See other New York properties

La Sienna

241 West 123rd Street, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 11.5km

Rating: 87% from 17 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 96%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 95%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • My stay here was great. It is very close to the 125th st station, the A line goes express to down town. The host was fantastic. Very accommodating and pleasant. I had a comfortable private room for cheaper than a bunk bed in a hostel. It was great quality and I would definitely recommend La Sienna for an affordable stay.
  • 89%
  • 09 Aug 2015 Thomas Australia
  • La Sienna is only 2 blocks away from the subway, you can go wherever you want easily. Yvete is a great host, amazing! She knows everything about the city and gave me some tips about pizzas, hamburguers, cookies, how the best way to get to some places. I highly recommend!
  • 94%
  • 22 Jul 2015 Camila Brazil
  • My friend and I had the best time at Le Sienna! We felt right at home! The brownstone is charming and enchanting. Evette keeps the house in tip top shape! She is a gracious host! She is thoughtful, attentive, and very knowledgable! You'll feel like a true New Yorker when you stay at Le Sienna! It is an experience you won't get anywhere else!
  • 97%
  • 25 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It is a very good hostel for travellers on low budget. Rooms and bed linen are clean and the owner is very helpful. Also the neighbourhood is safe. Although there are only a few rooms, in the evening you have to wait for your turn to get to a bathroom. The other negative is the distance to downtown manhattan or brooklyn where you will probably spend the most of the time. But overall if you need just a place to sleep and you don`t mind travelling by subway, it`s a good choice.
  • 77%
  • 10 Jun 2015 Matej Slovakia
  • Yvette is so kind! She was exceptionally welcoming and very eager to make sure we had a great time in the city and a comfortable stay at La Sienna. This property is very quiet and each room is private with a locking door.
  • 86%
  • 29 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Yvette was accommodating and gave recommendations from the perspective of a local. Don't let the fact that the hostel is in Harlem "scare" you or deter you from staying here. The area was very safe, and the metro is only a five minute walk from the hostel. It is very easy to travel from JFK to La Sienna via metro. You get a private room with a key, and I had no problem leaving valuables in the room. Heater was noisy and wifi didn't work in my room, but overall was a good place to stay.
  • 77%
  • 09 Mar 2015 Brittany USA
  • Very decent hostel for the price. It's right next to ALOFT on Frederick Douglass Blvd but you pay half the price. Note: the bathroom, shower, and kitchen areas are shared/open. Bring sandals/flip flops for the common areas. The kitchen is stocked with fresh Kona coffee, very delicious. Yvette is a very kind host. The hostel was clean. The common areas are only as clean as the guests-- so be sure to do your part when you visit.
  • 89%
  • 15 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • A perfect clean and nice location to stay also for a longer time. What you get for your money is a living place which offers you rooms with very nice old fashioned furnitures, pretty decorated and enough space for your needs. We can totally recommend this location!
  • 91%
  • 16 Dec 2014 Benedikt Germany
  • Not the greatest neighborhood but for the price, you cant beat it. Very friendly owner and very helpful.
  • 69%
  • 13 Dec 2014 Brett USA
  • We enjoyed our stay here! Yvette is very sweet and informative and Bailey is the sweetest dog in the world. The place is clean and welcoming. There are several places to eat and shop around the area. You will also find the subway about 3 blocks away which is very convenient; the ride to Time Square is about 7 min using the express lane.
  • 86%
  • 12 Dec 2014 Maria
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »