See other San Diego properties

Lucky D's

615 8th Avenue, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 85% from 20 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Unfortunately I forgot my glasses in the shower. I asked the stuff but nobody delivered it =(.
  • 77%
  • 07 Jan 2016 Lynn Germany
  • It's quite noisy at night due to people's noises in the pub downstairs. Apart from this, it's a good place to stay given the price and location.
  • 77%
  • 01 Jan 2016 Jing Canada
  • Lucky D's is a comfortable and inviting hostel. The owners & staff are kind, helpful, and understanding. There's people from all walks of life coming, going, and traveling throughout the day, so it's a good vibe. There's a nice big spacios community kitchen that has just about everything you need to make a nice home cooked meal.They do provide free breakfast daily & dinners on ocassion. Overall it was a positive experience. I would definately recommend this hostel to future travelers.
  • 97%
  • 06 Dec 2015 Sylvia
  • Great hostel. Pretty good breakfast including some amazing pancakes made by the owner.
  • 91%
  • 19 Nov 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • This place was great!
  • 100%
  • 18 Nov 2015 Erin USA
  • We stayed there for five nights over Halloween and we're really happy with everything. The staff had things planned almost every night which was fun and it was really nice with waffles Friday-Sunday!
  • 89%
  • 28 Oct 2015 Anna
  • Is a hostel for young people, the location is good but is besides a pub and during the night you can heard the music.
  • 77%
  • 19 Sep 2015 Mariela Argentina
  • There is no air condition in the hostel so it'should hot like in hell but except from this I can"tell complain about anything.
  • 91%
  • 29 Aug 2015 Monika Poland
  • Roommates need to have more respect for their fellow roommates. I came back to my room after dinner one night, the room was empty and the door was left wide open.
  • 80%
  • 21 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I had a great stay at Lucky D's in San Diego. The hostel was perfect for my needs and budget. I noticed, though, that some rooms had bars in front of the windows for guests to air-dry their wet belongings, but my room didn't. It would have been a nice addition. The staff was very friendly in allowing me to store my belongings in the storage room prior to my room being ready and during the time between my check-out and departing flight. I would recommend and return in the future.
  • 97%
  • 13 Aug 2015 Rory USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

During the summer the city of Dublin becomes a different place. Gone are the endless days of wind and rain as the warm weather brings picnics in the park, drinks by the canal, b...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »