See other San Diego properties

Lucky D's

615 8th Avenue, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 81% from 15 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Location is good, however it's impossible to go to sleep before 2am because of the bar below. 24 hour front desk is really good, but I guess that is why the staff looks sometimes half asleep. Our room was nice and spacy. One thing I mind a lot is the smelly carpet in the hallway. It hits you right when you enter the hostel.
    Owner Comment

    Unfortunately the downside of our central city location is that it is noisy. The bar tries to apologize with cheap drinks on presentation of your room key and we try to help with our free earplugs. Hopefully you joined us on one of our nightly events and were able to enjoy the benefits of staying in downtown San Diego. Thanks, Michelle

  • 66%
  • 01 Jul 2016 Anonymous
  • The hostel is located in a very convenient area which is very close to the gaslamp quarter. Several bars and pubs can be found nearby so we can easily get some drinks. The staff members are so friendly and they let me check-in earlier than the stated time which really helps a lot especially I am so tired after the long bus ride. The atmosphere is so great as well plus the breakfast provided is really great. I would esp recommend the pancake! I really enjoy my stay there :)
    Owner Comment

    It was really great to meet you and have you hang out with us. We try and be as accommodating as possible, so I am happy we were able to put you into your room earlier. Pancake breakfasts are always a hit, as are the free dinners!! Come back soon!! Rinee

  • 94%
  • 05 May 2016 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Unfortunately I forgot my glasses in the shower. I asked the stuff but nobody delivered it =(.
    Owner Comment

    I'm sorry you lost your glasses and they were not handed in. I hope this didn't put too much of a damper on your stay. All the best. Rinee

  • 77%
  • 07 Jan 2016 Lynn Germany
  • It's quite noisy at night due to people's noises in the pub downstairs. Apart from this, it's a good place to stay given the price and location.
    Owner Comment

    Bootleggers downstairs can get a little noisy during weekends, but they offer all guests a special discount at the bar and we have earplugs for all guests to help you have a good nights rest. I am happy you enjoyed your stay. It was nice meeting you, Rinee

  • 77%
  • 01 Jan 2016 Jing Canada
  • Lucky D's is a comfortable and inviting hostel. The owners & staff are kind, helpful, and understanding. There's people from all walks of life coming, going, and traveling throughout the day, so it's a good vibe. There's a nice big spacios community kitchen that has just about everything you need to make a nice home cooked meal.They do provide free breakfast daily & dinners on ocassion. Overall it was a positive experience. I would definately recommend this hostel to future travelers.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for the amazing review! We try hard to make the hostel a home away from home. A safe, social and comfortable place for people to make new friends and see all the sights of San Diego. I'm happy you were able to enjoy some of our yummy free dinners. We loved meeting you and hope you can come back soon!! Rinee

  • 97%
  • 06 Dec 2015 Sylvia
  • Great hostel. Pretty good breakfast including some amazing pancakes made by the owner.
    Owner Comment

    It was nice to meet you and I'm glad you made the most of our popular pancake breakfast. Come back soon!! Rinee

  • 91%
  • 19 Nov 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • This place was great!
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for the 5* review!!

  • 100%
  • 18 Nov 2015 Erin USA
  • We stayed there for five nights over Halloween and we're really happy with everything. The staff had things planned almost every night which was fun and it was really nice with waffles Friday-Sunday!
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It's great to see you enjoyed all the fun activities we had going on over Halloween, it was a blast. Nice to meet you. Rinee

  • 89%
  • 28 Oct 2015 Anna
  • Is a hostel for young people, the location is good but is besides a pub and during the night you can heard the music.
    Owner Comment

    Hi, we have guests of all ages pass through the doors, but the majority is younger which is great given our central location to all the popular restaurants and bars. We offer earplugs to all guests to help you have a quiet nights sleep. Rinee

  • 77%
  • 19 Sep 2015 Mariela Argentina
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There are so many areas in London waiting to be explored. One of the best parts is that many people don't bother looking for the quirky places that you don't often hear about. ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »