See other San Diego properties

Lucky D's

615 8th Avenue, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 81% from 23 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Met loads of people. The two English lads who did the brewery tour were great & a big help
  • 80%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Michael England
  • The stiff is very very bad, i will never go back to this hotell
  • 20%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Abdullah Saudi Arabia
  • This is probably one of the best hostels in San Diego. They organise events for every night, provide breakfast every day and evening meals three times a week, you can get cheap tickets to the zoo and all sorts of other things. There is a great atmosphere there and I met some awesome people. Two minor problems - the wifi often didnt work, and sometimes while I was there there were roadworks happening outside in the morning. But a fantastic place to stay!
  • 89%
  • 24 Jun 2014 Evie England
  • The "Lucky D's" hostel is perhaps one of the best hostels in San Diego. The location is excellent, and the environment is very friendly. The hostel provides FREE breakfast and wifi. The rooms are okay; however, it can get a bit noisy if you are staying near the street side. One of the drawback is that the hostel charges a $3-5 fee if you plan to pay by debit/credit card. Other than this issue, the hostel is excellent and would recommend it to anyone visiting San Diego.
  • 91%
  • 27 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Big hostel with friendly and helpful staff- the private room was nice with a comfy bed! There are not enough toilets/showers given the amount of guests they have, this is the only real let down for me. There are two showers and toilets per floor with about 15 rooms, so forget getting a shower in the mornings and prepare to queue for the loo! Having said that I'd definitely come back here as everything else about the place is great.
  • 86%
  • 23 Apr 2014 Anonymous England
  • Bedding was poor at best, needs new sheets, blankets and pillows. Bathroom was ok but could have used a cleaning.
  • 63%
  • 22 Apr 2014 Daniel USA
  • The staff is good, and the atmosphere is awesome, a lots interesting people there. Easy to get to downtown. They have free breakfast and free dinner on Tuesday night. I will choose it again if I have chance go to San Diego. BTW, San Diego is my favorite city in America!!!!!!!!
  • 83%
  • 21 Apr 2014 Anonymous China
  • Loved it!
  • 100%
  • 17 Feb 2014 Madeleine Germany
  • I was happy to leave that place. Halls are very unpleasant: strange old pictures, shabby dirty wallpapers... And during hole my staing is was some kind of disgusting smell on 3th floor
  • 71%
  • 22 Jan 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • Good, fun hostel, at a good location. Staff is very friendly. Lots of great programs are organized by the hostel.
  • 97%
  • 15 Jan 2014 Anonymous Hungary
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Christmas doesn't get much better than wandering around a snow-coated market with a hot mulled wine in hand. The smell of roasted chestnuts and the twinkling lights will put even a Grinch into the Christmas spirit.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »