See other New York properties

Manhattan Hostel

2011 3rd Ave, Manhattan, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 10.4km

Rating: 62% from 47 reviews

  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 66%Staff
  • 62%Security
  • 51%Cleanliness
  • 72%Location
  • 64%Value for money
  • 56%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • the location is good!
  • 100%
  • 08 Sep 2014 Anonymous China
  • The place smells damp, there are leaks through the ceilings and roofs, the rooms don't lock from the outside, the bathrooms are in a terrible state and completely disgusting. All in all I would definitely not advise this hostel unless its your only option. My friend and I paid $45/night and I thought that was incredibly overpriced for what it was, even for New York City.
  • 29%
  • 05 Sep 2014 Alexy USA
  • For the price it is ok, but with not so much money you can find a better hostel I think. The worst part it is the bathroom, the bedroom is just fine.
  • 57%
  • 28 Aug 2014 Keytiane
  • Very cool place with good staff and great service. Also there is a cute cat butter
  • 100%
  • 28 Aug 2014 nikita Russia
  • If you just need a bed to sleep, this place is perfect for you. If you need more thant that I wouldn'nt recommend. The staff is amazing and they are always trying to help, the facility is simple but everything works. The main problem is the neighbourhood is not the best, even though nothing happenned while I was there.
  • 63%
  • 16 Aug 2014 Henrico Brazil
  • The relaxed atmosphere was great. Someone friendly was always on duty at the front desk. Unfortunately, rooms could not be locked unless you stayed in them. And I had to purchase the use of a locker to secure my valuables when I was not there. I strongly recommend that Manhattan Hostel invest in a keyless room lock system!!!
  • 77%
  • 13 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • All there is terrible.
  • 23%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Lydia Brazil
  • The place is dirty, mainly the bathroom!!! Just the price and location are good.
  • 60%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Fernanda Brazil
  • They do not have organization, security and cleaning.
  • 29%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Luanda Brazil
  • This Hostel is not worst staying or paying for, don't be fool when booking with this slum hostel. I visited NYC often, and have stay in other Hostels that charge $50 or $55 a day are nicer. This Hostel is a fire hazards, crowded,super small mixed rooms for 6 bed, luggage blocking doors/entry/ few outlets/ FILTY disgusting bathrooms, 3 story creepy stairway, dirty lounge, office.location is a ghetto, Many unhappy guest asking back their money.Stay away from this Hostel or you will regret it. : (
  • 31%
  • 05 Aug 2014 Jesse USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »