See other Vienna properties

MEININGER Vienna Downtown Franz

Rembrandtstrasse 21, Vienna, Austria, Distance from city centre: 2.5km

Rating: 84% from 23 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 74%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Not a hostel so much as it's a budget hotel; not a place to go as a backpacker wanting to socialize. However, for a quiet stay, it has everything you need. Bathrooms and rooms are kept very clean. There is a spacious lobby bar, a great guest kitchen, and laundry service for a reasonable price. They charged us (not a deposit - a charge) to use towels, though, which is always a point against them in my book. Other than that it's great value for your money. and a comfortable place to be.
  • 77%
  • 31 May 2015 Kevin Canada
  • I use to visit Vienna quite often and mostly book Meininger but on another location (Sissi). The twin rooms are quite the same in Franz, but we have found some hairs on sheets which was not common for Downtown Sissi. The same thing with towels which seems to be clean but with blood traces which were not washed out. The air condition wasn't automatically adjusted so we kept window open which resulted in a morning noise from the street. Most disappointed was a breakfast for 6.90E without eggs.
  • 66%
  • 28 May 2015 Anonymous Bosnia And Herzegovina
  • need to take the subway ,but the staff and the atomosphere very nice
  • 91%
  • 26 May 2015 Anonymous China
  • Our air conditioner was broken, which made the room uncomfortsble and stuffy. Breakfast was also way too much money for the value of what you're getting. We had the same breakfast in Amsterdam at our hostel for free.
  • 74%
  • 15 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Lockers inside rooms would be nice, I felt unsafe when my suitcase locks couldn't suddenly open (most possibly violated) I stayed 3 nights and slept in the same bed sheets!!! Magnetic key had troubleshooting Staff was very kind
  • 71%
  • 15 Apr 2015 Vasileios Greece
  • Everything was really good. It is not far from the city center, you can walk. The rooms are big and very clean.
  • 91%
  • 27 Mar 2015 Anonymous Spain
  • Basic hotel that offers all you need for a pleasant stay
  • 74%
  • 29 Dec 2014 Laurent Netherlands
  • My sister and I had a nice stay in Meininger Vienna Franz, but we ordered for a 4 bed room and they put us in a disabled room, with two normal-sized bed and a big one for me and my sister. It was not what I ordered, but we could rest.
  • 69%
  • 22 Nov 2014 Lucas Brazil
  • This hostel is also a hotel. It was good for a night in, but there is not much going on socially. Rooms were modern and clean. Every bed had a light and outlet which was useful.
  • 83%
  • 28 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • It was wonderfull. The only one downside is the small kitchen so we have to wait to get ready our food and to eat it, because there was only few sitting places in kitchen.
  • 89%
  • 26 Sep 2014 Anonymous Poland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »