See other Munich properties

MEININGER Munich City Center

Landsberger Strasse 20, Munich, Germany, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 78% from 21 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Felt more like a bad hotel than a hostel. But there is a beerhall right across the street, so that's convenient...
  • 63%
  • 03 Nov 2016 Anonymous Israel
  • The staff was great especially speaking English when you first arrive in a foreign country. The room was cramped, shower smelled like sewage and water constantly leaked under shower door and sprayed everywhere. The Wifi was intermittent. For two people with suitcases, it was definitely a challenge to fit and have room to walk around. Towels had stains and the sheets/comforter had remnants of long hair on it.
  • 66%
  • 08 Oct 2016 Anonymous USA
  • stayed here for oktoberfest, so obviously the hostel was a bit expensive but the hostel is about a 5 minute walk from oktoberfest and about a 10 minute walk from the train so the location couldn't have been better. staff was friendly.
  • 77%
  • 30 Sep 2016 Kimberly USA
  • It was nice to get an upgraded room. The 1st floor needs better security. Any one can walk off the street into the hostel and up that flight of stairs. Not good for a solo female traveller's safety. During Oktoberfest, a few hostel dwellers got into a fight on my floor. Yelling, swearing, and slamming doors at midnight. They should have been kicked out of the hostel.
  • 77%
  • 26 Sep 2016 Joanne
  • The staff wasn't the most friendly, and it's actually a hotel so even common areas are not so good for meeting people. Room was a bit small and didn't have power sockets on the upper bunks. Room separated in 2 with a bathroom on each side but the bigger room held 8 people so access to the room bathroom was difficult. Location was a bit far from the center but 2 tram stations pass right by the hostel and allow you to go anywhere.
  • 77%
  • 28 Jul 2016 Anonymous France
  • Our group of 14 really enjoyed our stay at your place. Rooms were clean and the food was good!
  • 100%
  • 15 Jul 2016 Patrick USA
  • Had very enjoyable stay at the Meininger Munich City Center, which was ideally located near both station and bus terminal! Everything was well maintained and staff provided helpful in guiding me through the city. Great for picking up the popular walking tours! Overall, highly recommend staying at this Hostel while in Munich.
  • 89%
  • 12 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Decent hostel experience, and close to the main bus station. Overall clean, nice facilities, with a fully-equipped kitchen and large common areas. A bit of a walk from the sites worth seeing in Munich, and there's an impersonal vibe at the hostel (probably due to its size), but overall no complaints.
  • 83%
  • 20 Apr 2016 Anonymous USA
  • A pretty nice hostel, pretty ordinary as well, but it was an all around good choice. I would recommend it because of it's all around goodness as well as walkable location pretty close to the centre of Munich.
  • 74%
  • 11 Apr 2016 Paul Canada
  • Good location, staff were okay, a little slow and a bit confused with what bed we should take as one of the ones we were originally given looked slept in and currently being used. Showers got a bit gross towards the end of the day as they didn't seal well and water would get all over the floor. Otherwise good, appreciated the security boxes for valuables and beds were comfortable.
  • 69%
  • 05 Jan 2016 Jayne Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »