See other Budapest properties

Locomotive Light Hostel

Baross Ter 2, Budapest, Hungary, Distance from city centre: 2km

Rating: 90% from 16 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 97%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 95%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Convenience of being right outside the train station is outstanding. Makes the walk to the city center a bit longer, but it's still quite close to the Jewish Quarter, and only a 15-20 minute walk down to the Market and the Gellert Baths.
  • 89%
  • 29 May 2015 Rachel USA
  • I just finished my stay at the Locomotive Light Hostel - It's a mere minute walk from the train station in Budapest and was easily the best staff experience I've had with a hostel. It's an easy 15-20min walk into the city center, has excellent facilities including clean bathrooms, reliable wifi and a stocked kitchen. It's very small, which is very nice if you're looking for a more homey feel rather than a party hostel. All in all it was a great experience.
  • 97%
  • 14 May 2015 Brennan USA
  • Located right next to a metro station. My friend and I booked a 6 bed dorm ensuite and ended up having a huge room to ourselves for half of our stay. Very homey feel. Definitely a quiet hostel which I love when traveling. Owner was helpful with giving us information about activities and things to see. We had a great stay here.
  • 94%
  • 13 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great place to stay. Staff was amazing. I had the booking for 2 days but had to cut it down for one day and they did it without any fuss. Also, knowledgeable and friendly staff. Gave me a good run down of the city and the places to see and eat for the day and we had some good conversations.
  • 97%
  • 27 Apr 2015 Shilp India
  • I will choose it the next time I go to Budapest as well!! :)
  • 97%
  • 14 Apr 2015 Cristian-Daniel Romania
  • Got the apartment, which is separate from the main building a few blocks away. The main building can be hard to find as the sign is super small. Staff was so awesome and the bed was incredibly comfortable.
  • 89%
  • 25 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • We stayed in the Locomotive Hostel for two nights and it was great. The staff was very helpful, the hostel is done and decorated with a lot of love and the location was perfect. Close to everything but not loud. If you are looking for a great hostel for a great place, this is your hostel! :)
  • 89%
  • 20 Mar 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • My husband and I arrived in the hostel in the early morning on Feb. 20. Although we couldn't check in yet, but Sziszu, the hostel staff, was so kind that he let us take a shower before we set off the tour sight in Budapest. We were so happy for that after 15 hours flight you know.Beside this, Sziszu told us about the public transport, attractions, the timetable of international terminal as well as recommending authentic restaurants! Locomotive is clean and comfortable. I like it all!
  • 100%
  • 20 Feb 2015 Anonymous China
  • If you are looking for a good hostel close to the train station, this one is your best shot.
  • 83%
  • 19 Feb 2015 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • Nice location right to the Keletti train station. There is a real Budapest atmosphere in this hostel. Staff is really helpful and it was nice to discuss with them. I really recommend it and will go back to this hostel next time I return to Budapest.
  • 94%
  • 10 Sep 2014 Anonymous Switzerland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »