See other Kailua-Kona properties

Koa Wood Hale

75-184 Ala Onaona St, Hawaii's Big Island, Kailua-Kona, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 74% from 14 reviews

  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 74%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Two employees who work there were the rudest we've encountered in all our travels. My girlfriend and I showed up late (reception closes at 10PM). They were drunk and being noisy upstairs (during "quiet hours"). They refused to give us our reserved bed at first, then said yes, but in such a childish, passive-aggressive manner that when we asked if they just wanted us to leave they said yes. Hostels were created to help travelers. Guests on a budget that night would have been out of luck.
  • 20%
  • 20 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • The people who work here are the rudest in Hawaii. I wish I could rate the employees worse than this. The young girl is basic, the guy in his 40s is washed up. They're both drunks.
  • 20%
  • 18 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Super fun place to make your home base. The staff become your friends and will chill with you over a beer and encourage people to get together for trips. We got up to some shenanigans one night that resulted in some first-aid required - staff members saved the day! I started there, drove around the island, and when I got back, it was like coming home. Just a great atmosphere and attracts great people. Parking out front.
  • 91%
  • 19 Dec 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • The best hostel on the Big Island. You can be sure of that. Amazing hospitality, fun people and perfect location 5 min from downtown Kona.
  • 94%
  • 15 Dec 2015 Clara Belgium
  • This hostel was perfect. The location couldn't get any better. That staff was incredibly approachable and helpful with any questions I had about the area. One of the workers even gave me a ride to the store. The bed was super comfortable. The whole place is cleaned daily, and they make great coffee every morning!! Just when I thought it couldn't get any better, the super friendly cat let me love all over him. I would TOTALLY stay here again.
  • 100%
  • 26 Nov 2015 Electra USA
  • Great place to stay. Helpful staff, close to shops, museums and beaches.
  • 100%
  • 02 Nov 2015 Valerie USA
  • I've been to Koa Wood Hale twice. Each time I found friendly people, and the service is excellent. They agreed to take me in one time when I arrived after closing hours. This is the only hostel I'd stay in on the Kona side.
  • 86%
  • 05 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Security: no problem even when stuff just under bed and away Location: excellent adventurers++ Staff: made it excellent Atmosphere: staff rocks but can't predict who you stay in with, ya? Cleanness: saw molly a lot.. bugs are a fact of the the tropics be happy there is no yellow fever, west nile, dengue fever, or malaria! Price: fantastic bang for your buck. Facilities: bathroom free, of course high traffic times.. 4 per room in cheapest
  • 100%
  • 28 Jul 2015 Daniel USA
  • difficult to find, friendly staff, some mosquitos, i think cheapest in kona. happy to stay there
  • 74%
  • 17 Jul 2015 Daan Netherlands
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

If you're travelling on a budget, staying in hostels can be a lifeline. We've put together a few tips for saving money by cooking up a storm in hostel kitchens!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »