See other Montreal properties

Le Gite du Plateau Mont-Royal

185 Sherbrooke Street East, Montreal, Canada, Distance from city centre: 2km

Rating: 92% from 16 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 97%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 93%Value for money
  • 91%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff is absolutely great, very kind and expert about the city and it's attractions, Celine in particular will really help you to have a great experience in Montreal. The hostel is clean and nice, in a quiet and safe location. Position is 25 min by walk to the center or less then 10 min for the subway. The weak points are: - bunk bed: if are below you'll not be able to stand straight, the distance between the bed is really small - no space for your luggage inside the room, they will be arou
  • 89%
  • 17 Sep 2015 Anonymous Italy
  • Great location, awesome accomodations and nice staff.
  • 100%
  • 04 Sep 2015 Rodrigo Portugal
  • What a great experience. Hostel hit the mark in every way. The staff were super friendly and knowledgeable. The location is perfect right at the start of the plateau with easy access to all the cool neighborhoods. Super clean and a a great atmosphere. Would visit again and recommend highly. Thanks La Gite!
  • 89%
  • 03 Sep 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • The staff was very helpful in recommending place to eat and facilitating our early morning departure. The patio on the rooftop was very comfortable and enjoyable place to read and rest.
  • 97%
  • 09 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Decent hostel, but not superior. Clean. Fair location (not great). When I stayed, people tended to keep to themselves. The staff was friendly, but the setup was more causal than I prefer (staffers' children playing on the terrace all afternoon, washing your own dishes at breakfast, making your own bed with provided linens, etc.). The rooms were very hot at night. Roof terrace was excellent. My 1st night, I came in late, and the bell to buzz the desk wasn't functional,so I had trouble getting in.
  • 80%
  • 30 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • My friend and I stayed here for 5 nights in August for the Osheaga music festival in Montreal. We had a good time, and the room we were given worked out fine for us. There was a single full bed, a small bathroom, a chair, a desk, a night table, and that was more-or-less it. Breakfast was from 8a-10a and included in the price as well, which I took full advantage of for 5 days. I would go back to this place if I was going back to Montreal on a budget again.
  • 86%
  • 29 Jul 2015 David USA
  • Nice and clean hostel. Easy to get to know other travelers and very helpful staff. You can walk your way to most attractions or take metro (only 5 min walk to the nearest station).
  • 97%
  • 06 Jul 2015 Niina Finland
  • This is one of the best hostels I have stayed at! All of the front desk staff that I met were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, bright and spacious, and the overall vibe was great. The hostel is in an awesome area, easily within walking distance to everything you would need.
  • 100%
  • 01 Jun 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • It would be good to have parking spots available.
  • 91%
  • 03 Apr 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • They were so nice! I was very surprised with the overall vibe and feel of this place. What a gem!
  • 91%
  • 12 Dec 2014 Jacob USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »