See other Amsterdam properties

MEININGER Amsterdam City West

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 4.3km

Rating: 86% from 24 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 71%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 92%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Much more like a hotel than a hostel. Beds and rooms are therefore very comfortable, but it isn't as easy to make new friends in the cafeteria common room. Be warned: this place takes large bookings from annoying school groups. Hostel is also in an awkward spot outside the city centre, though a short train ride into Centraal.
  • 83%
  • 08 Sep 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • When booking this I did not realize how far away from Central Station it was. We had to take a 30 minute bus ride every time we wanted some groceries or a bite to eat (the hotel is in the middle of nowhere). We couldn't even rent bikes because it was too far of a bike ride to go anywhere. If I stayed in Amsterdam again I would definitely pick something closer to the Central Station, as we saw a ton of hotels and hostels in that area. On the plus side, it was nice for how cheap a dorm bed was.
  • 71%
  • 03 May 2014 Robyn Canada
  • Awesome hostel. Really good location an great staff. Sara made my say so worthwhile. Can't recommend this place highly enough if you are staying in rotterdam.
  • 100%
  • 03 Feb 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • very clean, very nice.. this would be our choice of hotel in amsterdam but we were slightly bothered by the hassle of using trains to get to the hotel from the city center. It was also weird that you had no places to smoke weed in the hotel itself, nor directly outside in the hotel vicinity, as it was forbidden for some reason. So, a very good hotel, with the aforementioned two small minuses.
  • 74%
  • 01 Feb 2014 pyry Finland
  • Thank you so much yes Lisbon for warm welcoming, amazing free break fast, nice staffs, good location not far from the station, atmosphere of the room, super working wifiand very useful free walking guide with a superwoman in the morning :) I can't believe this price for all that I've mentioned. I really recommend this hostel for anyone visiting Lisbon !!
  • 100%
  • 28 Jan 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • The best hostel I've lived. You spend only 13 euro, but you'll get the service and quality in the hotel.
  • 89%
  • 14 Jan 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
  • The attendant Luis was very professional, both in attendance and in the information provided.
  • 100%
  • 14 Oct 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • Facilities are good and rooms are tidy. However, the hostel is too far from city central, and one of the staff well she was kind, but she didn't pay any attention to me. I had to go to reception several times to talk about same matters. In the end, I had to find other staff to solve the problem.
  • 74%
  • 06 Oct 2013 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »