See other Edinburgh properties

Light House Hostel

20 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 89% from 24 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 79%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Really enjoyed staying here just wish it was a little closer to the old city. Also, the vibe was great, I was able to sleep at night because it never got loud and my room was next to the kitchen. Highly recommend if you don't mind walking our figuring out the bus system!
  • 77%
  • 28 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I have never stayed in a hostel where i felt so much at home the staff and Riki made me feel very welcome and very happy
  • 100%
  • 20 Nov 2014 Daniel
  • Thank you for the nice hospitality! I will recommend you to everyone I meet.
  • 94%
  • 16 Nov 2014 Robin Sweden
  • I LOVE THIS HOSTEL! Seriously, the attention to comfort and detail here made it extremely hard to leave at the end of my time. Being slightly (maybe 10 min walk) off the beaten path is an asset, the neighborhood is lovely (have breakfast at the King's Pantry!). I appreciate the "shoes off" policy - this is the first hostel without a noticeable foot smell issue - this place is amazingly clean! The beds are warm and the mattress is great. The wifi works really well in common and private spaces!
  • 100%
  • 24 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Nice hostel, good location: close to the big streets, but in a quiet neighboorhood. Shop in 2 minutes walk, railway station in 20 minutes walk (or 25)
  • 80%
  • 08 Sep 2014 Anonymous Belgium
  • A+ place to stay!
  • 97%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Ricky the owner was very nice and always willing to help or answer any question.
  • 80%
  • 03 Aug 2014 Ricardo Mexico
  • Friendly staff, close to the Meadows and the University of Edinburgh, well-located right beside two good bus lines. Friendly environment and probably the cleanest hostel I have every stayed in.
  • 83%
  • 01 Aug 2014 Elizabeth USA
  • Quiet street with easy access to anywhere you want to go in Edinburgh. My first hostel experience, I really enjoyed it. Laid-back and relaxing after being out at the festivals. Bright and airy, comfortable lounge, en suite's nice, but other bathing/toilets available, too. Kitchen a little small, but definitely workable. Friendly staff.
  • 94%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • A bit far from the city centre, but you can still walk from there. Its a clean hostel with good facilities. It is the hostel with best kitchen among all palces i've stayed in this summers trip. You can easily cook anything by yourself. But they sometimes dont open the reception desk on time.
  • 77%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Some people can take a two week holiday and spend every day relaxing at the beach. Some prefer the beach to do activities, take a jog first thing in the morning, party at night...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »