See other Cartagena properties

Makako Chill Out Hostel

Calle Quero # 9 54, Cartagena, Colombia, Distance from city centre: 1.8km

Rating: 82% from 17 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Stayed in a non-A/C room, which was fine for Feb..didn't need it at all at night. Hostel atmosphere was fine, common area has lots of places to relax. The overall vibe not too friendly though0 (but that's all timing...things change depending on the array of guests). Facilities very run down, my bed had an exposed spring, bathrooms were kinda icky. I moved to a hostel in Getsemani area after two nights and was much happier.
  • 74%
  • 06 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Our room smell so so so so HORRIBLE!!! like stinky feeds and swet!! that is the only thing that I dislike, but is important thing.
  • 77%
  • 16 Dec 2013 Asdrúbal Colombia
  • Good hostel but not the best!
  • 77%
  • 27 Oct 2013 Anonymous Mexico
  • Good location and helpful staff. Loved the lemonade that was always offered:) Had the top bunk in the last room (below the window) at the back which was good for noise reduction but when it rained, half of my bed was soaked! Also not good if you're not an early riser as the sun will shine straight in on your face at 5:30am. ;) Perhaps just a small curtain across the window could solve both of these problems? All in all a good hostel to stay in while you explore the beautiful Cartagena.
  • 83%
  • 22 Oct 2013 Anonymous Australia
  • All staff are so kind. They invited me Salsa bar at everyday. And when I came back hostal , they gave me a glass of cold lemonado!!
  • 100%
  • 23 Aug 2013 Anonymous Japan
  • All staff are so kind!! When I came back the hostel, staff gave me a cold lemonade every time.
  • 94%
  • 22 Aug 2013 Anonymous Japan
  • Fantastic place, and one of the best staffs I've met traveling so far. I loved this city, and when I go back I'll stay here again.
  • 100%
  • 11 Aug 2013 Clark USA
  • Fantastic place in a fantastic city. Great location in the old town, wonderful staff, and a great young crowd. Definitely coming back here.
  • 100%
  • 04 Aug 2013 Clark USA
  • Very nice place to stay on a budget. The staff was very friendly and they went out of their way to help us every time we needed help. Funny enough, they always had a cup of cold lemonade waiting for you whenever you returned to your room. Truly nice people. The bathrooms and bedrooms were always very clean too. It's in a relatively safe part of town and it's quite popular with backpackers. Met a lot of interesting people there.
  • 86%
  • 21 Jul 2013 oluwafeola USA
  • They had a constant supply of coffee and ice cold lemonade. Hostel had a great location with walking distance to the ocean, markets, and some great food places. Decent sized kitchen as well. If you end up here in the hotter months make sure to get a room with air conditioning or you may not sleep. While we had no problems with our booking another group there was made to move at about 12am one night to another room (they were already asleep in their bed). Overall a great experience.
  • 74%
  • 21 Jun 2013 Anonymous
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »