See other Kailua-Kona properties

Koa Wood Hale

75-184 Ala Onaona St, Hawaii's Big Island, Kailua-Kona, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 72% from 15 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 68%Security
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 74%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Staff are very accommodating, but it would be nice if they included a towel with the room. Also, across the street it looks almost like a junkyard. Not their fault, but it does kind of spoil the location a little.
  • 69%
  • 14 Sep 2016 Peter USA
  • This Hostel was clean and 2 of the 3 staff were really nice and super helpful. It was weird that everyone in the Hostel used the one bathroom and one kitchen, as in all the other floors came to the bottom back suite there were sometimes as many as 12 people waiting on one bathroom.
  • 89%
  • 08 Sep 2016 Desiree USA
  • I had awesome stay there. I could enjoy conversation at night with fellow travelers. The staff was very friendly. I would like to go back when I go to Hawaii's big island. Only fault I found with the hostel was its security. During a day anyone can open a door and pass its kitchen which leads to unlocked hostelers" rooms.
  • 77%
  • 13 Jul 2016 Anonymous Japan
  • Two employees who work there were the rudest we've encountered in all our travels. My girlfriend and I showed up late (reception closes at 10PM). They were drunk and being noisy upstairs (during "quiet hours"). They refused to give us our reserved bed at first, then said yes, but in such a childish, passive-aggressive manner that when we asked if they just wanted us to leave they said yes. Hostels were created to help travelers. Guests on a budget that night would have been out of luck.
  • 20%
  • 20 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • The people who work here are the rudest in Hawaii. I wish I could rate the employees worse than this. The young girl is basic, the guy in his 40s is washed up. They're both drunks.
  • 20%
  • 18 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Super fun place to make your home base. The staff become your friends and will chill with you over a beer and encourage people to get together for trips. We got up to some shenanigans one night that resulted in some first-aid required - staff members saved the day! I started there, drove around the island, and when I got back, it was like coming home. Just a great atmosphere and attracts great people. Parking out front.
  • 91%
  • 19 Dec 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • The best hostel on the Big Island. You can be sure of that. Amazing hospitality, fun people and perfect location 5 min from downtown Kona.
  • 94%
  • 15 Dec 2015 Clara Belgium
  • This hostel was perfect. The location couldn't get any better. That staff was incredibly approachable and helpful with any questions I had about the area. One of the workers even gave me a ride to the store. The bed was super comfortable. The whole place is cleaned daily, and they make great coffee every morning!! Just when I thought it couldn't get any better, the super friendly cat let me love all over him. I would TOTALLY stay here again.
  • 100%
  • 26 Nov 2015 Electra USA
  • Great place to stay. Helpful staff, close to shops, museums and beaches.
  • 100%
  • 02 Nov 2015 Valerie USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

This place has something for everyone, from the Golden Gate Bridge to Alcatraz, Chinatown, amazing seafood and one of the oldest LGBTQ scenes in the USA. And if you're a museum-...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »