See other Montreal properties

La Maison du Patriote

169, St-Paul Est, Montreal, Montreal, Canada, Distance from city centre: 2.5km

Rating: 93% from 53 reviews

  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 94%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Location was fantastic, right in the middle of Old Montreal. Clean & friendly people. Lots of food & places to shop in the area. There was no staff working after about 6pm. The only complaint that I have is that there should be staff working there at night to monitor everything going on. There was a party on one of the nights that went late into early morning and no amount of telling them to shut up would do anything. Would stay again.
  • 89%
  • 21 Aug 2014 Christina Canada
  • Nice place to stay, charming atmosphere and friendly people. Perfect location!
  • 94%
  • 21 Aug 2014 Rieke Germany
  • Hostel experiences can vary. This however, was a wonderful one. Can't think of a single complaint, in fact the complete opposite. Praising La Maison du Patriote's security, location, staff, atmosphere, cleanliness, value for money, and facilities. Great times were had, great people were met, and good nights sleep was had. Looking forward to enjoying more trips to Montreal and more stays at this unique hostel.
  • 100%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Awesome...will definitely stay there again...loved the staff the location. ..just...EVERYTHING...cannot say enough good things...but look forward to coming to Montreal again...and visiting and staying withe awesome folks at La Maison du Patriots....loved it so much. The owners go out of their way to make everyone there feel welcome...Thanks to you....oh....and did I mention that the Staff are ALL awesome...my Daughter and I...thoroughly enjoyed it...Deanna and Jessica...from Ontario. Aug 2014
  • 100%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Deanna Canada
  • Just a great hostel. Super centrally located, friendly staff, and great atmosphere.
  • 89%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Anonymous Netherlands
  • This was my second time staying at la maison and I still absolutely love it! Right in old Montreal and such an awesome hostel next time I am in Montreal I will be happy to stay there a third time :)
  • 100%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Paulina
  • I stayed at La Maison du Patriote for the Osheaga festival. I've never been to a hostel so I was skeptical at first because people told me hostels are seedy. But this was not the case staying here for 4 days. The great thing about the place is the atmosphere. My friends and I had the chance to meet people all over the world. Old Montreal is a beautiful area--though it can be an expensive--to live and explore in. The staff is great and helpful (they all love alt-J). Great hostel to stay in.
  • 89%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • La maison du patriote was my first hostel experience and it was a fantastic one! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hostel was very clean, and they cleaned everyday. The bathroom and showers were great, almost never had to wait. I stayed in a private room, it was spacious enough and very cute! I also could not have asked for a better location for this hostel! It was so close to so many great sights. If I find myself in Montreal again I will surely stay here again.
  • 100%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Stefani Canada
  • Clean; staff were kind and helpful. They had open areas to eat and socialize. Bathrooms and showers were good and plenty for the size. Location was very good, but not great--I realized after staying at another place that this hostel is in the center of a very touristy spot, rather than in the center of a more interesting place. Value was also good, but the larger common area was quieter than the 6-bed dorm where it's more private--so more likely for people to feel it's ok to talk late.
  • 91%
  • 21 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Absolutely awesome hostel! You have to take off your shoes after you enter, making it feel like a home. It's a little hard to find, as there is no sign. But it is in a nice location and felt super safe. The 22 room space is a big attic with curtains for privacy around beds. It's pretty cool. There's a kitchen and living room area. I would highly recommend and I would definitely stay if I'm in Montreal again!!
  • 100%
  • 17 Jul 2014 Ashley USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »