See other Bergen properties

Marken Gjestehus

Kong Oscarsgt. 45, 5017, Bergen, Norway, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 79% from 14 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This hostel has a great location and very friendly staff. It helped out that everyone spoke English. The kitchen was a small and had a dirty microwave, but all the facilities were there. The bedding and room were clean, and the shower was decently clean. Kind of gross if you didn't bring shower shoes. The toilet in the non-ensuite bathroom smelled strongly off urine. Overall, this hostel was enjoyable, and I would go back there again.
  • 86%
  • 02 Sep 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • Cheerful, experienced , helpful staff in a spacious light-filled attractive property. A great place to stay.
  • 100%
  • 19 Aug 2013 Lea USA
  • Very dirty and reception staff very rude... people like this shouldn't work as receptionist.
  • 31%
  • 16 Aug 2013 Maria Spain
  • The hostel has good location. Very clean and modern. The breakfast is not included in the price, but ı highly recommend to have breakfast at hotel, because the breakfast is rich and eating outside is very expensive in Norway
  • 94%
  • 02 Aug 2013 Anonymous Bulgaria
  • Linen & towel cost extra $17 breakfest voucher which hostel sells at a hotel by the train $22. Next time I will stay in a cheap hotel. Most of the hotel offers free breakfast buffet. When you add up the cost, not much difference.
  • 77%
  • 23 Jun 2013 lisa USA
  • it is close to the train station, 2-3min walk. Reception is often not available, no breakfast, but u can buy stuff from a supermarket called Hannparis( or a similar word) and cook. Easy to go to the top of the hill
  • 69%
  • 18 May 2013 Anonymous China
  • we booked a double room, got a room with bunk beds. were told the hostel was full and no double rooms left. no refund given. kitchen was filthy. no dish towels. asked a staff member for one, she forgot. has to leave dishes on rack to dry. no cutlery left for other guests
  • 63%
  • 15 May 2013 Anonymous Australia
  • the most beautiful, clean hostel I have ever stayed in. option for a breakfast buffet for 120 NOK, may seem expensive, but soooo worth the money. All you can eat, with every type of breakfast drink/food you could want. Staff was really nice and since I arrived after hours arranged for my credit card to be my swipe key. I was able to access wifi everywhere. A little expensive, but Norway is expensive, and I feel like I definitely got my money's worth. Wish I had stayed here longer!
  • 100%
  • 26 Apr 2013 Kelsey USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »