See other Montreal properties

La Maison du Patriote

169, St-Paul Est, Montreal, Montreal, Canada, Distance from city centre: 2.5km

Rating: 92% from 61 reviews

  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 95%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We loved the hostel! Very clean and friendly with a welcoming atmosphere. We tried a private room which was great, as well as the mixed dorm. It was nice to have the curtains to give some privacy in the dorm. Showers were very clean with new fixtures and tiles. Metro close by, but be warned that the only nearby restaurants that we saw were tourist traps ($$$), so buy some groceries and cook in the nice kitchen at the hostel to save some money if you want.
  • 100%
  • 21 Jun 2015 Kenzie Canada
  • The floors and bathrooms were always very dirty, especially since you weren't allowed to wear shoes. And the advertisement for the all-female room makes it seem as if it is secure and separated from the group housing. Firstly, there is no lock, and it is directly across from the men's sleeping area. Also, the lockers that are so proudly advertised are TINY. I couldn't even fit my (quite small/average sized) backpack inside.
  • 69%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Sarah USA
  • It was my first time in an hostel of any kind and I definitely enjoyed the experience! The building is kind of old and you can feel it, but hey, it's Old Montreal. Everything is reasonable and decent. A great place to stay if you are visiting Montreal!
  • 89%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Yann Canada
  • Everything worked seamlessly, simple and efficient handling.
  • 94%
  • 14 Jun 2015 Ingo Germany
  • The hostel provider clearing directions. The lock on the front door and the 24hrs checkin were the main reasons I chose the hostel (so I could visitekaartje MUTEK). Also the look of the hostel (Nicely decorated).
  • 80%
  • 29 May 2015 Anonymous Netherlands
  • This hostel was okay but not great. I would stay there again if I couldn't find anywhere else affordable. On the weekends the streets outside were so loud with club music and drunk people that we couldn't sleep until at least 3am. If you're the partying type it would probably be great though! The staff were mostly friendly and helpful. There are only three showers and two toilets which could be annoying.
  • 63%
  • 29 May 2015 Kerry Canada
  • This place is so incredible! The location is perfect. You walk out the door and you're in the heart of Old Montreal. The area is so walkable and vibrant. The staff was sooo nice and helpful. They set you up with any information you might need. There's a full kitchen and free laundry. I absolutely fell inlove with the city and with this hostel. I can't wait to go back.
  • 94%
  • 18 May 2015 Amanda USA
  • Our stay at this hostel was one of the high points of our trip. The facilities were great and the people were very nice. I would definitely stay here again if I were to visit Montreal again.
  • 97%
  • 15 May 2015 Agatha Canada
  • This hostel is so coooooool! I met different people, they are all very kind and I heard different stories, see different life, this is a very wonderful experience!
  • 97%
  • 06 May 2015 Anonymous China
  • I just stayed three nights still i was completly smitten by its charms. Its a small but so incredible cozy hostel! Its located in old Montreal and u got nearly everything directly around you. No 5min to the harbour and no 15min to get to the central city by feet! I highly recommend this hostel and I allready booked there again for the last days of my vaccation to Canada.
  • 100%
  • 05 May 2015 Anonymous Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »