See other Cork properties

Kinlay House Cork

Bob and Joan's Walk, Shandon, Cork, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 78% from 20 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Friendliest staff you can get. Very eager to help with whatever you need. 10/10 will stay here the next time I'm in Cork :)
  • 91%
  • 08 Sep 2014 Geordie
  • Good value for money with cheerful & helpful staff.
  • 91%
  • 05 Sep 2014 Andrea Hungary
  • Kinlay house in Cork was dirty, loud, unkempt, & falling apart. There was only one charging outlet in a 16-bed room for all of us to share. The doors slammed and the beds nearly tipped every time you moved. The wifi barely worked at all, and most definitely not anywhere but the lounge room with any consistency. The staff were unresponsive to cleanliness concerns and were unwilling to handle disruptive guests. The toilets were unclean
  • 46%
  • 30 Aug 2014 Amy Canada
  • A great little hidden spot within walking distance to the city center. The staff was A great help in putting us in the right direction and also gave us some great recommendations. For the price, you can't get a better spot!
  • 91%
  • 08 Aug 2014 David USA
  • Great view over the city, friendly staff, great laundry service, and only a short walk to the city center. However, the room was dirty (the carpet was just filthy and reaked of urine), and the bathroom floor was constantly flooded with water. Breakfast was very poor.
  • 54%
  • 23 Jun 2014 Anonymous Netherlands
  • There was no hot water in the shower, no WiFi, we had an attic room with two windows that didn't open so it was unbearably hot, and the beds were disassembled bunk beds that you couldn't even push together if you're a couple. When I rang reception to ask if they knew what was wrong with the shower they said they'd be up in a couple of minutes. We waited an hour for them and they never showed. Absolutely ridiculous service. We paid 60euro for this room - least value for money ever.
  • 26%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Graham Ireland
  • Continue in providing one of the coolest hostels in Cork.
  • 91%
  • 25 May 2014 Ramon Madagascar
  • Building is big and old, so it's a bit grungy. Location is great, rooms were good for meeting people.
  • 74%
  • 15 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • A good hostel to stay at if you prefer not being in the middle of a busy nightlife area, the only noise here is the bell from St Ann's church up the road ringing! A comfortable place to stay although its up a bit of a hill from the city center, you enjoy some great views as a result. It is only a 5 minute walk to the shops, bars and entertainment in city center. The rooms are reasonably priced
  • 86%
  • 28 Feb 2014 Anonymous Ireland
  • We were happy of our visit! It was cheap and in good quality!
  • 89%
  • 25 Jan 2014 Olli Finland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Some people can take a two week holiday and spend every day relaxing at the beach. Some prefer the beach to do activities, take a jog first thing in the morning, party at night...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »