See other Cork properties

Kinlay House Cork

Bob and Joan's Walk, Shandon, Cork, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 76% from 17 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Building is big and old, so it's a bit grungy. Location is great, rooms were good for meeting people.
  • 74%
  • 15 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • A good hostel to stay at if you prefer not being in the middle of a busy nightlife area, the only noise here is the bell from St Ann's church up the road ringing! A comfortable place to stay although its up a bit of a hill from the city center, you enjoy some great views as a result. It is only a 5 minute walk to the shops, bars and entertainment in city center. The rooms are reasonably priced
  • 86%
  • 28 Feb 2014 Anonymous Ireland
  • We were happy of our visit! It was cheap and in good quality!
  • 89%
  • 25 Jan 2014 Olli Finland
  • I thought this hostel was the nearest hostel to Cork city center but it wasn't. Well it's not very far since it takes 15 min by walk but it's located on a backsteet so it was really hard for me and my friend to find the hostel. Especially if you're a woman, I don't want to reccomend this hostel because it's kind of scary to walk alone from the city center to the hostel at night. But it's cheap so just staying one night would be good.
  • 63%
  • 16 Nov 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • Everybody is very dear and helpful. I am totally satisfied with everything. I'm glad to be here.
  • 100%
  • 10 Oct 2013 Gabor
  • First of all, I think my room was not clean enough, particularly the room 302 where I stayed for four days. Hoovering the fitted carpet is not enough, a Negative points :The problem is the fitted carpet, it is full of dust, it is very dirty.There was a leaking in the shower, all the floor was covered with water each time you make use of the shower. We reported it, nobody came to check it. Positive points : Strategic location, free unlimited wireless everywhere, kitchen is good and clean.
  • 51%
  • 26 Aug 2013 Anonymous France
  • The only thing was that it was really confusing to get through the hostel. We had to go up a flight of stairs, go through a door, down a hall, another door, and up another flight of stairs to get to our room. There were also odd kitchen closing times which were abrupt and pretty strict and it wasn't explained before we got up for breakfast. Otherwise, there was great signage to get to the hostel, friendly reception, and free parking which was a huge bonus.
  • 69%
  • 11 Jul 2013 Anonymous USA
  • The Kinlay House is a nice hostel near the city center of Cork. We stayed for one night in the second house and we felt like Bilbo in his hobbit hole. The room was extremely cute. The lounge in the main house is ample and you have the possibility to watch movies, play cards or to chill.
  • 100%
  • 03 Jul 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • This hostel has amazing internet coverage, so if you really need wi-fi access while traveling this is the place to be. However the breakfast provided is really dismal, just toast and jams, that's it. And we stayed on the 2nd floor, and the showers were freezing cold, not once did this even give off any warmth, just freezing, so be prepared for that.
  • 60%
  • 27 Jun 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • This was my second stay in a hostel and the first time in a room rather than a dorm. Both my wife and I were very pleasantly surprised and would stay here again if we return to Cork.
  • 94%
  • 27 Jun 2013 Simon Ireland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »