See other San Diego properties

Lucky D's

615 8th Avenue, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 79% from 24 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 79%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • IT WAS JUST TOO NOISY. THEY PLAYED THE RADIO ALL DAY AND EVENING AND YOU COULD HEAR IT EVERY WHERE. VERY ANNOYING. THE TV ROOM WAS TOO LOUD AND DID NOT HAVE A DOOR TO MINIMIZE THE NOISE. MYROOM WAS RIGHT ACROSS FROM IT. QUIET TIME DID NOT APPLY TO TV ROOM SO IT OFTEN PLAYED AFTER MIDNIGHT OR LATER. FAILURE TO OBSERVE QUIET TIME. TOO MUCH LOUD TALKING IN THE HALL WAY. IT WAS COLD IN THE MORNINGS NO HEAT. BREAKFAST VERY MINIMAL. DINNERS SO SO SHOWERS NEEDED PLACE TO PUT SOAP,
  • 60%
  • 03 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I was originally staying for 3 nights but had to change it to 4 because I was loving it so much in this hostel. The staff were great, Michael's tour of the microbreweries was great fun, Ava made awesome waffle mix and David was an all round friendly guy. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, the kitchen had plenty of facilities and the location is perfect as it is right in the heart of Gaslamp. All in all can't beat this place for value and atmosphere.
  • 100%
  • 20 Nov 2014 Nicholas Australia
  • Location is ok--The building, despite and because of it's age, has many issues--mostly handled by the staff on a daily basis but noticeable to guests as well (Including renovations/rebuilds happening at various hours). It is a party hostel, so sleep or rest is often not the aim nor is it even possible within the space. The common room is soaked in beer and various other odors, and the pace needs a bug scrub out. Focuses on the young-that said, it is equal to the value spent on it per night.
  • 57%
  • 17 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Nice place, nice atmosphere. Location is just perfect. Good breakfast and diner menus. Great zoo tour with Mikael!!! The staff was very nice and helpful (Mikael, Ana, Gregory....)
  • 83%
  • 16 Nov 2014 Anonymous France
  • Met loads of people. The two English lads who did the brewery tour were great & a big help
  • 80%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Michael England
  • The stiff is very very bad, i will never go back to this hotell
  • 20%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Abdullah Saudi Arabia
  • This is probably one of the best hostels in San Diego. They organise events for every night, provide breakfast every day and evening meals three times a week, you can get cheap tickets to the zoo and all sorts of other things. There is a great atmosphere there and I met some awesome people. Two minor problems - the wifi often didnt work, and sometimes while I was there there were roadworks happening outside in the morning. But a fantastic place to stay!
  • 89%
  • 24 Jun 2014 Evie England
  • The "Lucky D's" hostel is perhaps one of the best hostels in San Diego. The location is excellent, and the environment is very friendly. The hostel provides FREE breakfast and wifi. The rooms are okay; however, it can get a bit noisy if you are staying near the street side. One of the drawback is that the hostel charges a $3-5 fee if you plan to pay by debit/credit card. Other than this issue, the hostel is excellent and would recommend it to anyone visiting San Diego.
  • 91%
  • 27 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Big hostel with friendly and helpful staff- the private room was nice with a comfy bed! There are not enough toilets/showers given the amount of guests they have, this is the only real let down for me. There are two showers and toilets per floor with about 15 rooms, so forget getting a shower in the mornings and prepare to queue for the loo! Having said that I'd definitely come back here as everything else about the place is great.
  • 86%
  • 23 Apr 2014 Anonymous England
  • Bedding was poor at best, needs new sheets, blankets and pillows. Bathroom was ok but could have used a cleaning.
  • 63%
  • 22 Apr 2014 Daniel USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »