See other San Diego properties

Lucky D's

615 8th Avenue, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 79% from 20 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 79%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very fun atmosphere makes the hostel definitely worth staying in! I am from the east coast but there was a huge international / young crowd. If you are looking for a fun place to meet people this is definitely it. They do great events throughout the week too including free dinner. Would definitely go back next time I visit San Diego,
  • 86%
  • 20 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I didn't spend much time there, but had a good time, met 2 very nice girls from Austria and everyone at the desk was nice I enjoyed a lot
  • 83%
  • 10 Jul 2015 Aline Brazil
  • I had a great time :)
  • 83%
  • 03 Jul 2015 andrea USA
  • Place is nice overall, yet could not meet my expectations on cleanliness and comfort. Maybe I was spoiled by top-notch hostels of European continent, or just encountered a bit of unluck during my stay time. I have no doubt there is plenty of room for improvement at kitchen and TV room areas.
  • 77%
  • 02 May 2015 Anonymous Belarus
  • Free breakfast was awesome, as were the free dinner nights. Cool atmosphere,
  • 89%
  • 12 Feb 2015 Victor USA
  • I love this hostel, the location is perfect, the hostel it's clean and secure. The only bad thing is find a parking spot.
  • 100%
  • 06 Feb 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • IT WAS JUST TOO NOISY. THEY PLAYED THE RADIO ALL DAY AND EVENING AND YOU COULD HEAR IT EVERY WHERE. VERY ANNOYING. THE TV ROOM WAS TOO LOUD AND DID NOT HAVE A DOOR TO MINIMIZE THE NOISE. MYROOM WAS RIGHT ACROSS FROM IT. QUIET TIME DID NOT APPLY TO TV ROOM SO IT OFTEN PLAYED AFTER MIDNIGHT OR LATER. FAILURE TO OBSERVE QUIET TIME. TOO MUCH LOUD TALKING IN THE HALL WAY. IT WAS COLD IN THE MORNINGS NO HEAT. BREAKFAST VERY MINIMAL. DINNERS SO SO SHOWERS NEEDED PLACE TO PUT SOAP,
  • 60%
  • 03 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I was originally staying for 3 nights but had to change it to 4 because I was loving it so much in this hostel. The staff were great, Michael's tour of the microbreweries was great fun, Ava made awesome waffle mix and David was an all round friendly guy. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, the kitchen had plenty of facilities and the location is perfect as it is right in the heart of Gaslamp. All in all can't beat this place for value and atmosphere.
  • 100%
  • 20 Nov 2014 Nicholas Australia
  • Location is ok--The building, despite and because of it's age, has many issues--mostly handled by the staff on a daily basis but noticeable to guests as well (Including renovations/rebuilds happening at various hours). It is a party hostel, so sleep or rest is often not the aim nor is it even possible within the space. The common room is soaked in beer and various other odors, and the pace needs a bug scrub out. Focuses on the young-that said, it is equal to the value spent on it per night.
  • 57%
  • 17 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Nice place, nice atmosphere. Location is just perfect. Good breakfast and diner menus. Great zoo tour with Mikael!!! The staff was very nice and helpful (Mikael, Ana, Gregory....)
  • 83%
  • 16 Nov 2014 Anonymous France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »