See other San Diego properties

Lucky D's

615 8th Avenue, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 81% from 40 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Loved it!
  • 100%
  • 17 Feb 2014 Madeleine Germany
  • I was happy to leave that place. Halls are very unpleasant: strange old pictures, shabby dirty wallpapers... And during hole my staing is was some kind of disgusting smell on 3th floor
  • 71%
  • 22 Jan 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • Good, fun hostel, at a good location. Staff is very friendly. Lots of great programs are organized by the hostel.
  • 97%
  • 15 Jan 2014 Anonymous Hungary
  • The hostel is located in the heart of Downtown San Diego, right in the Gaslamp Quarter, a short walk to Petco Park, full of bars close by, there's a supermarket a couple blocks east and public transportation is easily accessible, 10 minutes to major bus lines and less than 30 minutes until the trolley station. The breakfast was ok at best, but every corner, from the bedrooms to the computer room, the kitchen and the bathrooms were all clean. There's a cozy common room where all the guests meet.
  • 86%
  • 18 Dec 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • My stay was awesome! I stayed at luckyDs on Thanksgiving and they served a delicious turkey dinner. In general everything perfect. I liked lucky d's a lot. It's a fun hostel with a nice variation of dinners throughout the week. The staff was awesome, especially Marie, Marco, Jackie, Stefano and Michael. Housekeeping did a great job to keep everything clean.
  • 83%
  • 25 Nov 2013 Anonymous England
  • Good Hostel to stay. Good conditions on the rooms, some of them have lockers. Stay away from the room next to the kitchen, too much noise, even during the night by the ventilation.
  • 83%
  • 12 Nov 2013 Hernâni Portugal
  • bed not very comfortable but otherwise a nice stay.
  • 91%
  • 05 Nov 2013 Anonymous England
  • Amazing hostel. So much free stuff. Breakfast, dinners, Wi-Fi, bar crawls, staff made me feel like I was part of the family. dorms only have 4 people in them so you don't have to worry about sharing with 10 people or more like other hostels. All the art around the place and the people I met made this one of the best places I have ever stayed. Can't wait to go back.
  • 100%
  • 04 Oct 2013 Bob England
  • It will be better it you have charger near each bed.
  • 77%
  • 26 Sep 2013 Anonymous China
  • Simply an awsome place. From the second I walked in I felt the amazing vibe, this place simply looks and feels awsome. Staff are always willing to help and are very smiling, they also plan in a daily basis activiies and "going out" for everybody is n the hostel. People are always smiling around this place and its very easy to meat new people. The place is always clean, kitchen is great also... Its located just a minute from the core of the night life in downtown. Overall I had a very good time
  • 97%
  • 07 Sep 2013 Anonymous Israel
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »