See other Dublin properties

Kinlay House Dublin

2-12 Lord Edward Street, Temple Bar, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 77% from 43 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The location was great and the staff were friendly. The only problem I had was that there were no lockers in the dorm room but you had to pay €2 a day for a locker quite far from the dorms.
  • 74%
  • 24 Nov 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Cold showers, not very sociable staff Great location, average facilities all in all fine value
  • 71%
  • 19 Nov 2015 Anonymous Netherlands
  • I booked a private double room in Kinlay House because it's very close to the Olympia. The staff were really nice but my age card wasn't accepted as identification which would've denied us our stay had my boyfriend not brought his passport with him. Apart from that everything was good, the room was clean but hot and loud. The noise was traffic outside, it's very loud so definitely bring ear plugs. I did get sleep though so I'm happy enough :) Reasonably priced, good location, lovely staff.
  • 89%
  • 10 Nov 2015 Anonymous Ireland
  • I stayed in a 27 person mixed dorm and to my surprise my sleep was ok.
  • 97%
  • 10 Oct 2015 William USA
  • well situated a bit noisy if on the road side. Big hostel, helpful staff. only 3 regular size fridges for such a big hostel so no room to put our food but otherwise all ok.
  • 74%
  • 25 Aug 2015 Anonymous England
  • I have no negative comments, i enjoyed my stay and loved the shuttle to the airport. I would suggest having a second electrical outlet on the other side of my room, but that is a minor inconvenience at worst.
  • 94%
  • 09 Aug 2015 Thomas USA
  • My 2 nights stay went smoothly, no problems at all. Fresh linen and towel waiting in the room. Helpful staff. Thank you Kinlay House!
  • 89%
  • 03 Jul 2015 Anonymous Finland
  • Great location and very friendly staff. It was very warm in the rooms and they were small with bunk beds I hit my head on but it was just fine to stay. I would recommend just because of the location.
  • 77%
  • 03 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I think the rooms all smelt strange, my suggestion would be to remove the carpet and put in vinyl or floorboards which won't smell dank if wet.
  • 60%
  • 27 Jun 2015 Monica Australia
  • Located very near many tourist attractions (Christchurch, Saint Patrick's, Guinness, Dublinia) a 15 minute walk to the main shopping area and a 5 minute walk to the night life. Great location. Wifi is free. A bit slow. Okay for mobile surfing only. Free breakfast is just toast with jam.
  • 71%
  • 18 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »