See other Belfast properties

Lagan Backpackers

121 Fitzroy ave, Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 81% from 28 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff was extremely helpful friendly at Lagans. The double room was quite small but it worked. The hostel was quite loud at night due to a large party crew that was staying there. The bathrooms were not very clean and the one by our room was very small. Great location within walking distance to the City Centre.
  • 69%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Joy USA
  • it was a nice hostel and the workers were funny- just don't expect to get your money's worth out of anything you pay them on the side for (pre-drinks)
  • 63%
  • 13 Jun 2015 Meghan USA
  • loved it there! can't imagine a more perfect backpacker-hostel atmosphere. managed by like-minded, this hostel provides - if you're lucky - guitar sounds in the evening, a tattoo-artist and lots of nice peeps. ;-) it's located a bit outside the city, but in a small building instantly felt like home. can only recommend :-)
  • 91%
  • 05 Jun 2015 Sara Germany
  • The hostel is located in a fantastic place, It is clean and the rooms are pretty good! The staff is excellent! They will help you in whatever you need, they are very friendly what creates a fantastic and friendly atmosphere. One of the best wekeends ever! I will definetely recomend it!
  • 91%
  • 03 May 2015 Anonymous Spain
  • Not what I expected... the staff there were very nice but the hostel lacked a lot of things, like plugs in the bedrooms and mirrors. The bathrooms were not very clean and there were not many showers either. The bed also was very uncomfortable... The breakfast was ok.
  • 49%
  • 15 Apr 2015 Anonymous Spain
  • I thought Lagan Backpackers was a great establishment. I liked that there were young kids working there, how helpful they were when they gave us a map of Belfast and explained all the great pubs and things to see there. The atmosphere was so chill and I really enjoyed the small smoking garden they had in the back. I would recommend this hostel to any people going to Belfast.
  • 100%
  • 11 Apr 2015 Leighann USA
  • The shower on the groundfloor was excellent!
  • 83%
  • 03 Apr 2015 Tutta Finland
  • The hostel was great. The staff were helpful and social; and the atmosphere was awesome. There was a free hot breakfast in the mornings and cheap dinner options. The curtains around each bed made the rooms more private; however, there weren't enough lockers in each room. The worst part about this hostel was the bathroom situation. There is one bathroom per floor with approx 3-4 bedrooms. This made the line up in the morning ridiculous; and for that reason alone I wouldn't come back.
  • 74%
  • 10 Feb 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • The staff were so knowledgeable about Belfast and were so accommodating! The rooms were really clean as were the bathrooms. The hot breakfast every morning was perfect, as was not having to clean up afterwards! The kitchen could use a couple extra knives and such, just when everyone is cooking at once, but I couldn't have asked for a better hostel!
  • 97%
  • 29 Nov 2014 Gabrielle Canada
  • The staff here was super friendly and helpful - they recruited others to join a Black Taxi tour with me, so I didn't get stuck paying the full 30 pounds. There was a real commitment to making sure people were connecting and having fun! The rooms lacked individual security - could not actually lock the lockers provided in the room. There were also earwigs in the room. The kitchen could have been cleaner as well, but it was a solid experience.
  • 74%
  • 28 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »