See other Sydney properties

Manly Bunkhouse

35 Pine Street, Manly, Sydney, Australia, Distance from city centre: 11.1km

Rating: 59% from 3 reviews

  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 66%Staff
  • 53%Security
  • 40%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 40%Value for money
  • 60%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Wow. Where to start!? Fire alarms were disconnected Room hadnt been cleaned in a long time Cockroaches, ants and flies Shower window smashed (so sharp glass) Office was closed during "opening hours" Room mates can see into toilet room through gaps in door. No lock on bathroom door No toilet roll Kitchen very small and has little equipment there is no published fire escape plan Lockers have offensive graffiti on them Some lockers are broken pillows very thin and lumpy Staff didn't care when
    Owner Comment

    Hi Paul, My name is James and I have recently taken over as the on-site manager here at The Bunkhouse in Manly. Mate it's a real shame that you had such a terrible experience here at the Hostel, from my feedback and experience when first taking over, the comments you made were 95% justified. All i can say is that in the last 12 weeks since taking over is that I have enforced not only a massive cultural change but also been renovating and addressing all the issues that you have commented on. If you are ever coming through Manly again and need a place to stay then please drop me a line and your first night is on me. I trust that this email finds you well and look forward to potentially seeing you at some time in the future. Regards James

  • 46%
  • 23 Mar 2012 Paul
  • DISCUSTING!!! Bugs in the kitchen and the bathroom. Not clean at all!!
    Owner Comment

    Your Response to this Review: Hi Sophia, My name is James and I have recently taken over as the on-site manager here at The Bunkhouse in Manly. Mate it's a real shame that you had such a terrible experience here at the Hostel, from my feedback and experience when first taking over, the comments you made were 100% justified. All i can say is that in the last 12 weeks since taking over is that I have enforced not only a massive cultural change but also been renovating and addressing all the issues that you have commented on. If you are ever coming through Manly again and need a place to stay then please drop me a line and your first night is on me. I trust that this email finds you well and look forward to potentially seeing you at some time in the future. Regards James

  • 43%
  • 16 Jan 2012 Sophia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »