See other Dublin properties

Kinlay House Dublin

2-12 Lord Edward Street, Temple Bar, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 81% from 39 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Only stayed here one night but I thought this was a great hostel. Great area, within walking distance to a lot of attractions. The rooms were a decent size, and the bathrooms were clean. The common room was nice, but tended to get a little crowded. Good for meeting people though. Free breakfast was average. No drinking in the hostel was allowed which people can have varying opinions about. Would probably stay here again.
  • 97%
  • 10 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Nice atmosphere, clean bathrooms and great location. Stayed in a 30-person room- loud crazy roommates but otherwise a nice stay. Could have used more security in the under-bed storage compartments. Bathroom was very far away from my room. Great kitchen and lounge area, good atmosphere. Breakfasts were almost non-existent.
  • 80%
  • 23 Apr 2016 Audrey USA
  • The location was perfect, however it was our first stay there and it wasn't really explained to us how things work there. The website was unclear and when we arrived we were only told where to go and that was it. At breakfast we just stood there wondering what to do. When we asked what the idea was when it came to the free breakfast we weren't really given any information other than that we could just grab stuff. It would have been nice to get more information. It wasn't a very warm welcome.
  • 74%
  • 20 Apr 2016 Alyssa Netherlands
  • Lockers are needed in the rooms. Reading lights would be great. There are not enough electric sockets in the rooms.
  • 69%
  • 13 Apr 2016 Daniela Mexico
  • Overall good hostel. The staff was not the most helpful though. Aside from nickel and diming you on everything, they charged us 2 euro for towels and didn't let us know that we already had free towels in the room in the first place. Why charge for towels and not tell us that we don't need the towels? Aside from the staff, I liked the hostel.
  • 77%
  • 02 Apr 2016 Anonymous USA
  • The showers are super nice and warm, staff is great and all forgotten stuff returns to you without complications. Now, kitchen is not very fresh, but its okay. Its also overcrowded in the evening. I could give the atmosphare in the common room 6/10
  • 94%
  • 28 Mar 2016 Anonymous Latvia
  • Chilled atmosphere, affordable, brilliant location in city centre, good kitchen facilities and free breakfast... Very relaxed and enjoyable stay. Also have a pub crawl and free walking tours leaving from the hostel every day :-D
  • 80%
  • 27 Feb 2016 Rebecca
  • The location was perfect,bthe price was amazing and the atmosphere really cool and friendly.
  • 94%
  • 04 Feb 2016 Anonymous Spain
  • Everything was perfect, except the cold shower !
  • 80%
  • 15 Jan 2016 Léa France
  • The location was great and the staff were friendly. The only problem I had was that there were no lockers in the dorm room but you had to pay €2 a day for a locker quite far from the dorms.
  • 74%
  • 24 Nov 2015 Anonymous Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

During the summer the city of Dublin becomes a different place. Gone are the endless days of wind and rain as the warm weather brings picnics in the park, drinks by the canal, b...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »