See other Vienna properties

MEININGER Vienna Central Station

Columbusgasse 16, Vienna, Austria, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 86% from 17 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great hostel, one of the cleanest I have been to, 100m from the metro station and 3 stops from the centre, very convenient! Helpful staff and good breakfast. No real kitchen though, just a microwave and a kettle, no washing machine/dryer, you have to go to a launderette round the corner which charges 10eur(!!) and no locker in the room, only down in the reception hall. No atmosphere either, it's more like a hotel.
  • 77%
  • 11 Jul 2014 Anonymous France
  • Had really bad roommates but besides that good.
  • 71%
  • 12 May 2014 Leander Denmark
  • Stayed at Meininger for a week - most nights in a private room, but one night in a shared dormitory. The private rooms are excellent value for your money. However, the one night I stayed in a 4-person dormitory, I was promised a bed, but was instead forced to sleep on a pull out sofa which was extremely uncomfortable. The hotel did refund 1/2 the room fare for this night, but it was still an inconvenience to say the least.
  • 77%
  • 27 Apr 2014 Michael USA
  • This is more a Hotel than a Hostel. The facilities and cleanliness was great, but I felt it was missing lockers and more electric outlets. The location is okay, but you still have to take the Metro.
  • 71%
  • 11 Apr 2014 Anonymous Panama
  • the staff was wonderful and very helpful. this is by far the best hostel I have stayed in: great for those on a budget, and you don't have to sacrifice on cleanliness or safety. Strongly recommend this place! I am already planning on using Meininger hostels again next time I travel.
  • 100%
  • 06 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • it's very good,i like this hostel!it's very convienent to be find.
  • 97%
  • 02 Feb 2014 Anonymous China
  • Nice hotel. The only thing I wish they had was either eggs, bacon or pancakes in the breakfast.
  • 89%
  • 04 Jan 2014 Milica Ecuador
  • Has a lot to offer, but not much going on. Rooms are clean and great and cheap but no atmosphere. Easy to get to and from place with the metro a block away.
  • 77%
  • 26 Sep 2013 Scott USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »