See other Rome properties

La Controra Hostel Rome

Via Umbria, 7, Rome, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 90% from 19 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Top located (not far to walk to main sights, super market around the corner), members of staff were always very friendly and helpful, everything was clean (they even made the beds every day!), good sweet breakfast which was always sufficient, big rooms with space and a locker for your stuff - i can highly recommend it and would definitely stay there again. MILLE GRAZIE!
  • 94%
  • 27 Mar 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • Very friendly staff, very clean. Two bunk beds in my very large room. Many other hostels would jam in 6 or 8 bunks. Breakfast nothing special. Great location 10 minutes from train station. Recommended
  • 100%
  • 23 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Nice place! Close to everything!
  • 94%
  • 02 Feb 2015 Anonymous Ecuador
  • Very nice Hostel :)
  • 94%
  • 29 Dec 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • Hi there, It is great pleasure being in your hostel. You ppl are really awesome to connect with and it is so fun to be there with all of you.Thank you so much for making my stay memorable. My memories in Rome starts with you ppl, be it offer a dinner in the mid night and break a plate and string of events. it is amazing . Thank you Marc, Marva and Blue. Best Regards.
  • 100%
  • 24 Dec 2014 POORNA SRI BHIMA RAO India
  • Very unique hostel compared to other hostels I have ever experienced. This is small size hostel so can't accommodate many people. They only have one table in kitchen so I had to wait if the table is occupied by other guest. The building where the hostel is in is used by other resident and nobody was in the entrance so I was really embarrassed after passing by the big gate. FYI, this hostel is located in third floor. I knocked at wrong door. but staff were very kind and clean room.
  • 80%
  • 29 Oct 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Very nice and easy place... Staff was great. Location was good too!
  • 83%
  • 27 Oct 2014 Syed USA
  • Really great hostel and staff, would definetelly come back!
  • 100%
  • 27 Oct 2014 Mateus Brazil
  • Great hostel...great people....would recommend and stay again.
  • 100%
  • 08 Jun 2014 Julie USA
  • We had an incredible stay at La Controra Hostel in Rome. My friend got sick while we were traveling and needed to see a doctor when we arrived in Rome. The staff at the hostel was extremely helpful in making sure that my friend was able to get the medical help she needed. Everyone was friendly and accommodating (especially Marwa!). I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone planning to travel to Rome!
  • 94%
  • 07 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »