See other Dublin properties

Kinlay House Dublin

2-12 Lord Edward Street, Temple Bar, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 81% from 33 reviews

  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 79%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very friendly staff and always helpful. 4 person ensuite room was really a tight squeeze but not too bad overall.
  • 83%
  • 05 Jul 2016 Nirvana New Zealand
  • I enjoyed my stay in this hostel. The location is very good. The common area is just great. Big, full of couches, nice atmosphere. Staff was great, free breakfast always appreciated. The bathroom in our room could have used some more cleaning.
  • 77%
  • 29 Jun 2016 Anonymous Argentina
  • I only stayed here one night, but it seemed like an okay hostel. Bed was comfortable, bathrooms very clean, staff was friendly... They recommended the Free Walking Tour, since I was in Dublin for the first time and that one was really, really great! I really don't have any real complains, but I'm not overflowing with praise either. I had trouble finding it every single time, which was kind of annoying, but my own fault I guess...
  • 89%
  • 07 Jun 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • Location is great. The building is nice and the right facilities but girl manager doesn´t try to look for a solution for a customer´s health problem. They were not heplful in general and manager was very confused with de reservation.
  • 54%
  • 28 May 2016 Maria Jesus Spain
  • Only stayed here one night but I thought this was a great hostel. Great area, within walking distance to a lot of attractions. The rooms were a decent size, and the bathrooms were clean. The common room was nice, but tended to get a little crowded. Good for meeting people though. Free breakfast was average. No drinking in the hostel was allowed which people can have varying opinions about. Would probably stay here again.
  • 97%
  • 10 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Nice atmosphere, clean bathrooms and great location. Stayed in a 30-person room- loud crazy roommates but otherwise a nice stay. Could have used more security in the under-bed storage compartments. Bathroom was very far away from my room. Great kitchen and lounge area, good atmosphere. Breakfasts were almost non-existent.
  • 80%
  • 23 Apr 2016 Audrey USA
  • The location was perfect, however it was our first stay there and it wasn't really explained to us how things work there. The website was unclear and when we arrived we were only told where to go and that was it. At breakfast we just stood there wondering what to do. When we asked what the idea was when it came to the free breakfast we weren't really given any information other than that we could just grab stuff. It would have been nice to get more information. It wasn't a very warm welcome.
  • 74%
  • 20 Apr 2016 Alyssa Netherlands
  • Lockers are needed in the rooms. Reading lights would be great. There are not enough electric sockets in the rooms.
  • 69%
  • 13 Apr 2016 Daniela Mexico
  • Overall good hostel. The staff was not the most helpful though. Aside from nickel and diming you on everything, they charged us 2 euro for towels and didn't let us know that we already had free towels in the room in the first place. Why charge for towels and not tell us that we don't need the towels? Aside from the staff, I liked the hostel.
  • 77%
  • 02 Apr 2016 Anonymous USA
  • The showers are super nice and warm, staff is great and all forgotten stuff returns to you without complications. Now, kitchen is not very fresh, but its okay. Its also overcrowded in the evening. I could give the atmosphare in the common room 6/10
  • 94%
  • 28 Mar 2016 Anonymous Latvia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »