See other Rome properties

La Controra Hostel Rome

Via Umbria, 7, Rome, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 90% from 15 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 97%Staff
  • 93%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We arrived late. The reception by the lovely host was welcoming as well as extremely helpful, as she gave us a map and many suggestions for sight seeing. The private room was wonderful. Very clean. I would stay again!
  • 97%
  • 01 Mar 2014 renee USA
  • La Controra Hostel was my home away from home when in Rome. I stayed there for 3 nights and had a great experience! The room was clean, spacious, bright and airy with a big window. The bed was very comfortable, and the lockers were capacious enough to fit both my suitcase and backpack comfortably. And finally the people - the staff and the other guests were really friendly and helpful. Marwa, Dasha and Franchesco were very patient and helpful with really good suggestions of things to do!
  • 100%
  • 28 Dec 2013 Husain India
  • As we arrived in the city, we found it a little difficult to find the exact spot of the hostel, because the sign is a little bit small.
  • 83%
  • 10 Aug 2013 Anonymous Greece
  • A very nice hostel, though I am sure I could have found a better deal.
  • 94%
  • 02 Aug 2013 Jacob USA
  • Everything seem really nice, but then when we did our bed we notice it had some stains in the mattress. It says that's it has breakfast but its not worth it. It's not around many things but the neighborhood seems safe. And is a short walk to the metro station or other sightseeing.
  • 91%
  • 23 Jul 2013 EMMA USA
  • The staff are fantastic, really helpful. They have a lift, tidy rooms, good sized showers. The area is a little noisy, but hey it's a big capital city in Europe, get some earplugs. There's no laundry, but they can suggest some places. There are a lot of great restaurants around the area, close to a metro. We would stay there again.
  • 100%
  • 22 Jun 2013 Sharyn Australia
  • It's not a party hostel, but it's safe, clean, and comfortable.
  • 91%
  • 07 Jun 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • This hostel is located a few blocks from Barberini Metro station and within walking distance of many of the major tourist sites. The staff was very helpful in answering my questions about my daily excursions. It is a very quiet atmosphere, not a party hostel. However, overall I was very pleased.
  • 97%
  • 29 May 2013 Anthony USA
  • I really enjoyed my stay there! The place is very neat, in a very good location and the staff was really kind and helpfull =)
  • 94%
  • 12 May 2013 João Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »