See other New York properties

Manhattan Hostel

2011 3rd Ave, Manhattan, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 10.4km

Rating: 63% from 71 reviews

  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 68%Staff
  • 65%Security
  • 52%Cleanliness
  • 73%Location
  • 65%Value for money
  • 58%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The wireless doesn't work properly, the bed doesn't seem clean, the hot water sometimes doesn't work, strange people may enter your room.
  • 60%
  • 26 Nov 2014 Iago Brazil
  • Wifi is very bad.
  • 63%
  • 26 Nov 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • The hostel is located in East Harlem. It is obviously the nicest neighborhood but it is one block away from the subway, which is fairly convenient. The worst point was definitely the absence of windows in our room. It was really not clean and you can hear the people next door in their rooms. It is still really cheap and the atmosphere was good.
  • 66%
  • 26 Nov 2014 Estelle France
  • Cheap, reasonably well located. Facilities are not good, not enough restroom, bedrooms are very cramped. The experience in general was not good. In of the rooms we stayed for example there was a broken window that wouldn't close. Once, one of the staff guys repeatedly and loudly broke into our room in the middle of the night - to check for an incorrectly assigned bed, I assume - without any consideration for our sleep. The location is OK: it's close to the subway and it feels safe enough
  • 57%
  • 25 Nov 2014 Fuad Brazil
  • The bedroom is really small and does not have windows. The walls are thin and you can hear what's happening in the other rooms. If you are comming to stay during winter, be aware that there is no heating in the bedroom. Despite this, the beds are good and, if you will stay just for one night or two, it is bearable. The bathrooms could be better.
  • 57%
  • 07 Nov 2014 Taissa Santos Araujo Brazil
  • Not sure if it is a new place, but you can definetly find better places for that money.
  • 51%
  • 06 Nov 2014 Anonymous Colombia
  • It Have all you need
  • 100%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Jordano
  • You absolutely get what you get for here. It is cheap for a reason. If I were to stay at a hostel in NY I'd probably choose this one again.
  • 66%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Anonymous
  • The shower was flooding the facilities to the point where bacteria was forming on the floor due to an unclosed shower door on the second floor.
  • 69%
  • 12 Oct 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • I really liked this hostel, the people are friendly and there is good accomodations. However, I suggest to people don`t walk in the street at night, it is really dangerous.
  • 74%
  • 11 Oct 2014 Anonymous Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Some people can take a two week holiday and spend every day relaxing at the beach. Some prefer the beach to do activities, take a jog first thing in the morning, party at night...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »