See other Belfast properties

Lagan Backpackers

121 Fitzroy ave, Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 79% from 33 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 78%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We went home one day earlier. We expected much more from a hostel for which we paid 25€ per night. The heating in our room wasn't working, so it was freezing there. Window couldn't be opened and there was mold on it. The bathrooms were very poor and not clean. Moreover there was no hot water at all. That is why we went home one night (from two) earlier. We would not recommend the Hostel.
  • 43%
  • 13 Nov 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • Good place, staff on the most part were great but most all volunteers and more interest in self and other volunteers rather than guest. Owners were great as well as cook. Cook made for positive attitude in AM. Having hot breakfast was nice. The water was not hot for showers only warm or cold. There was no hot water in kitchen to wash dishes. Under stand it is an old building.
  • 71%
  • 24 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Would have extended my stay in Belfast if I could just to stay longer in this hostel!! Fun, friendly, welcoming staff made the weekend enjoyable as I was on my own! Great hostel in a good location, with a free breakfast, can't go wrong I'll definitely be back!
  • 100%
  • 21 Aug 2015 Claire
  • Although the stuff was very helpful and friendly and the whole vibe in a hostel was nice, as well as very good breakfast, my feeling about the hostel is not very possitive in the end. I was a bit scared of the shower with moulde (and there are just few of them) which didn't seem very clean anyway, door of my room were nearly impossible to close from the outside (every second time I came it was open)... which probably led to my worse experience - some of my things were stolen there :/
  • 57%
  • 19 Aug 2015 Aneta Czech Republic
  • The best free breakfast i had in a hostel till now....
  • 91%
  • 08 Aug 2015 Tobias Germany
  • Lagan Backpackers is without a doubt the best hostel I have ever stayed at. Now, it's fairly small, so if a hotel-like hostel is what you are looking for, this is the wrong place for you. However, if you want a relaxed atmosphere, a chance to meet people from all over the world, free breakfast à la carte, and the friendliest service you've ever had, this is the right place. In my short stay there, I met at least half a dozen wonderful people every day. I'll definitely be going back!
  • 100%
  • 19 Jul 2015 Anonymous Portugal
  • This Hostel is a solid choice for anyone wanting a chill environment where you can meet lots of people. The staff are friendly and try to get the guests to mingle, and super helpful with any plans you might have around Belfast. Besides a free breakfast, they offer a very cheap and delicious dinner every night. It's a ways away from city centre, maybe 10 minutes walk? However, it's right next to Queen's college, with all sorts of amenities around. Definitely recommend, will go again.
  • 100%
  • 17 Jul 2015 Anonymous Portugal
  • The staff was extremely helpful friendly at Lagans. The double room was quite small but it worked. The hostel was quite loud at night due to a large party crew that was staying there. The bathrooms were not very clean and the one by our room was very small. Great location within walking distance to the City Centre.
  • 69%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Joy USA
  • it was a nice hostel and the workers were funny- just don't expect to get your money's worth out of anything you pay them on the side for (pre-drinks)
  • 63%
  • 13 Jun 2015 Meghan USA
  • loved it there! can't imagine a more perfect backpacker-hostel atmosphere. managed by like-minded, this hostel provides - if you're lucky - guitar sounds in the evening, a tattoo-artist and lots of nice peeps. ;-) it's located a bit outside the city, but in a small building instantly felt like home. can only recommend :-)
  • 91%
  • 05 Jun 2015 Sara Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »