See other San Diego properties

Lucky D's

615 8th Avenue, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 81% from 31 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Big hostel with friendly and helpful staff- the private room was nice with a comfy bed! There are not enough toilets/showers given the amount of guests they have, this is the only real let down for me. There are two showers and toilets per floor with about 15 rooms, so forget getting a shower in the mornings and prepare to queue for the loo! Having said that I'd definitely come back here as everything else about the place is great.
  • 86%
  • 23 Apr 2014 Anonymous England
  • Bedding was poor at best, needs new sheets, blankets and pillows. Bathroom was ok but could have used a cleaning.
  • 63%
  • 22 Apr 2014 Daniel USA
  • The staff is good, and the atmosphere is awesome, a lots interesting people there. Easy to get to downtown. They have free breakfast and free dinner on Tuesday night. I will choose it again if I have chance go to San Diego. BTW, San Diego is my favorite city in America!!!!!!!!
  • 83%
  • 21 Apr 2014 Anonymous China
  • Loved it!
  • 100%
  • 17 Feb 2014 Madeleine Germany
  • I was happy to leave that place. Halls are very unpleasant: strange old pictures, shabby dirty wallpapers... And during hole my staing is was some kind of disgusting smell on 3th floor
  • 71%
  • 22 Jan 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • Good, fun hostel, at a good location. Staff is very friendly. Lots of great programs are organized by the hostel.
  • 97%
  • 15 Jan 2014 Anonymous Hungary
  • The hostel is located in the heart of Downtown San Diego, right in the Gaslamp Quarter, a short walk to Petco Park, full of bars close by, there's a supermarket a couple blocks east and public transportation is easily accessible, 10 minutes to major bus lines and less than 30 minutes until the trolley station. The breakfast was ok at best, but every corner, from the bedrooms to the computer room, the kitchen and the bathrooms were all clean. There's a cozy common room where all the guests meet.
  • 86%
  • 18 Dec 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • My stay was awesome! I stayed at luckyDs on Thanksgiving and they served a delicious turkey dinner. In general everything perfect. I liked lucky d's a lot. It's a fun hostel with a nice variation of dinners throughout the week. The staff was awesome, especially Marie, Marco, Jackie, Stefano and Michael. Housekeeping did a great job to keep everything clean.
  • 83%
  • 25 Nov 2013 Anonymous England
  • Good Hostel to stay. Good conditions on the rooms, some of them have lockers. Stay away from the room next to the kitchen, too much noise, even during the night by the ventilation.
  • 83%
  • 12 Nov 2013 Hernâni Portugal
  • bed not very comfortable but otherwise a nice stay.
  • 91%
  • 05 Nov 2013 Anonymous England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »