See other Reykjavik properties

Loft Hostel

Bankastraeti 7, Reykjavik, Iceland, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 90% from 17 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • great location, very clean, had a private shower and toilet in our own room
  • 100%
  • 20 Aug 2014 Joseph Canada
  • The Loft Hostel is in the middle of the city, right on one of the big (touristy) shopping streets, and only minutes from everything you could be looking for. Due to that, it can be a bit noisy at night, but within, the hostel meets every expectation one could have. Guests are a mix of college kids just looking to have fun over outdoorsy 30-somethings to 'Masters' enjoying the city's tea houses and relaxed flair, with company for everyone. Next time in Reykjavik, I'll certainly come back here!
  • 89%
  • 20 Aug 2014 Maria Germany
  • The staff is super friendly and helpful. The place is kind of expensive, but everything is in Reykjavik. And of all of the hostels I've worked in, this one was a great value for the money.
  • 80%
  • 18 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Been traveling for nearly 12mths and this is one of the best hostels iv stated in anywhere in the world. Highly recommend. The roof top bar was great, mix of locals and tourists. Great way to spend a somers late nigh in the sun. Sheets are included in price, rare for iceland. Stay here you will love it!
  • 100%
  • 13 Aug 2014 Sonia
  • i would add some bathrooms.Nice the idea of the free soap and shampoo.Breakfast is great it is worth the price , i would include it on the rate though
  • 91%
  • 03 Aug 2014 Cristina Italy
  • THE HOSTEL IS VERY CLEAN , COSY AND LOCATED DIRECTLY IN THE CITY CENTER .THE BREAKFAST IS WORTH THE EXTRA COST .
  • 100%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Cristina Italy
  • Clean and centrally located, though a little loud at night since there are a lot of bars around. I liked that the linens were included in the price and that you could get a towel for a returnable deposit. Each bed also has its own light and outlet built into the headboard, which is nice. I'd stay here again!
  • 100%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The location is fantastic! The only negatives are the breakfast and some staff. The spread of bagels is not worth what they charge (coffee is awesome though). You are better off buying breakfast food at the grocery store. Most staff members were awesome, friendly, and very helpful. However, the red haired front desk agent woman was completely rude. I am talking in the sense that she made me feel soo uncomfortable that I do not recommend the place. Stay at hotel instead if staff is unprofessional
  • 66%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Natalie USA
  • Ask for a room facing AWAY from Bankastreti.Noise from drunks & music was was so loud until 5am on weekend - with earplugs!You can't check in until 2pm.Even if your bed is ready.This is so inconvenient to us as guests! You have to make your own bed & remove own sheets!Cost of bed and the price of breakfast is poor quality for money. Too expensive! No laundry service anywhere in the city center! Staff directed me to Laundromat Cafe which is a joke:2 washers &2dryers! No help.Staff was pretentious
  • 60%
  • 20 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The location is absolutely unbeatable and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The balcony bar is a great place for meeting locals who are happy to show you the town!
  • 100%
  • 09 May 2014 Adam USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »