See other Vienna properties

MEININGER Vienna Downtown Franz

Rembrandtstrasse 21, Vienna, Austria, Distance from city centre: 2.5km

Rating: 84% from 22 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 75%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This hostel is good, but the atmosphere is not. This establishment should not be called hostel, but Hotel! If you like to meet new people and interact, this is not the place to go. Also, the hostel allows school trips, so the restaurant downstairs is full of 16 years old kids. Although, the room are cosy and the staff were really helpful!
  • 63%
  • 12 Jul 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • It's good, but the biggest problem was the air conditioning, wasn't get gold and was very hot. And the breakfast was expensive and wasn't as good. And you have to make the bed, and it's kind of annoying when you get in the hostel tired.
  • 74%
  • 10 Jul 2015 Anonymous Portugal
  • Not a hostel so much as it's a budget hotel; not a place to go as a backpacker wanting to socialize. However, for a quiet stay, it has everything you need. Bathrooms and rooms are kept very clean. There is a spacious lobby bar, a great guest kitchen, and laundry service for a reasonable price. They charged us (not a deposit - a charge) to use towels, though, which is always a point against them in my book. Other than that it's great value for your money. and a comfortable place to be.
  • 77%
  • 31 May 2015 Kevin Canada
  • I use to visit Vienna quite often and mostly book Meininger but on another location (Sissi). The twin rooms are quite the same in Franz, but we have found some hairs on sheets which was not common for Downtown Sissi. The same thing with towels which seems to be clean but with blood traces which were not washed out. The air condition wasn't automatically adjusted so we kept window open which resulted in a morning noise from the street. Most disappointed was a breakfast for 6.90E without eggs.
  • 66%
  • 28 May 2015 Anonymous Bosnia And Herzegovina
  • need to take the subway ,but the staff and the atomosphere very nice
  • 91%
  • 26 May 2015 Anonymous China
  • Our air conditioner was broken, which made the room uncomfortsble and stuffy. Breakfast was also way too much money for the value of what you're getting. We had the same breakfast in Amsterdam at our hostel for free.
  • 74%
  • 15 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Lockers inside rooms would be nice, I felt unsafe when my suitcase locks couldn't suddenly open (most possibly violated) I stayed 3 nights and slept in the same bed sheets!!! Magnetic key had troubleshooting Staff was very kind
  • 71%
  • 15 Apr 2015 Vasileios Greece
  • Everything was really good. It is not far from the city center, you can walk. The rooms are big and very clean.
  • 91%
  • 27 Mar 2015 Anonymous Spain
  • Basic hotel that offers all you need for a pleasant stay
  • 74%
  • 29 Dec 2014 Laurent Netherlands
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »