See other Cork properties

Kinlay House Cork

Bob and Joan's Walk, Shandon, Cork, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 77% from 17 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great view over the city, friendly staff, great laundry service, and only a short walk to the city center. However, the room was dirty (the carpet was just filthy and reaked of urine), and the bathroom floor was constantly flooded with water. Breakfast was very poor.
  • 54%
  • 23 Jun 2014 Anonymous Netherlands
  • There was no hot water in the shower, no WiFi, we had an attic room with two windows that didn't open so it was unbearably hot, and the beds were disassembled bunk beds that you couldn't even push together if you're a couple. When I rang reception to ask if they knew what was wrong with the shower they said they'd be up in a couple of minutes. We waited an hour for them and they never showed. Absolutely ridiculous service. We paid 60euro for this room - least value for money ever.
  • 26%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Graham Ireland
  • Continue in providing one of the coolest hostels in Cork.
  • 91%
  • 25 May 2014 Ramon Madagascar
  • Building is big and old, so it's a bit grungy. Location is great, rooms were good for meeting people.
  • 74%
  • 15 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • A good hostel to stay at if you prefer not being in the middle of a busy nightlife area, the only noise here is the bell from St Ann's church up the road ringing! A comfortable place to stay although its up a bit of a hill from the city center, you enjoy some great views as a result. It is only a 5 minute walk to the shops, bars and entertainment in city center. The rooms are reasonably priced
  • 86%
  • 28 Feb 2014 Anonymous Ireland
  • We were happy of our visit! It was cheap and in good quality!
  • 89%
  • 25 Jan 2014 Olli Finland
  • I thought this hostel was the nearest hostel to Cork city center but it wasn't. Well it's not very far since it takes 15 min by walk but it's located on a backsteet so it was really hard for me and my friend to find the hostel. Especially if you're a woman, I don't want to reccomend this hostel because it's kind of scary to walk alone from the city center to the hostel at night. But it's cheap so just staying one night would be good.
  • 63%
  • 16 Nov 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • Everybody is very dear and helpful. I am totally satisfied with everything. I'm glad to be here.
  • 100%
  • 10 Oct 2013 Gabor
  • First of all, I think my room was not clean enough, particularly the room 302 where I stayed for four days. Hoovering the fitted carpet is not enough, a Negative points :The problem is the fitted carpet, it is full of dust, it is very dirty.There was a leaking in the shower, all the floor was covered with water each time you make use of the shower. We reported it, nobody came to check it. Positive points : Strategic location, free unlimited wireless everywhere, kitchen is good and clean.
  • 51%
  • 26 Aug 2013 Anonymous France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »