See other Rome properties

M&J Hostel

Via Solferino 9, Rome, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 74% from 30 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 69%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel was alright. The beds need new mattresses and ladders. The water pressure in the shower sucks. The lounge is more for wifi than meeting people. It's close to everything and for the things that aren't close by. Overall the hostel was alright not the greatest but definitely not the worst.
  • 71%
  • 15 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The rooms are clean, the crew is nice and the location is o.k (next to termini station) but there is a funny smell in the rooms, you don't get a real pillow (the worst one I ever saw..) the blanket is too short to cover your entire body, the first day I had NO water at the shower (I don't mean no hot water, I mean literally no water) the front desk gave me a key to an other shower which was one floor down, there is wi-fi only at the front desk, no breakfast (you pay 3 euro for a croissant caffe
  • 60%
  • 14 Apr 2014 Bar Israel
  • I left this hostel a night early. The bathroom smelled like mold or pungent weed, the shower stopped running when turned to an acceptable temperature, my top bunk had no wall or railing, there is no wifi in the bedrooms, the common room doesn't have enough space and everyone uses it for the wifi, and there are no lockers in the room. The manager would not compromise with me on compensation for leaving a night early. Hard to find a cheap hostel in Rome, but I would not recommend this one.
  • 40%
  • 13 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Stayed 3 nights and it was an OK experience. The good: nice staff, clean rooms, bathrooms and kitchen, good location. The bad: expect to run out of hot water quickly, dorm rooms directly above very loud bar downstairs and next to busy Roman street, lounge too small and uncomfortable for the amount of beds they've got, stove starts working after 3PM which makes no sense. It's a cheap bed but not really a home away from home for the weary traveller so I'd give it 3 stars.
  • 74%
  • 06 Apr 2014 Anonymous Slovenia
  • Big problem with WI FI !!!!!! Ver very bed locatio...
  • 20%
  • 06 Apr 2014 VILIUS Lithuania
  • Nice staff and location! Great place for the money :)
  • 74%
  • 30 Jan 2014 Anonymous Denmark
  • The Staff are bit sensitive, if you say no to their tour offers then prepare to hear sme weird comments. The check-in time does not guarantee the tme you would get your room. No WI-FI in the room, but the waiting room has been dedicated for it. Be protective of ur belonging, if u share with strangers. Pros: its cheap, near to station, the staff creates perfect itinerary for u (for free), super market near by, kitchen for cooking. If u dnt have ny gadget,the hstel has provided two pc for ur use.
  • 94%
  • 20 Dec 2013 Anonymous India
  • My stay was very enjoyable. The staff were welcoming and helpful and the free walking tours with Roberto were fantastic! Such a great way to meet other people from the hostel, learn about Rome and save money. Roberto was a fantastic tour guide. I am returning to M & J before I leave Italy and would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a hostel in Rome.
  • 97%
  • 30 Oct 2013 Anonymous Australia
  • Large, well organized hostel. Shower’s annoyingly have no hooks for cloths or towel and for some strange reason, the kitchen cannot be used for breakfast or lunch-time.
  • 86%
  • 03 Sep 2013 Anonymous USA
  • great location
  • 100%
  • 20 Aug 2013 Anonymous Egypt
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »