See other Budapest properties

Mandarin Hostel Budapest

Budapest, VIII.k. Vajdahunyad 30., Budapest, Hungary, Distance from city centre: 2.1km

Rating: 79% from 19 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Good hostel with safety lockers for each bed. The receptionnist was very king, the metro is close to the hostel but the center a bit far. Bed linen was clean however the kitchen is dirty so we didn't use it. But for the price you can't ask for more.
  • 77%
  • 25 Apr 2016 alexandra France
  • My 6th time here!The huge plus is the space both on the ground floor with TV, pool, PC(a little old) sofas and a refrigiator The kitchen(fully equipt with all modern items)in the cellar with possibilties for 20people at the tables.THIS is unique, no other hostels have that kind of space.The rooms are ok for the price but with the other facilities its a bargain.Improvement: the hungarian workers need to be told that Smoking is only allowed in the garden! Strangers(USA) should be regristrate!
  • 100%
  • 16 Apr 2016 Anonymous Denmark
  • I enjoyed my stay at Mandarin. It has everything you need and the staff are very helpful. It is a little walk out of the centre but not too far, it takes about 20 minutes to walk in or there is a tram stop right around the corner. It's also right next to a shopping centre with a supermarket. The kitchen is well equipped so you don't have to spend money eating out every night. The bathrooms are always nice and clean and each person has a large locker, big enough to fit your backpack.
  • 91%
  • 11 Apr 2016 Anonymous England
  • Please repair lock in the bathroom's door.
  • 80%
  • 28 Dec 2015 Anonymous Poland
  • Clean.Cheap.Near a shopping mall and mentor.Tram.Staffs were friendly.I hope I can have a chance come back once again.
  • 80%
  • 17 Oct 2015 KiKi
  • Great hostel. I went out in the morning and in the evening all the beds in the room were stripped, my alarm clock that was on my bed was missing and my towel that was hanging on my locker was also missing. I found my towel on the floor of the laundry room, when I told the manager my clock was missing, his response was "I can not investigate where your clock is, I am not the police."
  • 94%
  • 20 Sep 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Good value for money, location is walking distance to most of the sights and premises are reasonably clean. Table tennis, billiard and beautiful courtyard are definitely a plus. Staff could show a bit more enthusiasm and it would be great to add breakfast. If you're on a really tight budget then this one will certainly suit you well. If you can spend a bit more, I'd say look further.
  • 71%
  • 04 Sep 2015 Anonymous Croatia
  • We stayed at this hostel for 2 nights. Even though we didn't spend much time there besides sleeping, we enjoyed our stay. It is located right next to a huge mall, which was a big plus, since we arrived before check in was possible. We would definitely recommend this hostel.
  • 83%
  • 13 Jul 2015 Anne Katrine Denmark
  • Staff are great, many facilities with less price. Great kitchen. But the thing I really dont like that shower and toilet are in same room with plastic curtain. Its uncomfortable when we are showering and someone is in toilet and farting. Also toilet and bathroom are not that clean.
  • 74%
  • 27 Jun 2015 Anonymous Nepal
  • A nice, secure and friendly place for anyone who wants to visit Budapest. Its near a big shopping center and metro station. Just about a 30 minutes walk from the center. The staff is very professional and helpful. Additional value to the hostel are: big kitchen, multiple bathrooms and showers, pool table, table tennis etc., large lounges for hanging out inside and outside. The beds could be better and more comfortable. The value for money is out of this world.
  • 91%
  • 25 Jun 2015 Anonymous Croatia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

If you're travelling on a budget, staying in hostels can be a lifeline. We've put together a few tips for saving money by cooking up a storm in hostel kitchens!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »