See other Kilkenny properties

Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel

24 Vicar Street, Kilkenny, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 88% from 11 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 96%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Booked for a stag with a moving target of attendees. MacGabhainns were really great about reorganising the last minute changes to the number of beds we needed and also the fact that the doors have codes instead of keys was great as no body could suddenly disappear with a key and leave others locked out. The location is perfect, 3 minutes walk from the city centre and parking is easy to find close by.
  • 100%
  • 05 Jul 2014 Brian Ireland
  • Great location in Kilkenny, very friendly and helpful staff. Has everything you need.
  • 100%
  • 27 Jun 2014 Tadhg Ireland
  • The place isn't fantastic or retro and hip--but it was one of the loveliest stays I ever had. I'm indebted to the people who worked there. I got very ill and two of the volunteers were so kind and offered help without reserve. I couldn't imagine being that ill anywhere else but home and they made me feel safe and comfortable despite how terrible my flu was. I can't recall the hostel because I spent most of it in bed :( but the staff was incredibly kind and chatty and I love that!
  • 94%
  • 30 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Excellent place to stay. Very enjoyable and relaxing atmosphere.
  • 94%
  • 28 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Loved the hostel and its staff! Felt like a home away from home. The backyard was a great place to relax.
  • 100%
  • 01 May 2014 Rianna USA
  • We both liked the hostel and surely would chose it again :)
  • 83%
  • 17 Feb 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • I was in Killkenny to play music, so I stayed at Macgabhainn's Hostel for six nights, longer than most people would stay. I absolutely loved my time in both the city and the hostel. The atmosphere of Macgabhainn's was more "homey" than most hostels, and both Raymond and Fergus were awesome and available for anything I needed. The bedrooms, bathrooms, and kitchen were always clean and well-stocked. I met new people and made new friends every night! Thanks for everything-- highly recommended!
  • 91%
  • 28 Aug 2013 Anonymous
  • Thank you so much for your hospitality. You made my stay very relaxing and worry-free.
  • 89%
  • 14 Aug 2013 Larry USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »