See other Salzburg properties

MEININGER Salzburg City Center

Fuerbergstrasse 18-20, Salzburg, Austria, Distance from city centre: 1.7km

Rating: 85% from 23 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 93%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 64%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Not the best location, but very clean and had a lot more amenities than most hostels have.
  • 83%
  • 01 May 2015 Emily USA
  • The hostel is a great choice for someone traveling to Salzburg on a budget. The room was very clean, and there were several drawers for belongings that could be locked, if you brought a lock with you. Everyone I met was very friendly and eager to socialize. The breakfast was a bit overpriced for what was offered but was very convenient.
  • 94%
  • 10 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I loved this hostel! It felt like staying in a hotel but with roommates. Each bed has a personal light and outlet. Each room has a small room for a toilet with sink and soap (!!
  • 100%
  • 27 Mar 2015 Helen USA
  • Meininger is listed on hostel.com because of its prices, but it definitely a hotel. The atmosphere at a hostel is a big part of the experience for me and this place did not facilitate a community feeling at all. Their facilities were nice but you were charged for everything, pool, wii, ect. And we weren't told about the kitchen when we checked in. The staff was nice but as an overall establishment it did not feel welcoming. I would not recommend it. (Plus its really far from the old town)
  • 57%
  • 27 Feb 2015 Gerard USA
  • overall good experience
  • 83%
  • 25 Dec 2014 Bharath kumar India
  • staff are really good, love to stay here, environment is clean, will make you feel comfortable
  • 83%
  • 02 Dec 2014 Tsun Wing Herbert Hong Kong
  • The location was really far from the Main train station, you can chose another MEININGER which is next to the train station. The advantage of this location was we could catch bus for nearby lakes from this place, also the Hostel has its own SoundOfMusic pickup so that will help if you have just 2days here. The Breakfast was really good and a wonderful value for money.
  • 86%
  • 26 Oct 2014 Shagun India
  • Good bar. Good washing facilities. Good rooms, but a little noisey in the morning on the road side.
  • 91%
  • 14 Sep 2014 Anonymous England
  • Useful kitchen. Free laundry and washing machine but there is only one. Only drawback is that it is about 1.5 miles away from city center but it is walk-able.
  • 91%
  • 28 Jul 2014 Anonymous China
  • The hotel was very nice (I was staying in the hostel part of the hotel), however the price was quite expensive for both the room and the breakfast. Given that it was a 9-bed dorm I expected the price to be cheaper, particularly for a hotel that was about 2km from the city center.
  • 83%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »