See other Belfast properties

Lagan Backpackers

121 Fitzroy ave, Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 85% from 18 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff were so knowledgeable about Belfast and were so accommodating! The rooms were really clean as were the bathrooms. The hot breakfast every morning was perfect, as was not having to clean up afterwards! The kitchen could use a couple extra knives and such, just when everyone is cooking at once, but I couldn't have asked for a better hostel!
  • 97%
  • 29 Nov 2014 Gabrielle Canada
  • The staff here was super friendly and helpful - they recruited others to join a Black Taxi tour with me, so I didn't get stuck paying the full 30 pounds. There was a real commitment to making sure people were connecting and having fun! The rooms lacked individual security - could not actually lock the lockers provided in the room. There were also earwigs in the room. The kitchen could have been cleaner as well, but it was a solid experience.
  • 74%
  • 28 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • One of the best hostels we have stayed in! The staff is doing everything possible to make you feel very comfortable!
  • 94%
  • 20 Sep 2014 Gabriella Switzerland
  • Nice hostel. A bit far from the city center, but in a nice quiet neighbourhood. Very good breakfast, good wifi. Not the best facilities, but they work just fine. The staff is very helpful and polite.
  • 69%
  • 19 Sep 2014 Anonymous Argentina
  • Staff was very helpful. Breakfast was great. While it was 5-10 minute walk from the bus station, it was very easy to find. Grocery stores are close by. Belfast sights are not to far to walk to - Belfast is a good walking city to begin with. We really liked the Giants Causeway bus tour - we got picked up right from the hostel. Note that you'll be dropped off at the tour office, but it's easy to get back to the hostel. Friendly place to stay.
  • 100%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Terry USA
  • This hostel was lovely to stay at, friendly staff,breakfast in the morning and a great atmosphere xx better than some 4 star hotels i have stayed at x
  • 94%
  • 17 Aug 2014 Kate
  • Really enjoyed our stay here. Location was a little out of town but it was possible to walk into the centre. The hostel itself was quite cosy and could benefit from a few extra showers but otherwise it was a great atmosphere with lots of other friendly travellers. Staff were very friendly and more than happy to give advice on Belfast and surrounds and share local knowledge. The kitchen was also small but efficient. Wifi worked well and rooms were a little crowded but clean. We would stay again!
  • 80%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Definitely the best hostel we have been in when staying in Northern Ireland.
  • 94%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Anonymous Netherlands
  • The hostel, though smaller and more compact, was perfect for sleeping and eating. Book online and keep your reciepts for EVERYTHING! Hostels are a business no matter how much we like to think of them as a safe haven. This one claims to not "sell" any tours but does technially sell two tours. I was "not sold" both and would recommend the black taxi but would find a different Causeway tour. Also, if paying in cash, make sure they write PAID on your tix so they don't try to charge you again!
  • 74%
  • 18 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • thank you for all. it was a pleasure to meet you to : charlotte, virgile and raphaelle
  • 89%
  • 12 May 2014 Anonymous France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »