See other Montreal properties

La Maison du Patriote

169, St-Paul Est, Montreal, Montreal, Canada, Distance from city centre: 2.5km

Rating: 93% from 59 reviews

  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 95%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Stayed at 'La maison du Patriote' in a private room. We had never been to a hostel and didn't know what to expect. Staying here was a trip highlight. The atmosphere was incredible. Good: Never waited for showers (early risers), clean kitchen with fridge (no freezer), good showers, cool room. Negative: Having to wait for the bathrooms on a couple occasions but not even a big deal. A little confused as to getting inside the first day until I saw a little note on the door with instructions.
  • 91%
  • 05 Jun 2014 Mona Canada
  • There are not enough bathrooms to share and it's quite noisy on friday and saturday nights on St Paul but everything else is great.
  • 97%
  • 27 May 2014 Yo-liang Canada
  • Really friendly atmosphere and a lot of written resources and tips written on chalk boards. There was only 1 working shower due to renovations.
  • 83%
  • 07 May 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • This hostel was perfect!!!!!!!!! I definitely love it!!!!!!!!!!!
  • 100%
  • 05 May 2014 BOMOOL South Korea
  • Overall good experience, very clean and the staff are friendly. The layout of the hostel isn't great if you have a private room, they are on the main floor with the common areas.you can hear everyone coming/going in the morning and night (thin walls). The staff also turn on loud music when they come in, sometimes at 9am, so be aware if you want to sleep in. The restaurant/club across the road can be loud, I think the girls/boys dorms would be better for light sleepers.
  • 83%
  • 21 Apr 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Lovely hostel, very easy to meet people, comfortable beds. . They're down to one shower but when I was there so long as you were up before 9am there was no problem getting straight in.
  • 97%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • We would stay again if we weren't looking for privacy or quiet. The rooms are far from sound proof. Also, there was construction in the showers early in the morning. I was told that checkout was 11am but that it was flexible and that staff would "be around" throughout the day, so we slept in, thinking that we could check out at 1pm, like other hostels in Montreal. The staff came knocking on our door at 11:30am yelling "Time to check out guys".. This was the same guy that told us it was flexible.
  • 71%
  • 07 Apr 2014 Ashley
  • Amazing location right in Old Montreal. Cute room! It felt like home!
  • 100%
  • 01 Apr 2014 Mary USA
  • located in the old port area of town, has alot of character. There are several bars and clubs literally a stone's throw away. Down the street are some great restaurants like: the Keg, Tokyo, and Mangiafoco. Metro access is close. The hostel is funky and was well furnished; the kitchen and common room are nice, the common room even has bongos, guitars and a key board to keep you occupied, the beds are a little "firm" though.
  • 100%
  • 24 Jan 2014 andre USA
  • I don't understand how anyone could give this hostel less than 100%. Hubert and Eve (the staff) are very enthusiastic about their jobs and shows in how well run the hostel is. They greeted me warmly and gave me all the information I needed. The showers are clean and very private. The beds have curtains and are private. There is a washer and dryer and detergent and dryer sheets provided. The only issue I took was club music could be heard at night, but it's out of the hostel's control.
  • 100%
  • 24 Jan 2014 Joseph USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Christmas doesn't get much better than wandering around a snow-coated market with a hot mulled wine in hand. The smell of roasted chestnuts and the twinkling lights will put even a Grinch into the Christmas spirit.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »