See other Cartagena properties

Makako Chill Out Hostel

Calle Quero # 9 54, Cartagena, Colombia, Distance from city centre: 1.8km

Rating: 85% from 21 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was not what i was expecting. The staff is very kind. They don't speak any word english and they cannot help you around for the tourist stuff. They don't have a map of the old town or whatever. They even couldnt help us to find a bus to taganga. Another hostel helped out with that. The airco in the room is great. Atmosphere is good with the nice balconies at the street to see the beautiful houses.
  • 66%
  • 17 Aug 2015 Anonymous Netherlands
  • Very nice hostel. Only the staff doesn't speak English, but they are very kind and helpful.
  • 100%
  • 25 Jul 2015 Camil Netherlands
  • Very nice staff, the kitchen seems a bit untidy at times and a bit short on equipment. In general good hostel, would recommend it.
  • 83%
  • 12 Jul 2015 Stephan
  • Great location, v friendly staff (no English, but very helpful) clean, good air con, laundry service.
  • 86%
  • 10 Jul 2015 Vivienne
  • I love this hostel. The staff are so friendly and welcoming. This was my second time here and I came back because of them. My only complaint is that there is only 2 bathrooms for the entire hostel to share.
  • 77%
  • 30 Jun 2015 Amy USA
  • The only problem with this hostel in my opinion was that there was no where to lock up my bag at night. They did not have lockers for bags. That being said, they did have smaller lockers out front that were large enough to store passports, money and small valuable items.
  • 74%
  • 07 Mar 2015 Michael USA
  • Makako lacks some necessary facilities such as towel, soap, electric circuits in the room etc. other than these it was a good stay overall.
  • 80%
  • 10 Feb 2015 MERVE MISRA Turkey
  • great hostal, great staff, everything was perfect!
  • 100%
  • 06 Dec 2014 Dessi Italy
  • The place is simple but the atmosphere is amazing !!! All who work there are very friendly and make you feel at home
  • 89%
  • 29 Nov 2014 Renan Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »