See other San Diego properties

Lucky D's

615 8th Avenue, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 81% from 40 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great atmosphere and perfect location. staff was very kind and nice, especially Jacky in the kitchen. but sometimes the staff behind the reception seemed to be a bit slow (or hungover) and it was a bit painful to wait in line for a quick info and a bit hard to talk to some of them... however I liked the daily events and all the free stuff. One of the best hostels I stayed in!
  • 91%
  • 05 Sep 2013 Sascha Germany
  • lucky ds hostel was horrible. they charged me twice due to a staff's mistake and they didn't pay the transaction fee back to me saying that is not their fault but my fault. and the staff on the reception desk was drunk. so because of the arguing and the drunk staff our checking is took over an hour!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and we went to bed after 1am!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! it was terrible terrible experience. they were so irresponsible and unkind staffs. and it was freaking noisy outside
  • 20%
  • 15 Aug 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • Someone in my party left their laptop behind in the room, when we called to ask if they found it they told us they couldnt find it in the room. But when we went back to the hostel, the other girls staying in our room told us that they gave it to the front desk. When we all went to the front desk, the manager said he had "mistaken" us and went to the back room. He came back two minutes later with our laptop. We later opened the laptop and found out it has been formatted, by the staff.
  • 43%
  • 21 Jul 2013 Ipek Turkey
  • The first night we had to stay in the staffs room. The worst part about the stay was afterward left. I knew I had forgot my computer in the locker in our room. I also knew that the nice girls staying there didn't steel it, but when I phoned the hostel the staff told me It wasn't there. And that I must have taken it with me. We didn't believe them and drove from LA. I turned out our room mates gave it to the man we talked to the day before. The staff probably stole it. That the only explanation
  • 49%
  • 20 Jul 2013 Emelie Sweden
  • Breakfast everyday, helpful staff, bed to sleep during comic con, only thing that sucked is waiting for the bathroom and for showers.
  • 74%
  • 17 Jul 2013 Anonymous Philippines
  • Once you get upstairs, it's very clean and well managed. The staff is friendly and the kitchen area is very nice and well maintained. I think it' may be time to replace or clean the carpet on the entry stairs though, especially as a first impression.
  • 94%
  • 09 Jul 2013 Rhea USA
  • My friends and I had a great time staying at Lucky D's! We loved the art on the walls, and the awesome music selection always playing throughout the halls. The beds were comfortable, and the stay here was well worth the price. We met so many cool people at Lucky D's! Thanks for a great time and an amazing experience. :) Much love from a few broke college kids who like traveling.
  • 83%
  • 02 Jul 2013 Marilyn USA
  • The staff was great and it was an authentic hostel, but veeeery loud and I didn't notice staff/other guests making an effort to follow the quiet times at all. Beer pong tournament instead..
  • 77%
  • 26 May 2013 Anonymous Finland
  • There is just one word to say about this hostel : awesome!
  • 97%
  • 21 May 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • Wonderful hostel, the building itself is gorgeous and the 4 bed dorms feel cosy and private. It's right at the center of downtown and the staff are all mad to show you a good time. The free breakfasts are the best I've had at a hostel, seriously enamoured with the d.i.y waffles! If you are travelling through San Diego Lucky D's is a great place to start and orientate yourself, I loved it!
  • 100%
  • 15 May 2013 Anonymous Ireland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »