See other Montreal properties

La Maison du Patriote

169, St-Paul Est, Montreal, Montreal, Canada, Distance from city centre: 2.5km

Rating: 93% from 56 reviews

  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 95%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • My best friend and I stayed here for a few days while we explored Montreal after finishing our exams. We stayed in the girls dorm and we really loved having a small room that felt more private, even when sharing with four other girls. The lockers were nice, everything was self-explanatory. The only issue was the orange paper left for us outside of the hostel on the night we came in. Since we came in during snow, the paper was wet and we struggled to read all of the directions.
  • 89%
  • 10 Dec 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • This place was so cool. Not only was it located in old Montreal (around the corner from city hall) but inside was so neat with chalk available to scribble on the wall, instruments and lights all over the place. It felt like a scene from Nick & Norah's Inifinite Playlist. I only stayed for a night and I wish I had more than a week of vacation so I could stay a few more nights there. The setup allowed such a great interaction with other travellers that we spent about 4 hours just talking.
  • 97%
  • 18 Nov 2014 Blake Canada
  • Lots of awesome people, great place to make new friends! Gave an average security rating because sharing a room with 21 other people isn't my idea of security, but there are lockers for valuables.
  • 91%
  • 08 Nov 2014 Jakob Denmark
  • Amazing easy going artsy atmosphere, great value for the price, very friendly service Definitely would return here and absolutely recommend it to others!
  • 94%
  • 29 Oct 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • I absolutely loved staying here! The guests were all super respectful and the space was clean, cozy, and safe feeling. I loved the casual feel. Honestly, the bathrooms were amazing for a hostel-really clean and spacious showers. Even the set up felt super private and safe, which is rare in a big dorm like that. Will recommend to lots of people!
  • 97%
  • 18 Oct 2014 Tess USA
  • Amazing experience. Great private room, perfect for a couple. Amazing location. Will go back.
  • 100%
  • 16 Oct 2014 shauna Canada
  • I've stayed here multiple times over the past few years, and each time has been a great experience. The location is perfect, hostel staff are incredibly helpful, and the accommodations are great. The common areas are comfortable and well-stocked, and there are lots of opportunities to socialize with other travelers. I'd recommend this place a million times over.
  • 91%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • For a hostel, this place is beyond expectation. Great location, friendly staff, clean, tidy, overall, a great value for money. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay!
  • 100%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Quoc (Charlie) Canada
  • This was a gorgeous hostel that I felt right at home at instantly. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere was so welcoming and inspiring for my writing trip. Highly recommend!!
  • 100%
  • 01 Oct 2014 Rachael Melissa Canada
  • unique, friendly & clean! best hostel so far on all my travels :)
  • 91%
  • 16 Sep 2014 Anonymous Switzerland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »