See other Montreal properties

La Maison du Patriote

169, St-Paul Est, Montreal, Montreal, Canada, Distance from city centre: 2.5km

Rating: 93% from 51 reviews

  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 94%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Just a great hostel. Super centrally located, friendly staff, and great atmosphere.
  • 89%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Anonymous Netherlands
  • This was my second time staying at la maison and I still absolutely love it! Right in old Montreal and such an awesome hostel next time I am in Montreal I will be happy to stay there a third time :)
  • 100%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Paulina
  • I stayed at La Maison du Patriote for the Osheaga festival. I've never been to a hostel so I was skeptical at first because people told me hostels are seedy. But this was not the case staying here for 4 days. The great thing about the place is the atmosphere. My friends and I had the chance to meet people all over the world. Old Montreal is a beautiful area--though it can be an expensive--to live and explore in. The staff is great and helpful (they all love alt-J). Great hostel to stay in.
  • 89%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • La maison du patriote was my first hostel experience and it was a fantastic one! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hostel was very clean, and they cleaned everyday. The bathroom and showers were great, almost never had to wait. I stayed in a private room, it was spacious enough and very cute! I also could not have asked for a better location for this hostel! It was so close to so many great sights. If I find myself in Montreal again I will surely stay here again.
  • 100%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Stefani Canada
  • Clean; staff were kind and helpful. They had open areas to eat and socialize. Bathrooms and showers were good and plenty for the size. Location was very good, but not great--I realized after staying at another place that this hostel is in the center of a very touristy spot, rather than in the center of a more interesting place. Value was also good, but the larger common area was quieter than the 6-bed dorm where it's more private--so more likely for people to feel it's ok to talk late.
  • 91%
  • 21 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Absolutely awesome hostel! You have to take off your shoes after you enter, making it feel like a home. It's a little hard to find, as there is no sign. But it is in a nice location and felt super safe. The 22 room space is a big attic with curtains for privacy around beds. It's pretty cool. There's a kitchen and living room area. I would highly recommend and I would definitely stay if I'm in Montreal again!!
  • 100%
  • 17 Jul 2014 Ashley USA
  • Great staff with a fantastic location! The hostel crowd was very friendly and quite chic. I recommend staying in the sampler dorms, the bigger dorms seems to be pain if you want to sleep
  • 86%
  • 16 Jul 2014 Abner USA
  • A comfortable space, good staff (only available 9-4pm daily), in the heart of old port Montreal. However, the space is not fully equipped to handle the 30+ people to stay, as well as a VERY SMALL kitchen space unable to handle cooking. Needs to be upgraded, need to hire a real plumber to deal with the showers, a real electrician to deal with the circuits blowing everyday the AC is on, rather then try and do-it themselves. A nice space for a day or two stay.
  • 74%
  • 11 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Now i know why everybody recomend it, one of the best hostels around the world
  • 100%
  • 05 Jul 2014 Hamilton torres Brazil
  • It was wonderful with very nice guests as well as staff
  • 100%
  • 24 Jun 2014 Jake USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »