See other Cologne properties

MEININGER Cologne City Center

Engelbertstrasse 33-35, Cologne, Germany, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 81% from 19 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 77%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I was unfortunately booked during FIBO with 8 German, late 20's, bodybuilder lads in my dorm who came in at 1:30am extremely drunk screaming loudly and wouldn't be quiet until 4am. It was very intimidating as they all knew each other and were in a group. They were messy and unclean. Room smelled bad. Apparently had previous complaints before my arrival on their behaviour. I was still booked in that room. If you have a group of this sort, you might want to block it. Bad experience. Staff great.
  • 94%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Carlos USA
  • bad wifi connection on first floor.
  • 91%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Dyzers Belgium
  • Nice hostel. Dont pay for the breakfast though, it's way over priced for what you get.
  • 89%
  • 13 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The staff did not look very exciting about helping. They didn't give us a map of the city and was not interested in the feedback of the customers after the staying. The lockers were broken, the pillow was not good and the bedrooms need more plug sockets. The fridge had things from last year and our food was stolen.
  • 63%
  • 02 Feb 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • It is really nice that each room has a separate shower, makes it feel much more private and secure. Also the breakfast is delicious!!
  • 83%
  • 25 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • everything is very good. and there is wifi in the room!
  • 100%
  • 10 Aug 2013 Anonymous China
  • the lockers are broken.
  • 63%
  • 26 Jul 2013 Anonymous Taiwan
  • It is a little far from the center but everything was very good and I enjoined. Everything was clean and was worthy for the price. The only problem was Internet connection!! There were no WiFi inside the rooms and I had to sit in bar or restaurant. I probably next time go there again.
  • 83%
  • 15 Jul 2013 Anonymous Iran
  • Safe and nice hostel
  • 91%
  • 11 Jul 2013 Anonymous Singapore
  • Nice hostel for the money. Room had some dust balls and walls were quite thin soundwise. But I enjoyed :)
  • 71%
  • 19 Jun 2013 Ville Finland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »