See other New York properties

Manhattan Hostel

2011 3rd Ave, Manhattan, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 10.4km

Rating: 64% from 94 reviews

  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 68%Staff
  • 65%Security
  • 51%Cleanliness
  • 73%Location
  • 68%Value for money
  • 58%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very simple. If you need a place to sleep, it will do. But it's nothing more than that.
  • 57%
  • 18 Apr 2015 Meike Netherlands
  • Overall it was okay. Pros: -Good location, 5 minutes from subway stop, lots of markets and stores in the area, plus a delishious bakery I suggest you visit called "Savory Bakery" -Nice Staff -Affordable! Cons" -Dingy and a bit dirty, The beds were clean but the rest of the hostel wasn't. - Hot water was a huge hit and miss
  • 60%
  • 15 Apr 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • The location is perfect, only one minute away from the subway and there are several stores around the hostel opened 24/7, so if you get hungry during the night you'll definitely find some place to buy food. The staff is friendly and funny, you can watch tv or movies when you're bored and there's always someone in the "living room" to talk to or to hang out with. I met some really nice people there and would definitely come again!
  • 80%
  • 24 Mar 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • Staff is friendly, and the room is very clean.
  • 83%
  • 24 Mar 2015 Fabio
  • the staff is very welcoming and accommodating.
  • 100%
  • 17 Mar 2015 william USA
  • I had a great time here thanks to the lobby which facilitated many meetings and friendships
  • 71%
  • 06 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Decent lodgings at a decent price for New York City.
  • 80%
  • 05 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Aland: The staff is great and their attitude seems to be that every customer is important. Friendliness from the staff contributes to a good atmosphere in the hostel also among the guests. "Come in with a smile and pass it on" - makes a family like feeling in the whole house. I have stayed there twice now and will go there again. Staying in Manhattan in "Manhattan Hostel" says it all - it is right up from the subway on line "6" at the 110 street station and half a block from McDonald's. :)
  • 94%
  • 26 Feb 2015 Tom Finland
  • The Staff were drunks and mockers participating in harassing events, they leave dirty dishes everywhere, loud late at night, the hostels don't wash the blankets they fold them up and place on the bed for the next guest, and they were sexually assaulting one another and they get upset and call you names if you don't want to participate in their nasty harassment
  • 46%
  • 20 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It was at a good place and close to the subway. The water was often cold and the bathrooms not really clean. The rooms are small and not really secure. Wouldn't go there again.
  • 49%
  • 19 Feb 2015 Daniel
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »