See other New York properties

La Sienna

241 West 123rd Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 11.5km

Rating: 86% from 15 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It's pretty a nice place to stay, if you plan to just sleep and be out all day. Not ideal if you want to meet other people. It's near to 125th street which is a shopping area and has a lot of history. A bell or a sign of the hostel is missing! Instead you need to get in and just knock and wait till there is someone to come and open the door! Overall an okay place to stay.
  • 77%
  • 27 Jan 2014 Anonymous Netherlands
  • I loved this place. The staff is very nice and willing to accommodate you. The place is nice and clean and the atmosphere is very welcoming.
  • 97%
  • 04 Jan 2014 Anonymous El Salvador
  • Great room and clean bathrooms/kitchen.
  • 74%
  • 23 Dec 2013 Rebecca USA
  • Shared bathrooms and kitchens were clean and not crowded. The room was small but also clean and came with two towels. It was a little cold at night, but I liked it better than over heated places. A friendly place, not too expensive, close to subway and bus to LaGuardia airport. I'd like to stay there again.
  • 80%
  • 05 Nov 2013 Anonymous Japan
  • The upstairs shower room is best avoided as you cut your hands on the tiles when you try to open the door. The Harlem location was good, with good transport links and great staff.
  • 71%
  • 24 Oct 2013 Victoria England
  • I loved everything about La Sienna. The area was quiet and felt completely safe, even late Saturday night, the place (New York brownstone) was clean, the staff was friendly, the room was great, the dogs and cats were wonderful. La Sienna was far and away the best of the several NYplaces I have found through hostels.com. It is very slightly out of the way, being up on W. 123rd, but one can get to midtown on the A or the D express trains in about seven minutes. Very enthusiastically recommended.
  • 97%
  • 16 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • We loved this hotel for it's homely atmosphere and really helpful staff. It was so clean and well taken care of! Subway and convenient stores were very close and it really made our time in N Y even better. If I ever come back to NY I will make sure that I'll stay there again. For that price I don't think you can beat it! I stayed in NYC hostels with the same price range before and you can't compare them with the La Sienna! You even get a shared kitchen with a fridge to use! Thank you La Sienna!
  • 94%
  • 11 Jul 2013 Gesa Germany
  • Manny and Evette are great. What a great place to stay. Felt safe there in the building and around the surrounding area. The subway is only 3 mins away and were never left alone with a few people. you can use the bus M60 to get to and from Laguardia airport. The subway will take you everywhereand you can get from 125th st to 4th st using the A train in only 15 minutes. It is always busy in the subway. Great room and board facility!! Cannot say anything better. Excellent. Jeff and Jamie from MI
  • 100%
  • 15 Jun 2013 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel is very charming. Yvette & Manny are very welcoming & helpful with getting around NY. Yvette was very gracious about greeting us as we arrived a little late. LaSienna is kept very clean. The room we stayed in was very cozy & comfortable. We slept like a baby. We were able to go everywhere in the city within minutes via the subway. There's a 24 hr deli on the corner that make great sandwiches for breakfast or anytime. Overall is was great experience and we will come back!
  • 100%
  • 26 Apr 2013 Gaynell USA
  • The whole experience was a very positive one. The staff was warm and very helpful. The common kitchen is very clean and well maintained (and well stocked with complimentary tea and snacks). It was more like I was a guest in someone's home than staying in a hotel. The environment is cozy, calm and quiet. Also, even though you're up in Harlem the D train express to downtown is very close by. It's also very easy to get to and from LGA from here on public transit. Would definitely come back again.
  • 97%
  • 22 Apr 2013 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »