See other New York properties

Manhattan Hostel

2011 3rd Ave, Manhattan, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 10.4km

Rating: 63% from 90 reviews

  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 67%Staff
  • 64%Security
  • 51%Cleanliness
  • 73%Location
  • 67%Value for money
  • 58%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Staff is friendly, and the room is very clean.
  • 83%
  • 24 Mar 2015 Fabio
  • the staff is very welcoming and accommodating.
  • 100%
  • 17 Mar 2015 william USA
  • I had a great time here thanks to the lobby which facilitated many meetings and friendships
  • 71%
  • 06 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Decent lodgings at a decent price for New York City.
  • 80%
  • 05 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Aland: The staff is great and their attitude seems to be that every customer is important. Friendliness from the staff contributes to a good atmosphere in the hostel also among the guests. "Come in with a smile and pass it on" - makes a family like feeling in the whole house. I have stayed there twice now and will go there again. Staying in Manhattan in "Manhattan Hostel" says it all - it is right up from the subway on line "6" at the 110 street station and half a block from McDonald's. :)
  • 94%
  • 26 Feb 2015 Tom Finland
  • The Staff were drunks and mockers participating in harassing events, they leave dirty dishes everywhere, loud late at night, the hostels don't wash the blankets they fold them up and place on the bed for the next guest, and they were sexually assaulting one another and they get upset and call you names if you don't want to participate in their nasty harassment
  • 46%
  • 20 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It was at a good place and close to the subway. The water was often cold and the bathrooms not really clean. The rooms are small and not really secure. Wouldn't go there again.
  • 49%
  • 19 Feb 2015 Daniel
  • The place is really dirty and smelly. There are two refrigeratord to leave your food with your name, but they eat them anyway and in front of you! They are so shameless! Most of the staff is drunk most of the time. Sometimes we had to shower with cold water and the bathrooms werent clean at all. The ubication is good, but the place is horrible!
  • 37%
  • 17 Feb 2015 Maria Sol Argentina
  • I was here at the end of Jan. 2014 for 4 days. As others have mentioned, the shower water gets cold after a few people used it & the bathrooms need to be cleaned more often. The kitchen was good, Internet worked & the linen/towel were clean. Only I had a problem regarding my booking (I was charged more than I should have), which it seemed to me that they could have prevented it, but they did not. I will be happy to answer any question. Thanks.
  • 74%
  • 27 Jan 2015 Anonymous Iran
  • If you're looking for a cheap place to stay and don't mind the cleanliness, this is your place. The blankets were not washed and it was freezing at night. I had to sleep in my normal clothes with a sweater on. As far as the area, it is not a bad area. Two blocks away from the green line which takes you downtown.
  • 46%
  • 29 Dec 2014 Sergio USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Travelling alone can be a wonderful experience for solo female travellers. Here are our top tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »