See other Beijing properties

King's Joy International Hostel

No. 81, Meishi St., Xuanwu District, Beijing, China, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 79% from 33 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Not as bad as many reviews say, this is not a hostel but rather a cheap hotel. Staff don't speak English well and are - like most mid-to-low range hotels in China - curt, loud and impatient. Good thing about the dorm was each bed has its own power sockets and lamp. Since the reviews are pretty bad, I had the 4-bed dorm room all to myself the second night. Bathroom was wet and dirty, but there could be cleaned on request. Laundry service is expensive at 20 RMB + 20 more to use dryer.
  • 69%
  • 31 Aug 2013 Anonymous Indonesia
  • I would be back
  • 89%
  • 17 Aug 2013 Anonymous Spain
  • Staff at Front Desk was correct and quite fast. Hostel is clean generally, except the toilets. Location is perfect, close to lots of tourist attractions in Beijing and near the subway. Although our stay there was really positive, the bar service change our point of view: it takes more than 1.30 hour to bring the breakfast, even the drinks, when there where only 6 persons before us (who wait for long time as well). It was only a girl serving, who was slow and still complaining and bad mood.
  • 80%
  • 16 Aug 2013 Sara Spain
  • The public facilities were pleasantly clean and decorated. I appreciated the cleaning staffs' consistent attention to the stairways, lobby, and cafe. However, the cleanliness of the single double bed room that I had was appalling. In the shower, other unmentionables were stuck on the floor tiles. This was utterly disgusting. This was not remedied quickly.
  • 54%
  • 04 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Some of the staff was indifferent and at sometimes rude, over all the place is a great place to stay and see Beijing
  • 77%
  • 04 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Good hostel for one night but no charm at all. I tried 4 hostels in the area. Qianmen Hostel was my favorite for the Hutong atmosphere and Leo was the worst (Noisy, very dirty and expensive!). King's Joy is a good place for tired travellers who want to have a good sleep.
  • 83%
  • 03 Aug 2013 Anonymous France
  • I liked the hostel enough to recommend it to somebody else coming to Beijing. I stayed in a four bed and a six bed room during my stay and both were satisfactory. The beds were fine and the facilities got the job done. I didn't go to the restaurants at all to tell about them. The walk to the subway station wasn't bad and there were plenty of places to eat nearby.
  • 80%
  • 02 Jul 2013 Anonymous
  • My stay was for 9 days. I am not sure if they ever changed the bed sheet. The tours are OK. The kung fu is good, the acrobatics so-so. The Wall tour begins too late. By the time we arrived, other tour groups were flooding the site. I went with a Chinese friend on my own and was able to get there 2 hours earlier.
  • 74%
  • 27 Jun 2013 James USA
  • So suck, only good for location centeral. Beers are extremly over charged. Facilities suck air conditioner blowing wind direct to top bed resider's face, so not happy to run. Staffs seems like an traditional Chinese gangster.
  • 46%
  • 26 Jun 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • I am a female and was put into a 4 bed dorm with 3 other men. One man during the night, was very drunk and came to my bed. He stood above my bed, farting and staring at me. Then he paced back and forth for about 5 minutes. He went back to bed and I immediately went to the front desk to change rooms. I wanted to be with other women. Now WHY DONT THEY HAVE ALL GIRL DORM ROOMS?? this is complete BS and when I told the girl at the front desk the situation she did basically nothing to change it
  • 74%
  • 21 Jun 2013 Corey Marie USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »