See other Rio de Janeiro properties

Lemon Spirit Hostel

Rua Cupertino Dur�o #56, Leblon, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, Distance from city centre: 9.5km

Rating: 84% from 20 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Love the outdoor spaces, nice clean bathrooms, friendly staff and location near the beach. Only things I could critique are lack of mugs (tried to make tea one evening with no cups to microwave), wifi is a bit spotty at times, and maybe a little upkeep- place to put toiletries in shower, my door knob kept falling off, lock to storage area under my bed was broken, etc. overall a wonderful experience!
  • 80%
  • 20 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Overall a great hostel, wifi was exceptional, rooms were cleaned and bed made every day, staff could be be more helpful and truly and great place to spend your time in rio. There few years package was excellent
  • 100%
  • 27 Dec 2013 Lauren England
  • Literally the best hostel in Rio for people willing to meet a lot of new friends, party, and visit together! People leave this hostel for some reason, but they will come back at night to party with the one who stayed! People we've met in other hostels were all jealous. Best deal ever!
  • 94%
  • 14 Dec 2013 Jonathan France
  • 1st arrived, i thought this hostel wasnt that great for the price. It's pretty much 2x price from other ones around. Walk on the beach is kinda ok. This is way cleaner. Ricardo was really awesome. that's the bigger guy. Very friendly and pretty fun person to hangout. The other skinny guy was not that friendly. Kinda rude to customers. Not very helpful. Argues with you about something he told you 3days ago. It's just not cool. Other than that, they are very nice and end up having a great time.thx
  • 86%
  • 30 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • One of the best hostel I've ever been! Fantastic staff, specially Nino! Comfortable beds, bathroom always extremely clean. The breakfast is good, except for the juice, it's not good at all!! The hostel is just one block from the best beach in rio! Just loved the place! My top 5 for sure! Highly recommended!
  • 94%
  • 26 Jul 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • Very well located and the people working there is great!!!! Easy to meet people in the bar but at the expense spending more money in drinks since even if it is a "cheap" bar it is of course much more expensive than taking your own drinks from the shop (forbidden). Also very well organized parties to go after the bar (closes at 11pm, good if you want to rest) almost every day. Lacks some facilities for the price. Really liked it and I will definitively repeat it next time. Very recommendable!!!
  • 94%
  • 09 Jul 2013 federico Argentina
  • Very nice dorms and awesome beds, many many bathrooms all perfectly cleaned throughout the day, great bar both inside and outside, nice location in Leblon, close to the beach and close to huge supermarkets. Only good things to say about this hostel ! gets quite expensive though during the week-ends but if go there during the week, prices are great value. Highly recommended !
  • 89%
  • 27 May 2013 Anonymous France
  • i liked it a lot. the staff always helped when you had questions and wanted to traved to the sights. and you meet a lot of people that share the things they have seen. the only bad thing was that it was very loud at night, due to the noise on the streets, but thats something that you have verywhere in brasil.
  • 83%
  • 22 May 2013 Kerstin Germany
  • I had a very enjoyable stay at Lemon Spirit. The staff were friendly, very helpful in providing information about the city. I was astonished at how clean the place is kept.. There is a full-time cleaning staff who are constantly scrubbing, polishing and disinfecting. The neighborhood is quiet and charming... Away from the more bustling beaches like Copacabana and Ipanema. 3 minute walk to the beach! Breakfast is good but limited in variety. Overall, I was very happy and would recommend it!
  • 91%
  • 22 Apr 2013 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »