See other Dublin properties

Kinlay House Dublin

2-12 Lord Edward Street, Temple Bar, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 74% from 37 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 70%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Located very near many tourist attractions (Christchurch, Saint Patrick's, Guinness, Dublinia) a 15 minute walk to the main shopping area and a 5 minute walk to the night life. Great location. Wifi is free. A bit slow. Okay for mobile surfing only. Free breakfast is just toast with jam.
  • 71%
  • 18 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This hostel is not very friendly in case of special situations. Our friend missed her bus to her hotel from the city centre of dublin at night and we like to bring her to the hostel to stay in the main hall. She was not permitted to stay in the main hall for a few hours until and has to stay outside in the rain!!!
  • 43%
  • 06 May 2015 Tim Germany
  • Positive sides: Very helpful receptionists, Big kitchen, Laundry machine and dryer, very good location, near city centre Bad sides: Often closed toilets due to repairs, nearly impossible to find sockets for charging your phone, no board for ironing, expensive dryer for clothes (€5 are you crazy??)
  • 71%
  • 03 May 2015 Dario Croatia
  • Only reason I put average for security was my laptop couldnt fit into the small locker and the large ones were a little awkward to get to. Otherwise we had a great weekend and the receptionist was very helpful.
  • 86%
  • 20 Mar 2015 Anonymous Ireland
  • Hello, I was a guest on 06-.03 to 08-.03 day and have reservation room number 303 .In the day 07-03 vanished from under beds my personal belongings and purchases which that took cleaner thinking of the things someone forgotten (?) .I recovered two bags but now when I left I noticed the missing one small bag .With my contact lenses itp. and what very important for me an envelope with a form P45 from my employer. Please write and also about the things I have a chance recover ? Advance thanks for
  • 91%
  • 06 Mar 2015 jerzy Poland
  • We were only here for one night and arrived late. Fantastic location, staff were good and our dorm was comfortable. Good value for money for Dublin City.
  • 80%
  • 27 Feb 2015 Kara Australia
  • The location of the Hostel is perfect! We stayed at a 6- bed dorm, which was really nice because each person has his own single bed which I never experienced in a Hostel before. I liked the breakfast with a very good coffee ;)
  • 80%
  • 26 Feb 2015 Liesa Johanna Germany
  • staff good, heater did not work , there was not hangers in shower ,value for money good.
  • 83%
  • 06 Dec 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • The hallway smelled like a gymbag full of unwashed sweaty clothes and shoes that had been left to ferment for a week. It really was an experience in how bad it was. They need to just remove the carpets and burn them or call an exorcist!
  • 34%
  • 18 Sep 2014 John Ireland
  • Kinlay House was not bad. The service was good. The single room I was in was cramped.. but I guess they all are these days. There should have been hand soap in the en-suite and the fire alarm was always going off like they were testing it. It was irritating because it was hard to tell if it was a real fire or just a test. The wifi in my room was pretty weak. It was better than the previous hostel I stayed at in Dublin. The desk staff were good and my bed was comfy enough.
  • 66%
  • 16 Sep 2014 Kris New Zealand
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »