See other Venice properties

La Pescheria Backpackers

San Polo 1699, (calle dei Boteri), Venice, Italy, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 73% from 19 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 73%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 67%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Location is pretty central, that's the only good thing about the hostel. The guy was very unwelcoming (as I read in previous reviews as well), there is no computers to use, bathroom was to be shared with a whole floor (only 2), mosquitoes were terrible! Wouldn't recommend the place except for its location. Price is not worth the money
  • 49%
  • 12 Oct 2014 Bibi Shareeza Mauritius
  • Charged me in my home currency without letting me know and took an extra 3% due to the exchange rate. Rooms were fine but the entire floor shares one bathroom. WiFi is available only in one small room on a different floor, you can't access it within your bedroom. Breakfast is a single croissant. It may be cheap, but just stay somewhere else.
  • 49%
  • 11 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The accommodation was as described, in the center of Venice, a double-bedroom private with a shared bathroom on the floor, which was clean. Although the the staff was not very polite, which didn't give us a very good impression. The building though is a very beautiful one, which could easily be decorated a little nicer! It had nothing to do with a familiar atmosphere, moreover it was a clear money - orientated business to accommodate tourists! All in all okay.
  • 71%
  • 07 Oct 2014 Angeliki Greece
  • So glad we found this place! It is located right on a popular street and within 5 minutes of the central part of Venice (Rialto Bridge). The atmosphere was great: always someone hanging out. Everything was clean and there was plenty of space. The only negative thing I could say is that it was a little loud at night because of the restaurants on the street beneath. And the door was very poorly marked--the only label was on the doorbell in small font. Great place for social people (all ages)!
  • 94%
  • 06 Sep 2014 Ashley USA
  • Great location in the middle of the city. Less than 5 minutes walk to Rialto Bridge. Small common area and didn't really interact with anyone that wasn't in my room. Had bedbugs! Don't stay in Venice too long if you are travelin to many cities during your time abroad. Venice can be done in 2 days.
  • 60%
  • 04 Sep 2014 Matthew USA
  • For a hostel, the price is really expensive. The kitchen is not opened all the day. Only one hairdryer can be hired so it's not convenient.
  • 74%
  • 02 Sep 2014 HAO TING Taiwan
  • I thought this was a very pleasant atmosphere and the location was great! My GPS was a little mixed up but that had nothing to do with the hostel. I recommend this hostel to anyone who is looking for a nice place to stay in Venice, Italy!
  • 80%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • We were on the top floor in a room with wooden beams that were home to several hundred LICE. We showed one to the receptionist who commented "It's only one!" Some of them traveled home i my daughters suit case. She is now receiving medication.
  • 69%
  • 15 Jul 2014 Jonathan England
  • Well, the hostel is cheap, but It does not have breakfast. A breakfast in venezia is very expensive. Maybe it is better to pay 10 euros more per person and have breakfast. It is clean, but old and kinda difficult to find. Never go to venezia at night! It is dark and difficult tô locativo places.
  • 71%
  • 05 Jul 2014 Victor Italy
  • The place was kind a spooky. Had a dorm room (4 bed) for myself and the switscher for the lamp was OUTSIDE the room and a locked door (with struggeling keys). So at night I didn''t even switch it off because there would be hard to unluck the door in the door if I needed to get out. There wasn't even a small lamp in the room.
  • 49%
  • 30 Jun 2014 Sanna Sweden
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »