See other Kyoto properties

Kyoto Hana Hostel

229 Akezu-no-mon Dori, Kogawa-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 2.5km

Rating: 95% from 11 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 96%Staff
  • 94%Security
  • 98%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 94%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very good place if you wanna stay in Kyoto, it's very near to the train station and the bus stop. I recommend renting a bike, it's very cheap and you can see as much as you want by going around the city at your pace! The place is well organized, they have a nice common room and kitchen. We really enjoyed stay there!! ^.^
  • 97%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Lara Italy
  • This hostel is very close to Kyoto Station, ATMs, and makes getting around Kyoto easy. I highly suggest renting a bicycle from the hostel if you are good with maps. It will save a lot of money and stress. This was a quiet hostel and it was in a fairly quiet area. Not much nightlife in this area. The rooms were clean and the staff was great. I've never seen a hostel kitchen this clean. I highly recommend this hostel!
  • 94%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Really clean place, staff speaks good English, location by the train station very convenient.
  • 100%
  • 14 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • it's very close to the Kyoto station. and so many western people. the bed is so clean.
  • 100%
  • 13 May 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • This hostel was amazing!! We were recommended by a friend, and were not disappointed. That staff was friendly and helpful, they even tried to help my friend and I order take-out, even though it was time for the front desk to close. The room was clean and you could smell the fresh tatami may smell. My only qualm was that there were limited bathrooms and showers to use for as many people that stayed on that floor.
  • 97%
  • 29 Apr 2014 Nicole USA
  • Very close to the station. The Double Ensuite felt like a luxurious apartment, it was extremely clean and very nice! Highly recommended.
  • 100%
  • 01 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • very nice, clean room, a bit small, but very comfortable sleeping, nice pillows. Stuff very kind. Felt good!
  • 86%
  • 09 Nov 2013 Anonymous Romania
  • Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Everyone spoke and understood English which really helped when asking questions about where to go/how to get there.
  • 100%
  • 12 Oct 2013 Jessalyn
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »