See other Kailua-Kona properties

Koa Wood Hale

75-184 Ala Onaona St, Hawaii's Big Island, Kailua-Kona, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 78% from 11 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 69%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 72%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great place to stay. Helpful staff, close to shops, museums and beaches.
  • 100%
  • 02 Nov 2015 Valerie USA
  • I've been to Koa Wood Hale twice. Each time I found friendly people, and the service is excellent. They agreed to take me in one time when I arrived after closing hours. This is the only hostel I'd stay in on the Kona side.
  • 86%
  • 05 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Security: no problem even when stuff just under bed and away Location: excellent adventurers++ Staff: made it excellent Atmosphere: staff rocks but can't predict who you stay in with, ya? Cleanness: saw molly a lot.. bugs are a fact of the the tropics be happy there is no yellow fever, west nile, dengue fever, or malaria! Price: fantastic bang for your buck. Facilities: bathroom free, of course high traffic times.. 4 per room in cheapest
  • 100%
  • 28 Jul 2015 Daniel USA
  • difficult to find, friendly staff, some mosquitos, i think cheapest in kona. happy to stay there
  • 74%
  • 17 Jul 2015 Daan Netherlands
  • I think they must be all poor because I tried to speak to the owner, or manager and two guys tag teamed each other over my age! Told me it was a "YOUTH HOSTEL" and I should find another place to stay. When I called the next day, after booking on line the other guy said are you the older woman, what name did you use to book on line. I told him. He said you won't be staying here. I asked to speak to managment, He said I am. OK THEN! RUDE AND I HOPE THE OWNER CALLS ME!
  • 20%
  • 19 Apr 2015 denice
  • This place was magical. Truly the best hostel in the world, like they say! Very friendly and flexible.
  • 89%
  • 10 Apr 2015 Paul New Zealand
  • Good hostel, friendly staff, very 'big island' Hawaiian style, rooster was annoying but better than car horns
  • 80%
  • 06 Apr 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Nice, clean place. Great atmosphere
  • 89%
  • 05 Mar 2015 Noelle USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »