See other Cork properties

Kinlay House Cork

Bob and Joan's Walk, Shandon, Cork, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 79% from 18 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Rooms equipment was totally ok and staff were really nice and helpful. Unfortunately, the shower had no warm water and wifi did not work. We could hear every noise through our walls.
  • 60%
  • 13 Jul 2015 Gesine Germany
  • The ppl r friendly and helpful. I'm never gonna forget that place
  • 86%
  • 05 May 2015 simon Canada
  • Pretty central location- about a 10 minute walk to the city center of Cork. Shandon is a very pretty area and very picturesque. Staff was super friendly and helpful- my sister and I had asked for recommendations for a typical Irish meal and were provided with a map, walking directions and about 10 different restaurant suggestions all within reasonable budget. They had also printed out my RyanAir boarding passes as well. The room itself was very clean and secure. Great atmosphere, great hostel!
  • 94%
  • 23 Mar 2015 Kimberly USA
  • This was my first hostel experience and I was pleasantly surprised to find out how nice the place and staff were. The only thing is that the light above the sink did not work in my room (210) but other than that, I was happy with my accommodations.
  • 86%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Good welcoming, nice staff... The bad point is the braekfast, it is to basic (no hot chocolate, only toast, no nice food...)
  • 94%
  • 07 Feb 2015 Manon France
  • Friendliest staff you can get. Very eager to help with whatever you need. 10/10 will stay here the next time I'm in Cork :)
  • 91%
  • 08 Sep 2014 Geordie
  • I could not sleep at all on the first day in the dormitory, people go and come back to the room each hour at night, Second day was heaven, it was very comfortable. there is a big kitchen downstairs. The receptionists are helpful, has hospitality.
  • 83%
  • 06 Sep 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • Good value for money with cheerful & helpful staff.
  • 91%
  • 05 Sep 2014 Andrea Hungary
  • Kinlay house in Cork was dirty, loud, unkempt, & falling apart. There was only one charging outlet in a 16-bed room for all of us to share. The doors slammed and the beds nearly tipped every time you moved. The wifi barely worked at all, and most definitely not anywhere but the lounge room with any consistency. The staff were unresponsive to cleanliness concerns and were unwilling to handle disruptive guests. The toilets were unclean
  • 46%
  • 30 Aug 2014 Amy Canada
  • A great little hidden spot within walking distance to the city center. The staff was A great help in putting us in the right direction and also gave us some great recommendations. For the price, you can't get a better spot!
  • 91%
  • 08 Aug 2014 David USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »