See other Rome properties

La Controra Hostel Rome

Via Umbria, 7, Rome, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 90% from 21 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 94%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff was quite nice and helpful. The location was great-close to Termini and Bernini square. The room/bathrooms were clean. The Wi-Fi was working and there was a computer in the common to area, which was great. The breakfast was included, and there was a kitchen to use.
  • 100%
  • 16 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The twin room we booked for the beggining of our trip is not quite indicated for a couple. It is definetely a dorm atmosphere and very simple. However we tremendously recommend the double one which we booked for the last night in Italy. It is very comfort and cozy. Even considering the differences between the twin and double room options the property has an excellent location and the staff is very friendly and always ready to help. We totally recommend this hostel. Very secure to stay at!
  • 86%
  • 05 May 2015 ANDRE Brazil
  • One of the best hostels I have stayed in. Good space, good people and very clean.
  • 100%
  • 29 Apr 2015 Anonymous India
  • Pros: Clean private rooms, common area, kitchenette, and bathrooms/showers. Rooms secure and spacious in this apartment style guesthouse. The staff - very helpful in pointing out places to see, visit, eat. Price - affordable Cons: Location not close to nearest metro stop. Difficult to find - no signs or markers visible Industrial/business district. Not much happening after 7 pm Hours not accommodating for early morning travelers hoping to drop off bags
  • 71%
  • 21 Apr 2015 Richa USA
  • Top located (not far to walk to main sights, super market around the corner), members of staff were always very friendly and helpful, everything was clean (they even made the beds every day!), good sweet breakfast which was always sufficient, big rooms with space and a locker for your stuff - i can highly recommend it and would definitely stay there again. MILLE GRAZIE!
  • 94%
  • 27 Mar 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • Very friendly staff, very clean. Two bunk beds in my very large room. Many other hostels would jam in 6 or 8 bunks. Breakfast nothing special. Great location 10 minutes from train station. Recommended
  • 100%
  • 23 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Nice place! Close to everything!
  • 94%
  • 02 Feb 2015 Anonymous Ecuador
  • Very nice Hostel :)
  • 94%
  • 29 Dec 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • Hi there, It is great pleasure being in your hostel. You ppl are really awesome to connect with and it is so fun to be there with all of you.Thank you so much for making my stay memorable. My memories in Rome starts with you ppl, be it offer a dinner in the mid night and break a plate and string of events. it is amazing . Thank you Marc, Marva and Blue. Best Regards.
  • 100%
  • 24 Dec 2014 POORNA SRI BHIMA RAO India
  • Very unique hostel compared to other hostels I have ever experienced. This is small size hostel so can't accommodate many people. They only have one table in kitchen so I had to wait if the table is occupied by other guest. The building where the hostel is in is used by other resident and nobody was in the entrance so I was really embarrassed after passing by the big gate. FYI, this hostel is located in third floor. I knocked at wrong door. but staff were very kind and clean room.
  • 80%
  • 29 Oct 2014 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »