See other Budapest properties

Mandarin Hostel Budapest

Budapest, VIII.k. Vajdahunyad 30., Budapest, Hungary, Distance from city centre: 2.1km

Rating: 71% from 21 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 68%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 74%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • good location, close to M3, i had no problems, so.. i recomend
  • 80%
  • 27 Dec 2013 rogerio Brazil
  • Easily one of the worst hostels ive ever been too. It is literally in the worst part of budapest where you are under constant threat of being stabbed. waited outside ringing the bell for 10 minutes before the person who ran it finally let me in, then he talked on the phone for 30 minutes before showing my room. Every bed was infested with bed bugs There were 2 showers for everyone to use which were all clogged and the doors broken. Period stain on the couch. Old people living there. 20 y/o comp
  • 26%
  • 18 Oct 2013 Shawn USA
  • the location is good and you donnt need to worry the security, it`s very safety. the host is very helpful but he seldom smiles so looks maybe not very friendly. the hosue looks very old but facality is good especially the kitchen. it`s quite near a big shopping.
  • 74%
  • 11 Oct 2013 Anonymous China
  • I leke Mandarin hostel! I had that feeling I am home. The man who works at the reception was preety quite and almost never there! Nobody looking at me saying'don't do this,don't do that' ... The kitchen is quite big, with a lot of equipment ! In the room is so confortable and warm_ the bathroom are a little bit poor bur are enought for a quick shower(that's all you need while you are travelling)
  • 80%
  • 03 Oct 2013 silvia
  • Though the price sounds good, they charge you hidden fees for things like staying only one night. The staff was fairly rude. Otherwise the hostel was livable, though very far from the main city attractions.
  • 60%
  • 10 Sep 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Great service!! Nice atmosphere!! Very close to the city center!!
  • 100%
  • 12 Aug 2013 Rodrigo Mexico
  • We enjoyed our time in Mandarin hostel. They helped us with the cuestions we had, they had good Wifi, a super nce kitchen to cook own food, and nice and clean bedrooms. The only thing is that you dont get towels.
  • 89%
  • 07 Aug 2013 Paulina Sweden
  • They have pingpong. They also have the largest hostel kitchen I’ve met so far. No really sharp knives, but you never find that anywhere. Excellent kitchen anyway. The owner didn’t seem to speak English too well, but a younger guy did. Has a nice courtyard. But beware that taxes are NOT included, and you actually pay something like 2.5 euro more than advertised, each night!
  • 77%
  • 25 Jul 2013 Morten Fyhn Norway
  • location is not very good, but good value for money.
  • 91%
  • 17 May 2013 Anonymous China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »