See other Venice properties

La Pescheria Backpackers

San Polo 1699, (calle dei Boteri), Venice, Italy, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 64% from 23 reviews

  • 57%Atmosphere
  • 60%Staff
  • 70%Security
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 57%Value for money
  • 57%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I stayed here only one night in a mixed 4 bed dorm, and it was the cheapest low-budget option if you wanted to stay in a good location in Venice. So for that it was good, cleanliness ok, but the wifi didn't work on my floor, no lockers in the rooms to put your valuables, I think there was an included breakfast but only heard it from other people there. The girl in the reception was really nice and helpful though, but the hostel overall was quite bad for paying €35 per night in a mixed 4bed.
  • 63%
  • 26 Jul 2015 Anna Sweden
  • Hostel staff are somewhat helpful. depends on who you speak to. No AC which is hard if youre not used to 30+ celsius... most of the room were awake half the night.
  • 46%
  • 20 Jul 2015 fredrik Norway
  • A lot of mosquitoes, I would recommend a mosquito net or a device to keep mosquitoes away (like a raid plug in), the building was very old but OK and the location was good. The staff could've been friendlier and they ran out of maps; they let us leave our luggage after check out and the shared rooms had a key per person.
  • 77%
  • 21 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This place was better than what I was expecting. Check-in was easy and quick, and the manager provided us with a map of Venice and places to go, along with a good/cheap restaurant. They accommodated my three friends and I by placing us all into one room, which was very nice. There was also AC, which was a great way to get out of the 90 degree weather! The location was perfect, right in the middle of everything, but a little hard to find. For a hostel, I was pleased.
  • 74%
  • 06 Jun 2015 Laura Jean USA
  • It is expensive to stay in Venice no matter what so I think the price of this place was pretty good. They were very kind to me in that my flight into venice got delayed and I wasn't able to arrive until a day late. They did not charge me for the night I reserved but couldn't stay. This was so great after a very stressful day of cancelled flights and missed connections.
  • 74%
  • 28 May 2015 Elizabeth USA
  • Good: location, price (by Venice standards), and the kid at the desk was okay Bad: Room was tiny, dark, dingy, no decorations, paper-thin walls, construction outside and other customers woke us up frequently, wi-fi didn't reach the room, shared bathroom was gross and didn't have enough hot water for more than one shower Really the only draw to the place was the price, but if you can't afford a nicer place to stay you probably shouldn't be going to Venice in the first place
  • 49%
  • 15 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Location is pretty central, that's the only good thing about the hostel. The guy was very unwelcoming (as I read in previous reviews as well), there is no computers to use, bathroom was to be shared with a whole floor (only 2), mosquitoes were terrible! Wouldn't recommend the place except for its location. Price is not worth the money
  • 49%
  • 12 Oct 2014 Bibi Shareeza Mauritius
  • Charged me in my home currency without letting me know and took an extra 3% due to the exchange rate. Rooms were fine but the entire floor shares one bathroom. WiFi is available only in one small room on a different floor, you can't access it within your bedroom. Breakfast is a single croissant. It may be cheap, but just stay somewhere else.
  • 49%
  • 11 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The accommodation was as described, in the center of Venice, a double-bedroom private with a shared bathroom on the floor, which was clean. Although the the staff was not very polite, which didn't give us a very good impression. The building though is a very beautiful one, which could easily be decorated a little nicer! It had nothing to do with a familiar atmosphere, moreover it was a clear money - orientated business to accommodate tourists! All in all okay.
  • 71%
  • 07 Oct 2014 Angeliki Greece
  • So glad we found this place! It is located right on a popular street and within 5 minutes of the central part of Venice (Rialto Bridge). The atmosphere was great: always someone hanging out. Everything was clean and there was plenty of space. The only negative thing I could say is that it was a little loud at night because of the restaurants on the street beneath. And the door was very poorly marked--the only label was on the doorbell in small font. Great place for social people (all ages)!
  • 94%
  • 06 Sep 2014 Ashley USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »