See other Montreal properties

La Maison du Patriote

169, St-Paul Est, Montreal, Montreal, Canada, Distance from city centre: 2.5km

Rating: 92% from 61 reviews

  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 95%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The biggest positive of this hostel is the location in Old Montreal and inexpensive cost. Despite an 11pm curfew, there is no staff at the hostel at night to enforce it. This results in other guests staying up all night drinking with no consequences, particularly on the weekend. No meals provided, so buy (and label) some groceries. Keep all valuables (including shoes) in the very small lockers provided. Hostel gets hot at night, despite loud AC unit in dorm.
  • 74%
  • 18 Jul 2015 Sean Canada
  • By far, and I mean by far, the best hostel I have ever been to! The place had charme and personality. i felt very welcome and you almost feel like it's your home. For two nights we ended up in the very small kitchen with 15+ people, sharing food and wine. Best hostel experience ever!!! Best value for money you could possibly get!
  • 91%
  • 16 Jul 2015 Felix Germany
  • Is very hot, in the middle of the summer, they do not have air con in a woman dormitory, there is a small fan, like a joke.
  • 74%
  • 11 Jul 2015 Anonymous Spain
  • This was a very cute hostel located in the heart of the Old Montreal which was perfect! I loved staying here and probably won't want to stay at a normal hostel again :)
  • 94%
  • 03 Jul 2015 Bethany USA
  • I love La Maison Due patriote, it felt like home from the minute I walked in. I met amazing ppl from all corners of the globe. Though I traveled by myself, not for one second was there a dull moment. From the friendly staff that helped me out where to rent bikes and tour the city to the amazing customer service within Old Montreal. I will definitely come back as I have left a chock note under the laptop desk #reunion.A plus tard :-) From Tesfa.
  • 100%
  • 25 Jun 2015 Anonymous Ethiopia
  • We loved the hostel! Very clean and friendly with a welcoming atmosphere. We tried a private room which was great, as well as the mixed dorm. It was nice to have the curtains to give some privacy in the dorm. Showers were very clean with new fixtures and tiles. Metro close by, but be warned that the only nearby restaurants that we saw were tourist traps ($$$), so buy some groceries and cook in the nice kitchen at the hostel to save some money if you want.
  • 100%
  • 21 Jun 2015 Kenzie Canada
  • The floors and bathrooms were always very dirty, especially since you weren't allowed to wear shoes. And the advertisement for the all-female room makes it seem as if it is secure and separated from the group housing. Firstly, there is no lock, and it is directly across from the men's sleeping area. Also, the lockers that are so proudly advertised are TINY. I couldn't even fit my (quite small/average sized) backpack inside.
  • 69%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Sarah USA
  • It was my first time in an hostel of any kind and I definitely enjoyed the experience! The building is kind of old and you can feel it, but hey, it's Old Montreal. Everything is reasonable and decent. A great place to stay if you are visiting Montreal!
  • 89%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Yann Canada
  • Everything worked seamlessly, simple and efficient handling.
  • 94%
  • 14 Jun 2015 Ingo Germany
  • The hostel provider clearing directions. The lock on the front door and the 24hrs checkin were the main reasons I chose the hostel (so I could visitekaartje MUTEK). Also the look of the hostel (Nicely decorated).
  • 80%
  • 29 May 2015 Anonymous Netherlands
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »