See other Belfast properties

Lagan Backpackers

121 Fitzroy ave, Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 85% from 16 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Staff was very helpful. Breakfast was great. While it was 5-10 minute walk from the bus station, it was very easy to find. Grocery stores are close by. Belfast sights are not to far to walk to - Belfast is a good walking city to begin with. We really liked the Giants Causeway bus tour - we got picked up right from the hostel. Note that you'll be dropped off at the tour office, but it's easy to get back to the hostel. Friendly place to stay.
  • 100%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Terry USA
  • This hostel was lovely to stay at, friendly staff,breakfast in the morning and a great atmosphere xx better than some 4 star hotels i have stayed at x
  • 94%
  • 17 Aug 2014 Kate
  • Really enjoyed our stay here. Location was a little out of town but it was possible to walk into the centre. The hostel itself was quite cosy and could benefit from a few extra showers but otherwise it was a great atmosphere with lots of other friendly travellers. Staff were very friendly and more than happy to give advice on Belfast and surrounds and share local knowledge. The kitchen was also small but efficient. Wifi worked well and rooms were a little crowded but clean. We would stay again!
  • 80%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Definitely the best hostel we have been in when staying in Northern Ireland.
  • 94%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Anonymous Netherlands
  • The hostel, though smaller and more compact, was perfect for sleeping and eating. Book online and keep your reciepts for EVERYTHING! Hostels are a business no matter how much we like to think of them as a safe haven. This one claims to not "sell" any tours but does technially sell two tours. I was "not sold" both and would recommend the black taxi but would find a different Causeway tour. Also, if paying in cash, make sure they write PAID on your tix so they don't try to charge you again!
  • 74%
  • 18 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • thank you for all. it was a pleasure to meet you to : charlotte, virgile and raphaelle
  • 89%
  • 12 May 2014 Anonymous France
  • Very high quality staff, good location, they make you your breakfast in the morning according to what you want, and clean the dishes for you, so basically you don't have anything to do which is nicely surprising for a hostel... Rooms are nice, the area is quiet at night. Very good choice if you ask me.
  • 100%
  • 11 May 2014 Laurent France
  • Nice and Helpful staff. Good price for budget stay with breakfast. But the wi-fi cannot access easily and need to wait for the breakfast for some while.
  • 74%
  • 22 Apr 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • I really enjoyed that you get a free hot breakfast when you stay here. I also like that every night they have a cheap dinner option as well. It's a great location, near the university, which means near cheap eats as well. My only complaint was that only one shower was working on the side of the hostel I stayed in, so there was quite a queue to take a shower at times. Otherwise, excellent. I would definitely reccommend them!
  • 91%
  • 10 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Good dinner and inexpensive. The breakfast looked very good but tasted awful. The rooms were far too small for 12 people. I've been to hostels with bigger rooms that slept fewer people. It was hard to breathe in such a small room with so many people. And the dining area didn't have enough seats.
  • 66%
  • 03 Nov 2013 David Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »