See other Rome properties

La Controra Hostel Rome

Via Umbria, 7, Rome, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 91% from 24 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 95%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • A hostel experience I will remember for the rest of my life. Could not have asked for a better location, atmosphere, or (especially) the absolutely fantastic staff and fellow travelers! Made friends and memories that I will hold dearly for a long time to come -- shout out to Emilia at the front desk in particular for recommending the restaurant that provided one of the most authentic, delicious meals I've had so far in my 3 weeks in Italy!
  • 100%
  • 04 Jul 2015 Grace USA
  • The young lady working at the hostel named Maura was really great! Very helpful, perfect english, fun and kind. She is one of the best host so far!
  • 94%
  • 28 Jun 2015 conan Netherlands
  • Loved this hostel- and the staff! Beautiful location, quiet, cozy, and clean hostel with a great breakfast.
  • 100%
  • 26 Jun 2015 Elizabeth USA
  • Loved the Location, Facilities, Security. Thank you very much for everything :)
  • 89%
  • 28 May 2015 Matej Slovenia
  • The staff was quite nice and helpful. The location was great-close to Termini and Bernini square. The room/bathrooms were clean. The Wi-Fi was working and there was a computer in the common to area, which was great. The breakfast was included, and there was a kitchen to use.
  • 100%
  • 16 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The twin room we booked for the beggining of our trip is not quite indicated for a couple. It is definetely a dorm atmosphere and very simple. However we tremendously recommend the double one which we booked for the last night in Italy. It is very comfort and cozy. Even considering the differences between the twin and double room options the property has an excellent location and the staff is very friendly and always ready to help. We totally recommend this hostel. Very secure to stay at!
  • 86%
  • 05 May 2015 ANDRE Brazil
  • One of the best hostels I have stayed in. Good space, good people and very clean.
  • 100%
  • 29 Apr 2015 Anonymous India
  • Pros: Clean private rooms, common area, kitchenette, and bathrooms/showers. Rooms secure and spacious in this apartment style guesthouse. The staff - very helpful in pointing out places to see, visit, eat. Price - affordable Cons: Location not close to nearest metro stop. Difficult to find - no signs or markers visible Industrial/business district. Not much happening after 7 pm Hours not accommodating for early morning travelers hoping to drop off bags
  • 71%
  • 21 Apr 2015 Richa USA
  • Top located (not far to walk to main sights, super market around the corner), members of staff were always very friendly and helpful, everything was clean (they even made the beds every day!), good sweet breakfast which was always sufficient, big rooms with space and a locker for your stuff - i can highly recommend it and would definitely stay there again. MILLE GRAZIE!
  • 94%
  • 27 Mar 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • Very friendly staff, very clean. Two bunk beds in my very large room. Many other hostels would jam in 6 or 8 bunks. Breakfast nothing special. Great location 10 minutes from train station. Recommended
  • 100%
  • 23 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »