See other Edinburgh properties

Light House Hostel

20 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 89% from 21 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I LOVE THIS HOSTEL! Seriously, the attention to comfort and detail here made it extremely hard to leave at the end of my time. Being slightly (maybe 10 min walk) off the beaten path is an asset, the neighborhood is lovely (have breakfast at the King's Pantry!). I appreciate the "shoes off" policy - this is the first hostel without a noticeable foot smell issue - this place is amazingly clean! The beds are warm and the mattress is great. The wifi works really well in common and private spaces!
  • 100%
  • 24 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Nice hostel, good location: close to the big streets, but in a quiet neighboorhood. Shop in 2 minutes walk, railway station in 20 minutes walk (or 25)
  • 80%
  • 08 Sep 2014 Anonymous Belgium
  • A+ place to stay!
  • 97%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Ricky the owner was very nice and always willing to help or answer any question.
  • 80%
  • 03 Aug 2014 Ricardo Mexico
  • Friendly staff, close to the Meadows and the University of Edinburgh, well-located right beside two good bus lines. Friendly environment and probably the cleanest hostel I have every stayed in.
  • 83%
  • 01 Aug 2014 Elizabeth USA
  • Quiet street with easy access to anywhere you want to go in Edinburgh. My first hostel experience, I really enjoyed it. Laid-back and relaxing after being out at the festivals. Bright and airy, comfortable lounge, en suite's nice, but other bathing/toilets available, too. Kitchen a little small, but definitely workable. Friendly staff.
  • 94%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • A bit far from the city centre, but you can still walk from there. Its a clean hostel with good facilities. It is the hostel with best kitchen among all palces i've stayed in this summers trip. You can easily cook anything by yourself. But they sometimes dont open the reception desk on time.
  • 77%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • We had a wonderful stay at the Lighthouse. We like the idea of taking off the shoes and wearing slippers in the house. Very clean and friendly place. Friendly staff. Good kitchen facilities and easy to walk to town from there.
  • 89%
  • 23 Jul 2014 Norbert Germany
  • Lovely place, staff very kind, clean, nice, quiet, really recommened.
  • 100%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Anonymous Costa Rica
  • Hands down, the best hostel I've ever been to. It smells nice, the staff is super friendly and the accommodations are excellent. It is about a 25-minute walk to the city center, but it is not bad at all.
  • 97%
  • 04 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

From learning the lingo to leaping out of a plane, here are 14 things you must try to make your travels unforgettable in 2015.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »