See other Rome properties

La Controra Hostel Rome

Via Umbria, 7, Rome, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 87% from 25 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Really great hostel, Large rooms with aircon and clean bathrooms Wouldn't look at another hostel in rome! This is it!
  • 91%
  • 25 Jun 2016 Megan South Africa
  • Great location and price is excellent for the money. Staff was simply perfect, great with local recommendation and general ideas throughou the city for places to eat/drink- just tell them what you want and they provide. Also made several reservations for taxis. No bar but place to eat or drink "at home" and cleanliness was 100%. Historic building with classic elevator, La Controra was a great place to stay and would recommen to friends and family. Best thing: Staff. Worst thing: No laundry
  • 89%
  • 10 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • The elevator to get to the 3rd floor is tight, but it's enough. The towels are 2 euro for your entire stay. This hostel is close to the US embassy, metro, and termini. There's a Carrefour express nearby if you want to eat on a budget. The internet is pretty fast and I don't know when Francesca and Danny are leaving, but they were great even though Danny talked to me and Francesca didn't :8^)> Every day at 12 2 guys clean the place. There are no floor mats in the bathrooms, but the rest was fine.
  • 94%
  • 22 Apr 2016 John USA
  • Rooms are comfortables, staff is nice: this a great hostel! Walking distance from many historical sites and 2 metro stations. There wasn't much of a "party ambiance" but there are plenty of bars in Rome to party!
  • 89%
  • 11 Feb 2016 Anonymous Canada
  • good kind staff hana, pablo, cristian !!! near foutain is feeling nice.
  • 89%
  • 10 Jan 2016 Anonymous South Korea
  • Great place in the heart of Rome, friendly staff, beautiful atmosphere. A true hostel (of international quality and picking up the same vibe) in Italy. I definitely recommend them to anyone who wishes to experience Rome!
  • 89%
  • 13 Oct 2015 Marco Italy
  • Great staff. Great athmosphire.
  • 89%
  • 02 Oct 2015 Anonymous Israel
  • Nice and very helpful staff! Small and familiar hostel.
  • 80%
  • 05 Sep 2015 Jan Sweden
  • This was a lovely little hostel, perfectly situated for walking or taking the metro to all the major sites. It's close to the U.S. Embassy in a safe neighbourhood so I never felt worried about walking home after dark. Very relaxed atmosphere, very easy to meet other travellers. Would definitely stay here again!
  • 91%
  • 29 Aug 2015 Sarah Canada
  • The staff is very nice and helpful. They are so nice that I would like to give hugs. They were very helpful in describing what needs to be done and how. They provided lots of useful information and they were very helpful. The location is great. The rooms are beautiful and beds are comfortable. The bathrooms are convenient.
  • 94%
  • 29 Aug 2015 Anonymous Turkey
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

It's not hard to find something free to do in New Zealand; you just have to look up! Here are five ideas of what to see in this marvellous country with no need to dip into your ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »