See other Montreal properties

La Maison du Patriote

169, St-Paul Est, Montreal, Montreal, Canada, Distance from city centre: 2.5km

Rating: 93% from 58 reviews

  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 95%Value for money
  • 91%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Absolutely awesome hostel! You have to take off your shoes after you enter, making it feel like a home. It's a little hard to find, as there is no sign. But it is in a nice location and felt super safe. The 22 room space is a big attic with curtains for privacy around beds. It's pretty cool. There's a kitchen and living room area. I would highly recommend and I would definitely stay if I'm in Montreal again!!
  • 100%
  • 17 Jul 2014 Ashley USA
  • Great staff with a fantastic location! The hostel crowd was very friendly and quite chic. I recommend staying in the sampler dorms, the bigger dorms seems to be pain if you want to sleep
  • 86%
  • 16 Jul 2014 Abner USA
  • A comfortable space, good staff (only available 9-4pm daily), in the heart of old port Montreal. However, the space is not fully equipped to handle the 30+ people to stay, as well as a VERY SMALL kitchen space unable to handle cooking. Needs to be upgraded, need to hire a real plumber to deal with the showers, a real electrician to deal with the circuits blowing everyday the AC is on, rather then try and do-it themselves. A nice space for a day or two stay.
  • 74%
  • 11 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Now i know why everybody recomend it, one of the best hostels around the world
  • 100%
  • 05 Jul 2014 Hamilton torres Brazil
  • It was wonderful with very nice guests as well as staff
  • 100%
  • 24 Jun 2014 Jake USA
  • Stayed at 'La maison du Patriote' in a private room. We had never been to a hostel and didn't know what to expect. Staying here was a trip highlight. The atmosphere was incredible. Good: Never waited for showers (early risers), clean kitchen with fridge (no freezer), good showers, cool room. Negative: Having to wait for the bathrooms on a couple occasions but not even a big deal. A little confused as to getting inside the first day until I saw a little note on the door with instructions.
  • 91%
  • 05 Jun 2014 Mona Canada
  • There are not enough bathrooms to share and it's quite noisy on friday and saturday nights on St Paul but everything else is great.
  • 97%
  • 27 May 2014 Yo-liang Canada
  • Really friendly atmosphere and a lot of written resources and tips written on chalk boards. There was only 1 working shower due to renovations.
  • 83%
  • 07 May 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • This hostel was perfect!!!!!!!!! I definitely love it!!!!!!!!!!!
  • 100%
  • 05 May 2014 BOMOOL South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »