See other Montreal properties

La Maison du Patriote

169, St-Paul Est, Montreal, Montreal, Canada, Distance from city centre: 2.5km

Rating: 93% from 58 reviews

  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 95%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We would stay again if we weren't looking for privacy or quiet. The rooms are far from sound proof. Also, there was construction in the showers early in the morning. I was told that checkout was 11am but that it was flexible and that staff would "be around" throughout the day, so we slept in, thinking that we could check out at 1pm, like other hostels in Montreal. The staff came knocking on our door at 11:30am yelling "Time to check out guys".. This was the same guy that told us it was flexible.
  • 71%
  • 07 Apr 2014 Ashley
  • Amazing location right in Old Montreal. Cute room! It felt like home!
  • 100%
  • 01 Apr 2014 Mary USA
  • located in the old port area of town, has alot of character. There are several bars and clubs literally a stone's throw away. Down the street are some great restaurants like: the Keg, Tokyo, and Mangiafoco. Metro access is close. The hostel is funky and was well furnished; the kitchen and common room are nice, the common room even has bongos, guitars and a key board to keep you occupied, the beds are a little "firm" though.
  • 100%
  • 24 Jan 2014 andre USA
  • I don't understand how anyone could give this hostel less than 100%. Hubert and Eve (the staff) are very enthusiastic about their jobs and shows in how well run the hostel is. They greeted me warmly and gave me all the information I needed. The showers are clean and very private. The beds have curtains and are private. There is a washer and dryer and detergent and dryer sheets provided. The only issue I took was club music could be heard at night, but it's out of the hostel's control.
  • 100%
  • 24 Jan 2014 Joseph USA
  • La Maison du patriote, being my very first hostel experience, gave me a clear idea of what a hostel looks like. I mean, next time, I won't hesitate to stay at a hostel. It just seems to me that LMP is incomparable as for its ideal location (at the heart of Old Port, near the metro, etc.), the security, and for its musical instruments.
  • 91%
  • 05 Jan 2014 Anonymous Congo
  • Very cozy and in the middle of old town Montreal. Think you need your own security pad lock to use the safe boxes provided by your bed but not sure! The wifi didnt't work for apple products when i was there but maybe that was just a coincident, have a look before. But very clean, warm, cozy and friendy hostel. Not party in the corridor all night, just relaxed.
  • 94%
  • 28 Dec 2013 Sasha Sweden
  • To open the door, we have our own passcode. It's safe because we don't lose the key, just remember the passcode. Beds are clean, because we change our bed cover and pillow cover by ourselves. The hostel has free Wifi, but it's little busy in the evening. The hostel has lockers, you will have padlock, it's so safe. The hostel has the quiet time(from 11pm to 9:30 am) so we can sleep in the silence. The hostel owner is funny, we feel like we are at home. Next the hostel is the gift shop.
  • 91%
  • 23 Dec 2013 NATSUMI Japan
  • One of the best hostels I've ever been to. Within walking distance of the Cathedral and great local bars/shops. The science museum is 2 blocks down the road. Met some great people at the hostel, and I'm definitely going back to it when I go to Montreal again.
  • 94%
  • 14 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Very close to Marché Bonsecours, Vieux Port, Point-à-Calliere, Cathedral Notre Dame, Place d'Arms everything walking. Super friendly staff, beautiful kitchen where you can make your own meal if you prefer, many places you can eat in the surrounding areas, very nice living room with guitars, keyboards and electric guitar, computer available with full internet acces, fast wi-fi. Washrooms in the second floor wich is not bad but showers are a little small. Everything else is worth the money.
  • 94%
  • 11 Dec 2013 LUIS Peru
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mou...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »