See other New York properties

Manhattan Hostel

2011 3rd Ave, Manhattan, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 10.4km

Rating: 61% from 38 reviews

  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 65%Staff
  • 60%Security
  • 50%Cleanliness
  • 73%Location
  • 62%Value for money
  • 55%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The relaxed atmosphere was great. Someone friendly was always on duty at the front desk. Unfortunately, rooms could not be locked unless you stayed in them. And I had to purchase the use of a locker to secure my valuables when I was not there. I strongly recommend that Manhattan Hostel invest in a keyless room lock system!!!
  • 77%
  • 13 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • All there is terrible.
  • 23%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Lydia Brazil
  • The place is dirty, mainly the bathroom!!! Just the price and location are good.
  • 60%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Fernanda Brazil
  • They do not have organization, security and cleaning.
  • 29%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Luanda Brazil
  • This Hostel is not worst staying or paying for, don't be fool when booking with this slum hostel. I visited NYC often, and have stay in other Hostels that charge $50 or $55 a day are nicer. This Hostel is a fire hazards, crowded,super small mixed rooms for 6 bed, luggage blocking doors/entry/ few outlets/ FILTY disgusting bathrooms, 3 story creepy stairway, dirty lounge, office.location is a ghetto, Many unhappy guest asking back their money.Stay away from this Hostel or you will regret it. : (
  • 31%
  • 05 Aug 2014 Jesse USA
  • Fun place with the best wonderful staff running the place. A very welcoming atmosphere and very clean accommodations.. Place is nicely priced too. Highly recommend this hostel way over the others I've stayed at in New York. Only a block away from the Lexington Ave line and Central Park too!
  • 100%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Robert USA
  • The old adage that "you get what you pay for" applies here. Pretty straight forward hostel. If you are looking for a cheap place to sleep that is in a decent location, this is the place. Entry controlled by buzzer. Clean building, but could use some repairs and aesthetic enhancements. Biggest issue was with bathrooms that were pretty dingy and lacked places to hang clothes, towels, etc. Everyone was quite nice. Hostel is about two blocks away from subway; 5 from north end of Central Park.
  • 77%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Alex USA
  • Maybe employ some staff whom actually want to help you rather than look like they would rather be a million miles away. Also please wash the bed sheets with either bleach or at 90 degrees as I'm pretty sure they had bed-bugs
  • 43%
  • 02 Jul 2014 Anonymous England
  • No locks on bedrooms doors but you still have to pay to use the locker. I got confused once when i came back and the streets around didn't feel the safest... I still don't know why I got two coins about Jesus hidden in the sheets when I checked in. And what about the check out? Didn't even want to know my nzme... The staff wasen't very welcoming either... I don't get how the first comments on this place when I booked it could be so good. Only good thing was that the metro was close by...
  • 46%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Aude Belgium
  • dirty, but cheap, the room had a lot of unpleasant smell, but they had good air conditioning, it was not enough.
  • 57%
  • 27 Jun 2014 Luis Argentina
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »