See other Venice properties

La Pescheria Backpackers

San Polo 1699, (calle dei Boteri), Venice, Italy, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 66% from 12 reviews

  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 65%Staff
  • 70%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 61%Value for money
  • 50%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Well, the hostel is cheap, but It does not have breakfast. A breakfast in venezia is very expensive. Maybe it is better to pay 10 euros more per person and have breakfast. It is clean, but old and kinda difficult to find. Never go to venezia at night! It is dark and difficult tô locativo places.
  • 71%
  • 05 Jul 2014 Victor Italy
  • The place was kind a spooky. Had a dorm room (4 bed) for myself and the switscher for the lamp was OUTSIDE the room and a locked door (with struggeling keys). So at night I didn''t even switch it off because there would be hard to unluck the door in the door if I needed to get out. There wasn't even a small lamp in the room.
  • 49%
  • 30 Jun 2014 Sanna Sweden
  • The staff was very helpful, understanding, and pleasant. As a non-frequent traveler I wasn't sure what Ishtar I was going to get staying in a hostel. But this was a beautifully located, fairly inexpensive place that I loved staying at and would go back to in a second.
  • 100%
  • 06 Mar 2014 Blake USA
  • Looking at the location and rates. I think it was best choice I could have. Beside realto bridge such a good hotel. I loved it
  • 86%
  • 16 Nov 2013 Anonymous Pakistan
  • Staff must learn to be kindly and polite. Especialy guy who was on duty on October 22, 2013 after 21.00
  • 63%
  • 22 Oct 2013 Berca Romania
  • I'm not going to tell you not to stay here, but wow. Only one toilet and one shower per floor. Didn't feel clean at all. We were only there for a night so it was tolerable, but I wouldn't stay there for longer than that.
  • 43%
  • 13 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Had an extremely bad experience with one member of the staff. I was in the common room at night and closed the door so not to disturb anyone. He started yelling at me for closing the door and said I was crazy. I tried to reason with him, but his English was horrible and he only got him more angry. I would never give this place my business again.
  • 69%
  • 09 Aug 2013 George USA
  • I did not enjoy this hostel at all. There is no ventilation whatsoever and the room temperature was hotter than a sauna. I had to sleep in my underwear (it was a mixed dorm) and still woke up in sweat. I woke up and my body was covered in bites (still don't know if they were mosquitoes or bed bugs). It was an absolutely disgusting experience. When I enquired about guided tours, the receptionist shrugged. By the way, do not use Google Maps to find this hostel. It took me 3 hours to get there!!!
  • 37%
  • 29 Jul 2013 Helene Canada
  • 1.Kitchen staff was badly behaved and rude. 2.No one was available at reception in the evening/ night. 3 Breakfast was part of deal but was not being provided to resident as they were not aware of it. 4.Kitchen staff were using the facilities for themselves and refusing the residents to cook food during the laid down timings. 5.Kitchenet was not functional and all broken furniture was lying here and there and there is no lounge in hostel. 6.Wifi facility does not work. Bad experience.
  • 37%
  • 15 Jul 2013 Sudhir India
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »