See other Budapest properties

Mandarin Hostel Budapest

Budapest, VIII.k. Vajdahunyad 30., Budapest, Hungary, Distance from city centre: 2.1km

Rating: 81% from 27 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 78%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great hostel. I went out in the morning and in the evening all the beds in the room were stripped, my alarm clock that was on my bed was missing and my towel that was hanging on my locker was also missing. I found my towel on the floor of the laundry room, when I told the manager my clock was missing, his response was "I can not investigate where your clock is, I am not the police."
  • 94%
  • 20 Sep 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Good value for money, location is walking distance to most of the sights and premises are reasonably clean. Table tennis, billiard and beautiful courtyard are definitely a plus. Staff could show a bit more enthusiasm and it would be great to add breakfast. If you're on a really tight budget then this one will certainly suit you well. If you can spend a bit more, I'd say look further.
  • 71%
  • 04 Sep 2015 Anonymous Croatia
  • We stayed at this hostel for 2 nights. Even though we didn't spend much time there besides sleeping, we enjoyed our stay. It is located right next to a huge mall, which was a big plus, since we arrived before check in was possible. We would definitely recommend this hostel.
  • 83%
  • 13 Jul 2015 Anne Katrine Denmark
  • Staff are great, many facilities with less price. Great kitchen. But the thing I really dont like that shower and toilet are in same room with plastic curtain. Its uncomfortable when we are showering and someone is in toilet and farting. Also toilet and bathroom are not that clean.
  • 74%
  • 27 Jun 2015 Anonymous Nepal
  • A nice, secure and friendly place for anyone who wants to visit Budapest. Its near a big shopping center and metro station. Just about a 30 minutes walk from the center. The staff is very professional and helpful. Additional value to the hostel are: big kitchen, multiple bathrooms and showers, pool table, table tennis etc., large lounges for hanging out inside and outside. The beds could be better and more comfortable. The value for money is out of this world.
  • 91%
  • 25 Jun 2015 Anonymous Croatia
  • full equipped kitchen, good location near to tram and metro, and you could even walk 20 minutes to get along near to Duna. totally recommend!
  • 91%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Medium-sized kitchen with all the equipment needed, nice staff and a great common area with fusbal, pingpong and pool. The rooms are pretty small and the location is a bit outside the city center. The cleaning was avarage. Overall good atmosphere and a great value for the money.
  • 77%
  • 09 Jun 2015 Anonymous Sweden
  • Very nice and cosy atmosphere! Maybe put out a sign outside so it's easier to find, we hd a little bit of a hard time with that, but otherwise, very nice hostel worth the money!
  • 80%
  • 21 Apr 2015 Ida Sweden
  • I liked the place very much. Its location is quite close from metro station and city center, and it is also right in front of a huge shopping mall. Each guest gets digital key accessible to front gate, room and a huge personal locker. People work there were nice and helpful. Most of all, it has a fully equipped huge kitchen. I already recommended this place to two of my friends.
  • 100%
  • 08 Apr 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • Excellent price. Quite clean. Staff OK - some good interactions, some not so good (but nothing awful). Location is OK. It's hard to find the actual hostel as it's not branded or sign-posted at all. Also not a very central area BUT travel is incredibly cheap around budapest and it's not located too far out so it's not really an issue, you just hop on the underground for a few stops. Overall very good, recommended, exactly what you'd expect from a hostel and I would return.
  • 71%
  • 02 Apr 2015 Victoria
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »