (Su-min), Tracey, and Q helped me out so much. Without them the hostel would not have been the same
  • 97%
  • 06 Jul 2014 Eric USA
  • Kimchee Sinchon is a very good deal for Seoul traveller. Its location is near to the airport rail link/ hongik subway station which connect to many other kines of the subway and also near to hongdae the shopping street. The facilities are very new. They provided many kind of game and event for you to join and meet some new friends and also provide the ticket for extreme park/concert or even food delivery! Places are very clean as well. The staff there made the atmostphere go very warmth welcome.
  • 100%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Anonymous Thailand
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Spring and Summer are full of musical adventures. Check out our list of some of the world's best (and in some cases lesser-known) music festivals happening this year

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »