See other Rome properties

M&J Hostel

Via Solferino 9, Rome, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 76% from 28 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 74%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Stayed 3 nights and it was an OK experience. The good: nice staff, clean rooms, bathrooms and kitchen, good location. The bad: expect to run out of hot water quickly, dorm rooms directly above very loud bar downstairs and next to busy Roman street, lounge too small and uncomfortable for the amount of beds they've got, stove starts working after 3PM which makes no sense. It's a cheap bed but not really a home away from home for the weary traveller so I'd give it 3 stars.
  • 74%
  • 06 Apr 2014 Anonymous Slovenia
  • Big problem with WI FI !!!!!! Ver very bed locatio...
  • 20%
  • 06 Apr 2014 VILIUS Lithuania
  • Nice staff and location! Great place for the money :)
  • 74%
  • 30 Jan 2014 Anonymous Denmark
  • The Staff are bit sensitive, if you say no to their tour offers then prepare to hear sme weird comments. The check-in time does not guarantee the tme you would get your room. No WI-FI in the room, but the waiting room has been dedicated for it. Be protective of ur belonging, if u share with strangers. Pros: its cheap, near to station, the staff creates perfect itinerary for u (for free), super market near by, kitchen for cooking. If u dnt have ny gadget,the hstel has provided two pc for ur use.
  • 94%
  • 20 Dec 2013 Anonymous India
  • My stay was very enjoyable. The staff were welcoming and helpful and the free walking tours with Roberto were fantastic! Such a great way to meet other people from the hostel, learn about Rome and save money. Roberto was a fantastic tour guide. I am returning to M & J before I leave Italy and would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a hostel in Rome.
  • 97%
  • 30 Oct 2013 Anonymous Australia
  • Large, well organized hostel. Shower’s annoyingly have no hooks for cloths or towel and for some strange reason, the kitchen cannot be used for breakfast or lunch-time.
  • 86%
  • 03 Sep 2013 Anonymous USA
  • great location
  • 100%
  • 20 Aug 2013 Anonymous Egypt
  • la atencion es muy buena, es facil llegar porque queda a una sola cuadra de termini!! el unico problema que tuvimos fue que hacia muchoooooo calor y no se podia dormir de noche. En nuestra habitacion no habia ni ventilador ni aire acondicionado, solo una ventana chica. Ademas internet solo funciona en el lobby.
  • 69%
  • 26 Jul 2013 Anonymous Argentina
  • Very friendly and helpfull employees with usefull knowledge about Rome. Their english was very good - thanks. Nice international atmosphere with lots of young people from all over. A place we enjoyed and at once felt at home and welcome at. One thing, they could improve is to give a real receipt and not just at note with a sign saying 'Paid'. Also the kitchen was a bit small, but nice with a kitchen. Below about group and age: we travelled me (mother, age 47) and my two sons, age 16 and 19.
  • 89%
  • 09 Jul 2013 Karin Denmark
  • This is place is convenient, and staff are friendly. When I got there, somehow my reservation did not get through, but the staff helped me to check in. They did not take credit card but only take cash, it was a little surprise. Istayed there for 3 days. Overall it was a pleasent experience.
  • 86%
  • 04 Jul 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »