See other Cologne properties

MEININGER Cologne City Center

Engelbertstrasse 33-35, Cologne, Germany, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 81% from 22 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Meininger was a very clean and comfortable hostel, and it was affordable at 15 Euro a night. My room, a shared dorm, and the other rooms were all nicely kept. The reception is 24 hours and very helpful. My only thing is that although it's listed as being in the city center it's actually about a 30 minute walk to the Cathedral. So it's more central-ish. But the tram is a 3 min walk from the hostel and takes you right there so it is still a pretty good location.
  • 97%
  • 14 Dec 2014 Ashley USA
  • The staff was exceptional and very helpful The room was a bit too small to accommodate five people.Especially the part where it only had one power socket.
  • 89%
  • 09 Oct 2014 Anonymous Israel
  • It was very comfortable, it is close to all the nightlife, within walking distance of the most crowded places, we didnt have to use public transport. We stayed in a 8 people mixed dorm an we got to know a few people.
  • 91%
  • 08 Oct 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • Great team. Worm hospitality !! The rooms are small and simple but clean And good anough.
  • 100%
  • 10 Aug 2014 ilan Israel
  • The room was spacious, nicely decorated and equipped. It got very warm while we stayed, so we had to open the "emergency exit" door on to the balcony which frankly i feel should be open to the guests as long as they keep quiet. i know we weren't the only guests to do this with the window being blocked by a bed. Shower is great, wifi was not so great. receptionist nearly overcharged us however she did fix this and was pleasant. Kitchen is very poorly equipped! over all good value for money!
  • 74%
  • 02 Aug 2014 Beth Northern Ireland
  • There was nothing special about the hostel. it was okay. It wasn't the best hostel that I have ever stayed at. One thing, the elevator was broken. it was sort of uncomfortable to use. That's all.
  • 74%
  • 05 Jul 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • This is a pretty nice place to stay. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast buffet option is decent, especially if you're on a traveler's budget. Negative things: our bathroom smelled awful most of the time--probably wasn't cleaned much; lots of people stay here so it can get a bit crowded in the hang out room. Great location, though--around many great bars and restaurants. Check this place out!
  • 77%
  • 26 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I was unfortunately booked during FIBO with 8 German, late 20's, bodybuilder lads in my dorm who came in at 1:30am extremely drunk screaming loudly and wouldn't be quiet until 4am. It was very intimidating as they all knew each other and were in a group. They were messy and unclean. Room smelled bad. Apparently had previous complaints before my arrival on their behaviour. I was still booked in that room. If you have a group of this sort, you might want to block it. Bad experience. Staff great.
  • 94%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Carlos USA
  • bad wifi connection on first floor.
  • 91%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Dyzers Belgium
  • Nice hostel. Dont pay for the breakfast though, it's way over priced for what you get.
  • 89%
  • 13 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »