See other Rome properties

La Controra Hostel Rome

Via Umbria, 7, Rome, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 91% from 34 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 95%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great staff. Great athmosphire.
  • 89%
  • 02 Oct 2015 Anonymous Israel
  • Nice and very helpful staff! Small and familiar hostel.
  • 80%
  • 05 Sep 2015 Jan Sweden
  • This was a lovely little hostel, perfectly situated for walking or taking the metro to all the major sites. It's close to the U.S. Embassy in a safe neighbourhood so I never felt worried about walking home after dark. Very relaxed atmosphere, very easy to meet other travellers. Would definitely stay here again!
  • 91%
  • 29 Aug 2015 Sarah Canada
  • The staff is very nice and helpful. They are so nice that I would like to give hugs. They were very helpful in describing what needs to be done and how. They provided lots of useful information and they were very helpful. The location is great. The rooms are beautiful and beds are comfortable. The bathrooms are convenient.
  • 94%
  • 29 Aug 2015 Anonymous Turkey
  • Excellent location, friendly staff, very clean and calm. Recommended for everyne
  • 100%
  • 15 Aug 2015 srikrishna chaitanya India
  • Brilliant. Definitely one of the best hostels I´ve ever stayed at. You guys do such a good work, especially the polish girl in the reception. She is world class.
  • 100%
  • 14 Aug 2015 Anonymous Sweden
  • A really great hostel to stay at, made even better by the amazing staff there, one girl in particular, Emilia, who not only provided amazing customer service and hospitality but is likely the nicest girl in all of Rome!
  • 97%
  • 25 Jul 2015 Christopher Australia
  • A hostel experience I will remember for the rest of my life. Could not have asked for a better location, atmosphere, or (especially) the absolutely fantastic staff and fellow travelers! Made friends and memories that I will hold dearly for a long time to come -- shout out to Emilia at the front desk in particular for recommending the restaurant that provided one of the most authentic, delicious meals I've had so far in my 3 weeks in Italy!
  • 100%
  • 04 Jul 2015 Grace USA
  • The young lady working at the hostel named Maura was really great! Very helpful, perfect english, fun and kind. She is one of the best host so far!
  • 94%
  • 28 Jun 2015 conan Netherlands
  • Really lovely hostel, would stay again :-)
  • 91%
  • 27 Jun 2015 Anonymous England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »