See other Beijing properties

King's Joy International Hostel

No. 81, Meishi St., Xuanwu District, Beijing, China, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 76% from 30 reviews

  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 68%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • the staff is half ok half very bad ...
  • 69%
  • 22 Dec 2013 Alejandra Noemi Chile
  • If I visit Beijing again surely stay here
  • 86%
  • 18 Dec 2013 Lee Malaysia
  • If I tour Beijing next time, I`ll choose this hotel again. The place is so nice, next street to Qianmen Market street, surrounded by many nice restaurants and very near to the palace and Tiananmen. The facilities are more than we expected with that price. We all enjoy and love this hotel.
  • 91%
  • 12 Nov 2013 Anonymous Myanmar
  • This is more of a hotel with a few dorm rooms rather than a hostel. There was a bar, but it closed down some time ago, so its better to hang out round the corner at 365 or Leo, they are more social and you will find lots of people staying at kings joy in there for the beer. That said, for 40rmb the 6 bed dorm is great, its huge, split into two rooms and has two single beds, so of you're lucky you can get one of these. WiFi only works in the lobby which is annoyin. I would recommend
  • 74%
  • 05 Nov 2013 Anonymous Scotland
  • King's Joy International Hostel was easy to find. The staff were okay. When I asked the tour guide lady for help with going to the Great Wall she was completely useless! She did not want to be there. Breakfast was typical. The rooms were clean & it was quiet. The rooms had big lockers in them. The bathrooms were not cleaned daily but you had a bathroom in your room. This place was more like a hotel than a hostel. I would stay here again!
  • 74%
  • 15 Sep 2013 Ashley Canada
  • kind staffs and available english but it smells bad in the toilet T^T
  • 66%
  • 13 Sep 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • I thought the hotel was real value for money. All the staff there were pleasant and accommodating and very clean
  • 89%
  • 08 Sep 2013 Anonymous Australia
  • Not as bad as many reviews say, this is not a hostel but rather a cheap hotel. Staff don't speak English well and are - like most mid-to-low range hotels in China - curt, loud and impatient. Good thing about the dorm was each bed has its own power sockets and lamp. Since the reviews are pretty bad, I had the 4-bed dorm room all to myself the second night. Bathroom was wet and dirty, but there could be cleaned on request. Laundry service is expensive at 20 RMB + 20 more to use dryer.
  • 69%
  • 31 Aug 2013 Anonymous Indonesia
  • I would be back
  • 89%
  • 17 Aug 2013 Anonymous Spain
  • Staff at Front Desk was correct and quite fast. Hostel is clean generally, except the toilets. Location is perfect, close to lots of tourist attractions in Beijing and near the subway. Although our stay there was really positive, the bar service change our point of view: it takes more than 1.30 hour to bring the breakfast, even the drinks, when there where only 6 persons before us (who wait for long time as well). It was only a girl serving, who was slow and still complaining and bad mood.
  • 80%
  • 16 Aug 2013 Sara Spain
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »