See other Amsterdam properties

MEININGER Amsterdam City West

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 4.3km

Rating: 82% from 26 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 66%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • so far from city center but i could go to city center directly by no.48 bus or no.12 tram. and it took just 20min. that was not the bad. hotel was quite enough to get rest and chill! but there was no supermarket around hotel...
  • 71%
  • 24 Feb 2015 SUN JU South Korea
  • Brilliant location, one minute walk from Sloterdijk station which is a quick trip on sprinter train to Amsterdam Central one station away. Reception staff were excellent. Housekeeping was terrible. Did not provide new toilet paper, provided a hand towel only instead of a proper bath towel. The lifts are horrendously slow. I nearly missed my train to Berlin because I had to wait 12 minutes for a lift to stop on my floor.
  • 66%
  • 29 Jan 2015 Kellie Australia
  • This is much more that one could expect from a hostel! There's always a good atmosphere (discrete but warm) and the staff kindly gives you all the information you need about transport and tourist questions. Despite you cannot walk anywhere, there is a big hub for buses right 150m from the building and you can easily reach the city center in around 15 minutes - also by night bus. The rooms are clean and the use of the common kitchen is very practical to make your own dishes.
  • 86%
  • 09 Jan 2015 Anonymous Italy
  • Dont relay on Wifi hotspot. A very good hotel/hostel with nice and fresh looking rooms
  • 91%
  • 29 Dec 2014 Anonymous Norway
  • Bad reception and quite rude staff... The atmosphere in the hostel is quite cold. We were expecting much more from what we saw online. I was happy to see fresh towels on my bed when I arrived but one of them turned to have a gross brown smudge that gave the impression of a non-clean furniture... Not super practical also to be able to have light only if a card is plugged in...
  • 60%
  • 29 Nov 2014 Anonymous France
  • Perfect just not the best location but apart from that spot on!
  • 94%
  • 10 Nov 2014 adam
  • Much more like a hotel than a hostel. Beds and rooms are therefore very comfortable, but it isn't as easy to make new friends in the cafeteria common room. Be warned: this place takes large bookings from annoying school groups. Hostel is also in an awkward spot outside the city centre, though a short train ride into Centraal.
  • 83%
  • 08 Sep 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • When booking this I did not realize how far away from Central Station it was. We had to take a 30 minute bus ride every time we wanted some groceries or a bite to eat (the hotel is in the middle of nowhere). We couldn't even rent bikes because it was too far of a bike ride to go anywhere. If I stayed in Amsterdam again I would definitely pick something closer to the Central Station, as we saw a ton of hotels and hostels in that area. On the plus side, it was nice for how cheap a dorm bed was.
  • 71%
  • 03 May 2014 Robyn Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Travelling alone can be a wonderful experience for solo female travellers. Here are our top tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »